We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two years running. Still a great holiday”
Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Our second summer holiday at Gwel an Mor. Lovely quiet site and a good base to explore Cornwall. Lodge was cosy and clean.

The pool is small but it was a good place to teach my small children to swim as it's quite deep and they couldn't reach the bottom. If you want to visit the restaurant you might want to book as it was dead busy when we arrived at 7pm on a Weds evening and they had to squeeze us in, the food was good though so it was worth it.

We enjoyed rock pooling with Gary down on Portreath Beach - hermit crabs, fish and a starfish were among our finds! The Atlantic Cafe on the beach is also a good place to eat.

Portreath village is very small and quiet but it has a bakery and corner shop, there is a large Tescos a few miles away if you want to do a big shop.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank HampshireGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

We have just stayed for 10 nights and were extremely impressed with the accomodation and swimming pool. It was a very relaxing break and an excellent base for exploring Cornwall.

Room Tip: Mark and Spencers are a few miles away at Hayle for great easy prepared meals. Porthtreath is a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186356Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We went to Gwel an Mor for a long weekend with family. The lodge was very spacious & it was supplied with everything, from wifi to board games to dvds. The family room was on the second floor which allowed for beautiful views. The staff was very helpful, we even got a call from reception asking if everything was ok! The facilities (gym, pool, sauna & steam room) were great! The local beach is only a ten minute walk and great walks along the cliffs with breath-taking views. Short drive to nearby towns. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yesenia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I just returned from a long weekend with my family. All I can say is this place is fantastic! From the second you arrive you are welcomed with a smile and a "can I help attitude". The lodge we stayed in had two twin rooms & a double and two bathrooms. The living space is on the first floor so yo can enjoy the view over Portreath Bay and the sunsets are as good as I have seen. The lodge is fiited out to the highest standard with eveything you could need and more and are VERY spacious. We weren't even staying in one of the best lodges. WE had days out to St Ives, visited national trust sites but best of all was spending a day on portreath beach . Easy to hire wetsuits and body boards or just watch the Surfers. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool, steam room, sana and spa bath. We diodn't get a chance to have traetments due to timelimitations but hereing other guests talk about their experience theywere first class like everything else. The restaurant caters from Pizza to fine dining but you Must book as it gets busy. I have managed 4 & 5 star hotels all over the world and I believe Qwel an Mor matches the experience you would have in them and in many ways exceeds due to the freedom it allows you. If you get a chance GO!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We found the accommodation to be excellent, the actual site not so good. We have stayed in a few lodge sites such as Gwel an Mor and found this to be the least private due to the layout of the lodges. You can see directly into the lodges in front of you and behind you so not exactly "private" as stated on the website - it felt like we were on a new housing estate where the houses are packed tightly together. The site itself, whilst very pleasant felt very lifeless, there was no central area to meet others. One big gripe I have is that the playground is situated behind the reception/pool area so is really "out of the way" and not central, almost build as an afterthought. Portreath itself is awful, it is good only as a base, and as another reviewer on here said - it does not look very nice. We had a lodge with a hot tub which was a nice relaxing way to end the day. If you ask at reception they can arrange a babysitter for you from their staff (not advertised so you have to ask). Must say that the reception staff were very helpful and pleasant. We tried a meal at the Terrace, very nice inside but unfortunately the food was just ok and the service was very slow even though it was only a third full, so we had to skip dessert. All in all, a good base to explore Cornwall. Good accommodation but site has "no personality". I don't think it was very good value for money compared to other places we have stayed, wouldn't stay here again even if it was offered at half the price and wouldn't recommend to others. Overall a bit disappointed with Gwel an Mor.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
5  Thank sallust70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed in one of the VIP lodges with a hot tub. Loved it, top quality fixtures and fittings, spotless an extremely pleasant and comfortable place to be. Swimming pool and gym were good we even had them to ourselves on a couple of occasions. The on site restaurant was very good both food and staff were top quality, we normally eat at different places every night but it was so enjoyable here that we ate there on three occasions. Site itself is very nice no mess anywhere and the staff we encountered were all extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. As a base to explore cornwall you,ll struggle to find better. The only downside is the local town of portreath which is not at all nice but there are plenty of places a short drive away. It was so enjoyable here that we extended our stay for another couple of nights and if work and school were not an issue we,d still be there. Top marks for a top place.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikhebhoofdpijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just come back from a week over half term. Read the reviews before we booked and we were not disappointed. The staff are really friendly, the lodge was spotless and very quiet. It is an excellent base to explore both north and south coasts of cornwall. Only a couple of things, pool does not open until 9.00am, we would have liked to been able to swim from say 8,00am before it go too busy. In our lodge which wasn't a VIP lodge there was no radio downstairs (where the bedrooms are), it would be nice to have a clock radio. We will take one with us next time. Tried the Terrace restaurant, first time was Ok, but gave it another go and had a fantastic meal. Dave at the surf school on Portreath beach excellent value for money £25 for 2 hours. Great break will go back and will recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAustinsTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
3 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
266 reviews
2.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,302 reviews
18.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.5 mi away
Retallack Resort and Spa
Retallack Resort and Spa
#1 of 3 in St Columb Major
1,061 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Park, Cornwall
The Park, Cornwall
#2 of 5 in Mawgan Porth
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing