We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gwel an Mor
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyacks Hotel(Camborne)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lowenac Hotel(Camborne)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Agnes Hotel(St Agnes)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
613
108
25
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
613
108
25
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip lodgeterrace restaurantfeadon farmhot tubmeet the animalsrock poolingswimming poolwildlife experiencewood burnercountry parkportreath beachonsite restauranttakeaway servicenight walkbarn owlst ivesdishwasher tablets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

a lovely modern log cabin with every amenity you could ask for, we went for a couples break in November and we chilled by day in the Spa, food on site then snuggled up by the log fire with a bottle of wine.

The place was extreamly clean, the staff were so helpful, the facilities were great. We look forward to going back and taking advantage of seeing all of the animals they have there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Rebecca,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us and even more thanks for your kind words, of course your right there is something special about our log cabins, log fire burning on a cold night, or sitting in the hot tub looking up at the stars.

The sky is so clear down hear sometimes..... really spectacular displays sometimes!

Your comments about how clean everything was and how helpful the staff were will be passed onto everyone here, they all love to hear our guests compliments, as it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Next time you must do some of the activities in our farm, it really is a special place and we do some wonderful conservation work there.

So hurry back please.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

On our last day of a weeks break and really don't want to leave . It is our second visit and even more perfect than the last time . Beautiful lodge , pristine , amazing sea view , everything provided ...anything you ask for is dealt with straight away , I can't imagine anyone being unhappy staying here , but if you were the staff are very approachable and friendly . We came to relax after working over Christmas and New Year and no where could have been a better choice . I have had holidays in Florida , Europe etc but this place is a shining star for me :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Debbie,

We love you!

"Shining star" ...... "Heavenly" .... "Pristine" .........love hearing these comments!

Your a returning guest, and to hear that you would rather stay with us than any where else in the world is such a great accolade...... Thank you.

Glad we got it right for you again, and can't wait to see you back soon.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here for four days over the Christmas holidays with my girlfriend and here family. We were lucky enough to have a three bed lodge, which was immaculately clean, well-presented and stylishly decorated. There was a nicely decorated Christmas tree, with a box of chocolates and a bottle of wine....a welcome and classy touch!!!
Its easy these days to write reviews and be irrational with minor faults. However, the lodges were immaculate and well worth the money that was paid for it. The extras such as hot-tub, t.v in the bathroom, en-suite in the master bedroom, log burner, under floor heating, to sum it up a perfect place to spend a family Christmas.
Unfortunately we did not get to use all the facilities offered, however we had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and it was very nice and reasonably priced, the waitress was a bit all over the place, but she apologised 'for having an off day' which was nice but really very minor faults she made nothing to ruin you.
We had a slight issue with hot water, but largely because the gf's sister and partner used all the hot water (Given the size of the tank a miracle but they are a pain in general!!) and struggled to get more, we had to call maintenance who arrived within 5minutes of us calling and was gone within five minutes of arriving and the problem solved. Not a major issue that would ruin your holiday but quickly and expertly dealt with, superb service!!
Overall the whole experience was fantastic and it made for a thoroughly memorable Christmas, I would definitely recommend the lodges and am already looking at going back in the summer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefgavin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Gavin,

So good to read your words, and thank you for such positive comments about our new lodges in "The Residence" we think they are stunning and genuinely the best we have seen, and presumably from you name "Chef" you must no a little about food, so the fact that you compliment our restaurant gives added weight.

We pride ourselves on dealing with any problems expediently, there will always be problems, and people are mostly very reasonable, and its great to hear that your technical issue was dealt with in five minutes.

Our team across the board always want to pleases and give the best service they can, so your words will be very pleasing to all of us.

Great to hear you've already booked to come back! Thats always our aim!

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My family and I have just spent 21st - 30th December in a VIP Lodge. A big decision for our family to spend Christmas away from home... a first for us. Our stay was magical, and I know we have now met the REAL Santa, we visited him in his little house at Gwel an Mor and even sat in his sleigh and stroked his reindeer. We have stayed before and knew the quality and cleanliness of the lodges and were not disappointed. A Christmas Card and two beautifully wrapped gifts were under the tree for our arrival, along with doggie treats and toys for our dog. As it was my grandson's birthday on the day of our arrival I rang ahead to ensure the hot tub was ready for a birthday dip and staff had ensured this was done!
Eva in the Spa is as attentive and welcoming as I remember and her treatments are total bliss. A previous review offered a helpful tip with the wood burner which was a great help!
We visited the Panto at the Hall for Cornwall on 23rd which was brilliant!
We had a lovely take away delivered to our lodge and wondered why we have never done so before, the food was excellent.
Christmas lunch in the Barn (second sitting) was a slight disappointment, but it was the first year this had been held there and so I am sure next time it will be a little more polished.
All in all possibly our best Christmas for years and of course we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gina245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Gina,

Well its so nice to hear you had your best Christmas ever at Gwel an Mor, it is a magical place, and of course we are lucky to have the real Santa come and visit and he kindly lets two of his reindeer stay with us to rest all year round.

There is nothing quite like staying in one of our cosy lodges with a log burner, burning away, and the glow of the xmas tree looking out over the distant ocean.

Thanks for your kind words, we always want to give people the best time possible when they stay with us, and its great to hear that we delivered for you.

Please hurry and come back!

Bill Haslam
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a quick visit whilst staying with relatives on site, and cannot rate this place highly enough. The lodges have everything you could ask for, of a very high quality. There was even a christmas tree in the lodge :-) The view our lodge had was of the sea, and the upper lounge and balcony make this an even better feature as you can sit back and relax watching the ocean. Only wish we could have afforded a lodge with a hot tub, and it would have been absolutely perfect ! There is a new Head Chef now too, which I would be very excited to go back and visit, and taste his wares !!

Thank you !

Room Tip: Perhaps ask, when booking, if your lounge has direct seaview (if you want if of course!) as some of the lodges are behind others.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyLado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Sally,

Hope you can stay longer next time! especially when you write such nice things about us!

All our lodges have sea views, although some are better than others of course, and thanks for mentioning our new Chef Joe, he has only just started but is well known locally and has his own fan club!

There is nothing like sitting in a hot tub, looking out to sea or up to the stars ( we seem to get some great clarity out to space sometimes with little light pollution) or even in the rain, so yes next time book one of our VIP, or Amazing new "Residence" lodges that all have Hot Tubs and wood burners!

But as you point out even the normal lodges are lovely!

I live in Winchester myself and travel down to Cornwall regularly, and have to say after 15 years now I still get a buzz every time I turn the corner from Gwel an Mor and there's the Atlantic in front of me in all her glory!

Especially when she's at her worst... spectacular!

Please come back soon.


Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews