We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Christmas!”
Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My family and I have just spent 21st - 30th December in a VIP Lodge. A big decision for our family to spend Christmas away from home... a first for us. Our stay was magical, and I know we have now met the REAL Santa, we visited him in his little house at Gwel an Mor and even sat in his sleigh and stroked his reindeer. We have stayed before and knew the quality and cleanliness of the lodges and were not disappointed. A Christmas Card and two beautifully wrapped gifts were under the tree for our arrival, along with doggie treats and toys for our dog. As it was my grandson's birthday on the day of our arrival I rang ahead to ensure the hot tub was ready for a birthday dip and staff had ensured this was done!
Eva in the Spa is as attentive and welcoming as I remember and her treatments are total bliss. A previous review offered a helpful tip with the wood burner which was a great help!
We visited the Panto at the Hall for Cornwall on 23rd which was brilliant!
We had a lovely take away delivered to our lodge and wondered why we have never done so before, the food was excellent.
Christmas lunch in the Barn (second sitting) was a slight disappointment, but it was the first year this had been held there and so I am sure next time it will be a little more polished.
All in all possibly our best Christmas for years and of course we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gina245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Gina,

Well its so nice to hear you had your best Christmas ever at Gwel an Mor, it is a magical place, and of course we are lucky to have the real Santa come and visit and he kindly lets two of his reindeer stay with us to rest all year round.

There is nothing quite like staying in one of our cosy lodges with a log burner, burning away, and the glow of the xmas tree looking out over the distant ocean.

Thanks for your kind words, we always want to give people the best time possible when they stay with us, and its great to hear that we delivered for you.

Please hurry and come back!

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
There are newer reviews for Gwel an Mor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a quick visit whilst staying with relatives on site, and cannot rate this place highly enough. The lodges have everything you could ask for, of a very high quality. There was even a christmas tree in the lodge :-) The view our lodge had was of the sea, and the upper lounge and balcony make this an even better feature as you can sit back and relax watching the ocean. Only wish we could have afforded a lodge with a hot tub, and it would have been absolutely perfect ! There is a new Head Chef now too, which I would be very excited to go back and visit, and taste his wares !!

Thank you !

Room Tip: Perhaps ask, when booking, if your lounge has direct seaview (if you want if of course!) as some of...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyLado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Sally,

Hope you can stay longer next time! especially when you write such nice things about us!

All our lodges have sea views, although some are better than others of course, and thanks for mentioning our new Chef Joe, he has only just started but is well known locally and has his own fan club!

There is nothing like sitting in a hot tub, looking out to sea or up to the stars ( we seem to get some great clarity out to space sometimes with little light pollution) or even in the rain, so yes next time book one of our VIP, or Amazing new "Residence" lodges that all have Hot Tubs and wood burners!

But as you point out even the normal lodges are lovely!

I live in Winchester myself and travel down to Cornwall regularly, and have to say after 15 years now I still get a buzz every time I turn the corner from Gwel an Mor and there's the Atlantic in front of me in all her glory!

Especially when she's at her worst... spectacular!

Please come back soon.


Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I recently stayed with my girlfriend for a 2 night break in a VIP lodge.

I shouls start by saying that I can usually find fault in most things in order to give ballenced reviews...but in this case the quality of the accommodation and the site as a whole is quite amazing.
Firstly the lodges;
very we decorated and equipped. Cleaned perfectly, items in the fridge were spot on... basically anything you would ordinarily need is available and of quality. This bring me to...
Staff;
Anything extra that you need is handled diligently. We needed to change some spa bookings and they we really helpful. All the staff said hello as they walked past and I just felt like they were genuinely trying to make our stay as good as possible rather than just getting on with covering their duties. Hot stone massage was fantastic, the spa is very well equipped and decorated.

I will be back again. The fantastic restaurant (new chef) was really quite exceptional. Thanks so much to everyone there.

Room Tip: Make sure you open the circular vent at the bottom of the wood burner otherwise they will not light...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Rob,

Thanks for such a lovely write up, attention to detail is so important and its something we work hard at, at Gwel an Mor.

As for your positive comments on the food, our new Head Chef Joe, hails from Spain and is strongly influenced by the region, we are really excited about him joining us, and he is working on a new menu for the restaurant we hope to launch in January.

Look forward to seeing you back soon.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here for a short break with my parents and young son. The facilities were brilliant and we could not have wanted for anything else in the lodge, it came with everything!! It is a good distance to the local areas to explore. I am definitely going to book for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Alix,

Great write up thank you!

And thanks for saying you will be coming back, we all work hard at Gwel an Mor for this reason, we want all our guests to keep coming back.

We have many guests who come back 2 or 3 times a year.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just returned from Gwell an mor, wot can I say. Accommodation was clean, everything u need is avaliable. Heating already on so nice and warm after a long journey. Hot tub already to be used, and it was used alot was so relaxing. Wood burner was easy to use and all wood supplied. Full instructions supplied for all white goods. The staff were excellent nothing was an issue for them, and so welcoming. The area is lovely, we made the most of the short walk into portreath down the wooded path next to the farm, torches even supplied for the evening walk back from the village. We had 1 meal in the terrace restaurant on site, the fish and chips are to die for. We are already trying to decide when to visit next. Beautiful place, welcoming staff. What more do you need for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotnurse43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Hot Nurse,

"A Week Of Bliss"

Great headline, and thank you, sounds like you had a great time, and good to hear that you are figuring out when you can return.

Thats what we want!!

The comments about are staff were all lovely as well, and I will pass your words on to them all, it makes such a difference to all of us wheh we read such a positive write up.

Thank you so much,

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have recently returned from a short break at Gwel an Mor and had a brilliant time. The lodge was clean and well equipped. We took our dog and she loved the bag of treats provided on arrival. I visited the Spa to have my nails done and the service was excellent. The weather wasn't great during our stay but we managed to walk to Portreath to take the dog on the beach; there are also lots of other walks around the site to explore... Lots of places close by, so we didn't get too wet! The lodge had a log burner which was great in the evening. We went to the Terrace restaurant for dinner and the food was excellent; I can recommend the special burger. We also had take away pizza from the restaurant and it was very tasty.

Overall, a brilliant stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Sarah,

Great words, our Spa is very good and I will pass on your positive comments to all of our team there.

And I agree its a brilliant place for dogs, just got back from walking my own dogs along the mineral tramway route, its all so easy here. And there are so many spectacular beaches to take dogs on all around us, Portreath, Porthtowan, Godrevy and Perranporth all only a few minutes away.

Our restaurant goes from strength to strength as well, our new head chef Joe is working on next years menu's and with his Spanish background this will have a strong influence.

See you back again soon.


Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We don't normally make a habit of going to the same place twice, but this place made us so happy and is so good we had to come back..

Everything as we remembered, same superb accommodation, great facilities, all staffed by people who really know the meaning of customer service.

Feadon Farm was the main reason we came back, Gary and his team (including the animals!) are probably the best asset of this place, and we leave with very happy memories of night walks in the pouring rain, falconry in blazing sunshine and ranger days watching a group of kids being pulled up the hill by a herd of goats. Happy days indeed..

Watched a play at Minack theatre, had a walk along Perranporth beach, did some shopping at Finisterre up the road in St Agnes, and got a whole lot of surfing in, also tried Lands End again but refused to pay the fiver for the car park.

Checking out tomorrow, wish we could stay longer - we'll be back again soon. Think I've finally found a place that we can call a home from home, even if it is only for a couple of weeks of the year..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Russell,

What a fantastic write up! One of the best I have seen.

Its so nice to hear that we have broken your trend and you have come back and stayed at the same place for a second time, and even better that you don't want to leave!

Glad you feel we are your "home from home" thats exactly what we want to hear, it means we have done our job!

Look forward to your next trip.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
8.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
3.0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gwel an Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing