We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place to stay”
OUR TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE, SWIM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER,JUST 4-5 MINUTES WALK TO BEACH & PUBS.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OUR TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE, SWIM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER,JUST 4-5 MINUTES WALK TO BEACH & PUBS.
Our fantastic new Hot tub/ Massage jet spa for the ultimate relaxation , Open all year, THE ELEGANT OPEN PLAN LIVING HAS LOVELY VIEWS OF OUR BEAUTIFUL VALLEY GARDEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
OUR TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE, SWIM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER,JUST 4-5 MINUTES WALK TO BEACH & PUBS.
Our fantastic new Hot tub/ Massage jet spa for the ultimate relaxation , Open all year,
THE ELEGANT OPEN PLAN LIVING HAS LOVELY VIEWS OF OUR BEAUTIFUL VALLEY GARDEN
THE GALLEY KITCHEN HAS ALL MOD CONS AND A COSY DINING AREA
THE VIEW OF OUR BEAUTIFUL ONE ACRE VALLEY GARDEN FROM THE LIVING ROOM WINDOW
THE LIGHT AND AIRY BEDROOM HAS BEAUTIFUL VIEWS OF THE GARDEN WITH THE RELAXING SOUND OF THE STREAM
THE AMAZING VIEW FROM THE MAIN BEDROOM, STUNNING
THE SECOND BEDROOM HAS FULL SIZE  PINE BEDS AND VIEWS OVER THE FRONT GARDEN.
THE PRISTINE BATHROOM HAS A JAPANESE HALF BATH WITH ELECTRIC SHOWER ABOVE AND A SEPERATE W.C
Bassets Acre , Built in Circca 1827 by Lord Basset ,  Our six apartments are all in the main house.
Our games room has a D.V.D  Book libruary, Football and pool tables and games
The childrens play area
The childrens adventure play area also has a sand pit , table tennis and lots of ball games.
Enjoy the hottub in the privacy of the summerhouse
Our one acre gardens
ENJOY A MEAL IN THE FRONT GARDEN, THERE IS A GAS BARBECUE FOR THE USE OF OUR GUESTS ALSO LOUNGERS.
PORTREATH LOOKING STUNNING IN THE SHELTERED BAY, 
WE ARE JUST 5 MINUTES WALK TO THE LOVELY BEACH .
WE ARE JUST 5 MINUTES WALK TO  Portreath's beautiful beach, Great pubs, Restaurants and Shops
Airiel shot of Portreath village nestling in the valley, we are half way down on the left.
Portreaths historic harbour, Great pubs , Shops and Restaurants just a few mins walk away
A fishing trip from Portreath harbour , Caught 30 mackerel
Shell collecting in the caves
One acre of tranquil sub tropical gardens in a valley,
view from living room
Our gardens are a place of great beauty
RICHARD AND PAMELA RESIDENT OWNERS OF BASSETS ACRE FOR 40 YEARS, WE ARE ON HAND FOR ALL YOUR NEEDS.
Sun sets dont get much better than this, taken from the  upper deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judith B
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stay here every year and have already booked for next year. Superb place to stay. Spotlessly clean, love the swimming pool and hot-tub. Small play area for children, and barbecue area. Close to shops and beach, with beautiful gardens to return to. Excellent!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
We love having you here as well, its like having family stay with so many friends returning each year, some going back 35 years nearly as long as us ! Thanks you all.
Lots of love
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearcy007
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“oustanding holiday, fantastic apartment and such lovely hosts”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I recently visited Bassetts Acre Holiday Apartments for the first and certainly not the last time in June. Our holiday was very memorable, the apartment was spotless and had all the facilities we required, the grounds/gardens are an absolute picture and a credit to our hosts Pam and Richard. The heated domed pool and hot tub were fab and a real treat. Bassetts being so close to the beach and various eating and drinking establishments is also a real plus. A special mention again to Pam and Richard, keep up the good work and you will have all the success you deserve. Adrian, Debbie and Morgan

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
As long as we keep having such great families as yours we will keep up the good work because its people like you that make it all worth while , Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Warmest regards
Pam & Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and enjoyable family break near the sea”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights in June with my husband and our 3 year old. Though it said it was fully booked I have to say it was lovely and quiet. We only saw one other family who had a little boy too. The apartment was clean and comfortable with shower and separate toilet. The swimming pool was nice for my little one, we needed the dome on to keep it warm and the only problem was he couldn't touch the bottom of the pool so got bored very easily on the steps! The hot tub was nice too and we had friends come and sit with us in the lovely garden at the front. There were more seating areas at the rear but we never got to use them as we were so busy. The bbq area that anyone can use was useful too, we saw the other family used this but there's plenty of room so didn't feel in each other's way. The owner Pam was friendly and helpful and kept in regular contact prior to our stay.
It was walking distance to the beach and few shops in portreath. We went on a trip to the seal sanctuary in Gweek around 30 minutes away which was lovely, we paid only a little extra to get in early to feed them and receive a breakfast ourselves, would recommend this as day trip.
We have friends who live in Camborne who have said that the price is really good for a 2 bed apartment in this area and are even thinking of staying themselves as a little treat.
Would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
The good thing about a house of this quality is the sound proofing, even when the house is full you rarely hear a sound and there are allways times when you have the pool and hot tub to yourselves , the garden is an oases of tranquility that we are happy tho share.
Many thanks
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a GEM.”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a long weekend in Cornwall, stayed in this wonderful apartment with everything you could possibly need.
The views from the upper deck were amazing, as well as the heated pool and indoor hot tub.
For families this is an ideal if not perfect location as the facilities are second to none.
The owners Pamela and Richard did everything to make our stay wonderful.
We will definitely be returning for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and views.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Many thanks for a great review , it should get easier after 37 years but it doesent seem to , but worth all the effort.,
Cheers
Pam & Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M
Loughborough
1 review
“We had a fabulous time, could not fault the service or the accommodation.”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the Anchorage with our 2 children of 4 and 7. The kids loved it, as did we. Great location, plenty of things in and around the accommodation to keep the children amused too. The apartment was spotless and had everything we needed, we had a very comfortable stay. It was great having the owners on hand for advice and recommendations, they are very welcoming and friendly. We hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Many thanks for such a lovely review, its good to know others are as passionate about Bassets acre and Portreath as we are, also its a bonus to find our hard work is appreciated .
Hope to see you next year.
Best wishes
Pam & Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A friendly, welcoming place suitable for families. An excellent location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A superb location that had all the amenities required nearby (including take-away). Only a 10 minute walk to the beach (very safe walk). The pool was superb for young families and the hot tub brilliant for unwinding. Would highly recommend these apartments. Enjoyed a really relaxing family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the pool
Liked least: Bedrooms were a little on the small side
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
We are very happy you had a good holiday and enjoyed all our facilities at Bassets Acre , although we are just 5 minutes walk to the beach but 10 minutes walking backwards !!!!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review , hope to see you next year . Kind regards
Pam & Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a brilliant holiday. Weather and location were ideal and amazing. Great base for day trips and the beach ( only a 4 min walk ) was great.

We travelled with our son ( 9 months ) and he crawled for the first time here. Well done!

Owners were great and very accommodating and friendly. Brilliant.

Pool was such a great addition we absolutely loved it and feel it sets this accommodation apart from others. Loved it.

The gardens and grass area were perfect and brilliantly maintained.

Location was great an we did many day trips over the week.

Thank you very much and we are sure to return in future years.

Catherine

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Brilliant people deserve a brilliant holiday,we miss you all so much when you leave , but we have next year to look forward to when your baby will be walking and running .
thank you for your heartfelt review.
All the very best
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing