We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return visit, just as brilliant as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A return visit, just as brilliant as the first”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I absolutely loved my second visit to Gwel An Mor. I was recovering from major surgery so my boys went off and did lots of things while I anguished with books and music in our lodge. We did the Wildlife Experience with Gary and I can safely it was one of the best things that we have ever done as a family (and we do quite a lot!).

Once again the beaches were a highlight - we were lucky with the weather but not so much with the tides. We couldn't rockpool at Portreath this time, but did body board at Porthtowan. Well, the boys did, while I sat sipping wine at the Blue Bar.

A lovely holiday - much recommended. Gwel An Mor get everything pretty much spot on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Rachel,

Awesome write up thank you!

Hope your op recovery is now complete, and for someone with so many write ups on so many places around the world to write so highly about us is amazing..... Thank you.

Glad you di the farm stuff....... Its fantastic isn't it.

Come back soon!

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    94
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
418
111
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here over May half term and had a great time. We arrived earlier than check in, but let reception know and wondered down to the beach for an ice cream. By 3 our lodge was ready! The lodge was spotless and very comfy. We ate at the restaurant one evening and one lunch and found the food excellent on both occasions. We also ordered take away 2 nights and again the food was really nice.

The pool was never that busy and the changing rooms were very clean with free lockers for your clothes.

I had a facial while I was there and it was one of the best I have ever had! Very relaxing!

We went on the wildlife experience at Feadon Farm on a very rainy Bank Holiday Monday, however, this did not spoil our enjoyment at all and would thoroughly recommend this to anyone staying. Our children loved it and we also learnt a lot from Gary. We also booked our children (10 and 8) on the Young Ranger morning, they had a fantastic time and had loads to tell us when they got back.

We took our bikes with us and used the cycle path to Tehidy Country Park. This was a great cycle for us, a bit hilly in places, but for every uphill there is a downhill! It was very safe for children with only 1 main road to cross. We hand fed some squirrels at the Country Park, which was one of the highlights of the week for the children, in fact we went 3 times on our bikes. We found the squirrels were partial to flapjacks.

The beach at Portreath was great for us, lots of rock pooling and even some body boarding!

All in all it was a great holiday and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Nikki,

Great write up thank you, good to hear all your meals including the take away were "Excellent", and it sounds like you took advantage of all the great things we have here at Gwel an Mor.

Our Spa is brilliant and often guests tell us the treatments they have received are among the best they have ever had.

As for our wildlife stuff on the farm, it is something we are very proud of and can make some peoples holidays, and as you say there is so much to do even i the weather isnt quite what we would all like!

And as for our squirrels liking flapjacks that explains why we keep having to put them on diets!!

Cant wait to see you back with us.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed here with my husband and our one year old daughter in June 2013. After a long journey, despite arriving slightly early, we received a warm welcome and were told we could check into our lodge straight away. Our first impressions of the site and lodge were excellent. The lodge was spotlessly clean, well furnished and lots of useful information about the site and places to visit was provided. Stair gates and a high chair had been provided as we had requested. We were supplied with dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, other cleaning products, and a fully stocked tray with tea, coffee, biscuits etc. This was a very nice touch as this is not always provided in other self-catering places we have stayed. The swimming pool and family changing facilities were excellent and made what can be a tricky exercise of getting a one year old baby as well as yourself ready for swimming, a lot easier. The pool was clean and warm and also very quiet, with a lovely view of the sea. We ordered take away from the Terrace Restaurant on two nights and helpfully were able to order something that is not normally on the take away menu. The food was delivered to the lodge and overall was good quality. We had a few minor quibbles. Part of the reason we booked the resort was because of the farm and being able to see the animals. We phoned reception the day after we arrived and asked about booking one of the wildlife experiences. The response we received was a fairly curt "we're fully booked", which was very disappointing. No mention of contacting us if a place became available. Perhaps it would be helpful to mention to people when they check-in that the wildlife trips get booked up very quickly. We appreciate it is not a five star hotel (it is a five star self-catering resort) but a couple of things would be more akin to a five star resort. For example, a shelf in the shower that you can put your shampoo/shower gel on. Bath robes would also have been a nice touch. Also there is a small sticker saying "caution, hot" next to the heated towel rail but perhaps this should be highlighted a bit more as it was scalding hot to the touch and unfortunately our one year old decided to grab hold of it. Fortunately no harm was done. Overall though we had a very nice stay at a very good resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjwhite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Great write up mostly, thank you for all the positive comments, spotless cleanliness, etc, and how well we have kitted out he lodges and what we include when you arrive.

As regards the activities on the farm, I can honestly say we do try and fit everyone in, and we always advise people in writing to book activities before you arrive.

I cannot understand why in your case we did not try and fit you in to one of the other farm activities, but lets hope if you return we can put this right next time. The farm activities are fantastic, which is of course why they are so popular,

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just returned for a Mon-Fri stay in the two bed residence at Gwel An Mor. Absolutely beautiful lodge with every detail thought of down to dressing gowns, drinks frother, ambient lighting, tv in the bathroom and of course the hot tub. A lovely secluded setting way from the main complex but within a few minutes walk through a side gate. Kids loved the onsite pool, adults - the spa and lovely countryside walks. Beds were extremely comfortable - home from home nights sleep. Restaurant was a pleasant surprise pricing wise - very reasonable and a fair variety. Feadon farm tours by Alison and Gary were fantastic - a must do if staying here. Meet Rodney the Rook, Sly the Barn Owl and Todd, Copper and Meadow the foxes - an awesome and inspiring project. Only criticism is that for the price and the claims of a 5* experience that towels would be changed during the stay and that some form of maid service would make the beds daily as they would in a 5* hotel - otherwise we loved it. Staff very helpful overall and if main desk phoned with a query or request about the lodge someone always appeared within a few minutes to sort it. Would definitely stya again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellablue516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thanks for a great write up, and about our latest lodges in the Residence, they are stunning.

Seems like you tried most of what we offer at Gwel an Mor and have commented positively about all of it.

This is of course self catering, but we do offer daily maid services at an additional charge, or we or its included in our "Deluxe VIP Lodges" as well.

And sounds like all our staff reacted as they should do when you needed them!!

Look forward to seeing you return,

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice now - October and May. Lodges clean, tidy and well equipped. On site restaurant good food and not unreasonably priced. Customer service excellent with the staff going out of their way to fix anything brought to their attention. Pool warmer than most and typically quiet. The jewel in the crown on this trip were the wildlife experiences - dont miss out on these, Gary is brilliant with the kids and passionate about what he does. We checked out one of the rival resorts on this trip and reckon Gwel An Mor has the edge- although perhaps a Flow-Rider for 2014 ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuttonsHonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear HH,

Thanks for such a lovely write up. Pleased as ever that we delivered great customer service, and I will pass on your words to Gary on the farm...... He is awesome isn't he!

As for our competition thanks for saying we have the edge… But we don’t need a flow rider? Why on earth would we need one, all those long queues and unreliability when we have the real thing right next to us?

Just a few minutes walk to Portreath Beach, and you have The Atlantic!! and one of the best surfing beaches in Cornwall.

And we have Gary as well!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write, and your kind words, we look forward to your next trip.

Bill Haslam
(Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We returned to Gwel an Mor for the 2nd time in 7 months after our previous visit and this time a set of parents came with us after hearing our rave reviews last time.
We were nicely placed next to each other and despite arriving a couple of hours early from our long drives were given a call to let us know our lodges were ready early .
Due to illness our last trip was cut short so this time it was great to be able to take it all in. From the scenic walk down to Portreath beach , with the nesting Owls to a meal in the restaurant .
The highlight as usual was the Farm , with Gary entertaining the "Hobbits" and keeping them totally engaged .
Unfortunately the evening walk had to be cancelled due to terrible weather. Guess we'll have to come back again then !

The lodges were spotless , the service first class and left both sets of families looking to see when they can return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoochy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Nols,

Lovely to read your comments and thank you for introducing us to your other family members as well.

Glad to hear we delivered spotless lodges and great customer service, and as usual Gary gets highly mentioned, he and his animals and creatures really are a fantastic feature, as is the lovely walk to Portreath Beach.

In so many ways we are fortunate where we are located, you can walk to the beach or Tehidy country park, both wonderful places and very different, and we are so close to the A30 that it makes all of Cornwall accessible.

Look forward to your next trip, and do book the night walk with Gary, its brilliant.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Fab place, lovely location, great standard of cleanliness, lots to do and see and nice staff with a 5/5 for Gary and the night and daylight walking tours - absolute highlight.

Staying in three bed lodge with 3 adults 2 "hobbits" and love the hot tub...mr management you seriously can't get 4 in there though as per previous review. It is fine and sits 2 comfortably.

Loved the attention to detail, kitchen is a bit sparse but just about good enough and thanks for the wine. Restaurant take out is excellent.

Only hitch stopping a 5* is an ongoing issue with noisy water pipes that kicked off at 2.30am and intermittently returned. Complained and fixed promptly but It hasn't gone away. Off to mention it again this morning but it is annoying.

Happy to recommend this place, its a great find and beach at Portreath is great, lovely sand great waves, surf. Waterside pub does decent beer, you just need the weather.

Room Tip: Go for the hot tub option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tractorbeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Tractor?

Well almost a great write up? I am sure most people appreciate that with any building and equipment things go wrong, and I am sorry you had some noisy pipework? Having read your write up I investigated, and I understand this was fixed, and that you were happy.

Our Hot tubs can and often do take four adults, although they are designed for two people to lye down in, we do run our hot tubs scrupulously, the water is changed for every new arrival, and chemically checked three times daily.

As we empty the water each change of guest you can imagine the logistical exercise in emptying 300 gallons of water each time?

Thanks for the lovely comments on our service, food, attention to detail.

Lets hope we can get the fifth star from you next time you come.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,182 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
12.5 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
148 reviews
18.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Property: Gwel an Mor
Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing