We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gwel an Mor
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$180
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyacks Hotel(Camborne)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lowenac Hotel(Camborne)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Agnes Hotel(St Agnes)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
613
108
25
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
613
108
25
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip lodgeterrace restaurantfeadon farmhot tubmeet the animalsrock poolingswimming poolwildlife experiencewood burnercountry parkportreath beachonsite restauranttakeaway servicenight walkbarn owlst ivesdishwasher tablets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely grounds, pleasant lodge accommodation, well equipped kitchen,comfy beds, hair drier, nice bathrooms with towels and toiletries, leisure towels provided. Free WIFI in lodges. Pleasant staff in reception. Restaurant meals good quality.
Sofas uncomfortable in lodge. Bar closed at different times in the evening to suit staff not customers. Very steep woodland path into Portreath. Path unlit and partly blocked with broken branches when we first arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meggie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks for a generally positive write up.

Your comment regarding children is disappointing as we feel Gwel an Mor is absolutely child friendly, in fact I keep thinking I need to grow up myself so with a childlike owner in charge our staff learn to embrace children of all ages!

There are some practical points though, and in a busy bar area with hot food being carried through and under our license children are not allowed in the bar area of the restaurant, we do have to ask that children are controlled and safe, if this comes over badly sometimes we apologise it really is not meant that way.

As for the opening hours in the bar, our policy is midnight so that guests leaving do not affect other guests on holiday, often we close earlier if we are empty but staff are instructed to stay open till midnight if guests wish to stay.

This wedding party weekend was a little different, in fact we had some guests asking us to close earlier as it was the eve of the wedding and they did not want their partners worse for wear the next day!

The path to the village is a public right of way and the weekend you refer to had 60mph winds and a tree was blown over, this was not on our land and it happened on a Sunday, it was removed by the Tuesday, so I think this is slightly unfair criticism.

Some things are out of our control, the weather and trees not on our land being two examples.

As for lighting the path, although this is not our responsibility we are hoping to have this lit in the next few weeks as our guests do use the path to access the beach and we feel it will make it safer for them.

I hope this answers your comments and of course we welcome you all back, it was a great weekend and the wedding seemed to go brilliantly.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely place
We stayed in 3 bed cabin over looking sea . Everything you needed was there.went to restaurant for meal very nice but I didn't think the way place laid out was child friendly . when near the bar they didn't seem to like it.
Apart from that had a great time .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank CornwallUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited Gwel an Mor last week and stayed in a three bed lodge (number 18).
The accommodation itself is fantastic. They really do provide all the necessities you need such as hairdryers, iron & ironing boards, dishwashers, washing machines, toilet & kitchen roll, towels, dressing gowns...even a stairgate for our toddler. It's very well thought out.
The place is lovely...spacious rooms, very clean and with great views looking out to the sea.

The only negative I would say was that on a couple of days our hot tub wasn't working. We did complain however and after a little negotiation, the manager compensated us with money off a meal at their restaurant.

With regard to the restaurant, I have to compliment both the waiting staff and the food. Nothing was too much trouble & the food was delicious.

The swimming pool & gym facilities are great as was the farm tour we took out two & half year old on, who loved it. Alison & Gary who run this were fantastic, knowledgeable, passionate and great with the kids.

We would definitely return!

Also worth mentioning that every lodge has its own wifi which worked perfectly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L4R4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We left it late this time to book so didn't get the VIP lodges we normally book. We were however just as pleased ( although we do love the hot tub and wood burner) the staff were their usual helpful selves and the accommodation was to the high standards we have come to expect .
We had a four day break just before Easter and this time the sun was shining and it was such a gorgeous place when the sun is out . The one thing I would say is this. Now that " the residence" is being booked out , the pool area gets busier as does the restaurant. We were unable to make a reservation two days in a row. Please do not be put off by this . It is a fantastic place to take a family and we all love it . But be organised and make your dinner reservations before you arrive during school holidays . Make use of all the amenities and enjoy it . Fantastic .

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the Tregea VIP lodges
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have tried a few resort holidays in the UK and were beginning to think this wasn't the route for a quality holiday, until we discovered Gwel An Mor in Portreath, Cornwall. Perched on the hilltop overlooking the bay, this place is amazing. Our lodge was just a standard one (others come with a private hot tub, log burners etc) but the quality of the accommodation was excellent. Clean, beautifully decorated and with everything to make it a real home from home, the lodge crame with washing machine and dishwasher, and we were even greeted with a chilled bottle of white in the fridge on arrival. The resort features a great fitness centre, including indoor pool and saunas free for guests, an accompanying farm which has activities for kids, and there's a beautiful woodland walk down to Portreath Beach. All the staff at Gwel An Mor are super friendly - particularly at the resort's Terrace restaurant (see separate review).
Portreath is also a great location for exploring Cornwall, within easy reach of places such as St Ives, Land's End, Falmouth, Newquay and Truro etc. All in all, we had a superb holiday at Gwel An Mor and will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank SharonC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews