We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive lodges that were absolutley spotless.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive lodges that were absolutley spotless.”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I was thoroughly looking forward to staying at Gwel An Mor after reading the favourable reviews here and I was not let down. My partner and I stayed in a Lowena lodge and everything about it and the site in general was pretty much perfect.

On arrival at reception we were shown to our lodge which in our case was number 46. It was bigger than I expected it to be and absolutely spotlessly clean, with everything you could possibly need. There were also added touches like a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge, chocolates on our pillows and a welcome card from the staff.

We did not make use of the Spa or the Wildlife tours as we were only on a four night short break and simply ran out of time so cannot comment on either. We did use the Terrace restaurant every night though as the food was excellent and the staff were great. Some comments below suggest the food is expensive but it was no more than your average dining pub though, and the standard was every bit as good if not heaps better.

My only gripe is that the mattress on our double bed was very very soft. Of course its a personal preference as we sleep on a rather firm mattress at home and we found the soft one gave us some rather painful back ache. I don't know if they are the same mattresses used across the lodges but if you are used to a firm one you may find it a problem.

That said, I would not hestitate to go back as everything else far outweighs that one issue. You will not fail to be impressed by this place and you will want to take the lodge home with you!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tugga73Exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    94
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
418
111
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2009

This was our first visit to Gwel an Mor and it definately won't be the last. The lodge we stayed in was one of the Deluxe VIP lodges with a hot tub on the decking. This was used and much enjoyed most evenings even though outside was a bit chilly, the hot tub was lovely and warm! The staff were efficient and very welcoming - couldn't fault them and the wildlife and nature experience with Gary is well worth doing. We had two 13 year old boys with us who really enjoyed this - especially holding the snake and owl. There is a lovely walk through the woods down to the beach and although it was March we still managed to hire wet suits and enjoy the surf! We ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings which was very good and I can recommend the carrot cake! None of us used the beauty treatments so I can't comment on that...maybe next time!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sufo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

This was our second visit to Gwel an Mor and we were not disappointed. It really is deserving of its 5 stars. The resort is small and beautifully kept. For the first time EVER we did not go for a VIP lodge but booked a basic Tregea lodge because we felt confident that the standard would be good. The lodges are true wooden lodges not chalets pretending to be lodges!! The bedrooms are downstairs and living accomodation is upstairs. The lodge we had was superbly clean although the living room carpet and furniture was looking a little tired but this is me being EXTRA fussy!! We asked to stay two extra nights so I think that says it all!!

Gwel an Mor is in a fantastic position for visiting some superb places. Do try Hells Mouth cafe for breakfast which is about 10 minutes away on the road to Hale.

Perranporth beach has something for everyone, a bridge to cross onto the sand which gets cut off (don't worry there is an alternative bridge which you can use) streams, cliffs, caves and fantastic sand. There is even a pub on the beach and you can use the toilets.

We had a fantastic time in a beautiful area with the advantage of having our own home from home to go back to at night. Give it a go. You really won't be disappointed but please look after the place because it is special!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiefrombolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Stayed in a Tregea Lodge for 1 week in August and thought it was a great place. Lodges are extremely well equipped (even provided some cleaning products) and with a high standard of cleanliness. Plenty of staff on the site and all very helpful - problem with washing machine was sorted promptly. Location was good for getting out and about, 10 mins to Tesco and 15 mins to M&S/Next.
Pool was a bit small but for the times we used it, was more than adequate.

Only issue was with the internet access, or rather the lack of any speed to make it usable. In a resort of this calibre offering this serivce, this was very disappointing and needs to be addressed quickly.

Overall, a very relaxing break and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillHaslam, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
We did have a problem with our broadband supplier during this period which has now been resolved, our broadband is now up to speed, sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herefordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

All I can simply say is : Book it!
We have stayed at Center Parcs on numerous occasions at similar expense - okay you don't get a sub-tropical swimming paradise - but at least the lodges are clean and well equipped (the only thing we could find to moan about was that the frying pan didn't have a lid - I mean, come on!) - properly clean.
The staff are fantastic, knowledgeable and helpful - nothing is too much trouble.
You absolutely have to go on one of the organised wildlife activities with Gary - never have I met a guy who knew so much and wanted to share it with all - young and old - we had two and a half hours with him in a group of about ten, all for a fiver a head - try that at Center Parcs!
The Terrace restaurant was fab the first time we tried it (give it 95 out of 100) and good the second time (85 out of 100) - fairly high prices but still good value - we also had a takeaway delivered one night - same sentiment - good but expensive - but still value for money.

Overall, it was that good that we are seriously considering purchasing one of the second phase lodges.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidsincars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We spent a week here, and it is a lovely place. After reading such positive reviews, you always wonder, will it live up to the hype? Yes, it did, with bells on.
As my husband said about our lodge, this is better than our house! (My housekeeping isn't brilliant...) The pool was clean and smart, the lodge was clean and spacious, the restaurant provided one of our best meals of the holiday. The staff are courteous and pleasant. We broke two glasses and when we reported this were met with a grin and a jolly 'oh, what are you like?' My son is autistic and the staff didn't bat an eyelid at his less-than-average behaviour but soon got to know him by name and were great with him. We had a lodge with a hot tub. Worth every penny to sit in there, read a book and let your worries slip away. Until you have to get out and separate squabbling siblings. Can't blame the resort for that. Can recommend the croquet and mini golf, great fun.
The resort is placed ideally for exploring Cornwall. Very close to Falmouth, Hayle, St.Ives and Helston. And a lovely NHS emergency dentist in Redruth. That's another story.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Gwel an Mor proved to be a fantastic choice of holiday resort during a week of cold and wet weather in Cornwall in mid July. The lodges come fully equipped with absolutely everything you could possibly need including washing machine, Wi-Fi and balcony overlooking the coast. Sumptuously furnished the lodges were warm and dry during the storms we encountered with little touches like free DVD's to watch and board games to play.

The resort, although relatively small, had a super fitness suite, sauna, steam room and swimming pool. The pool was great for relaxing in whilst it chucked it down. The restaurant served up excellent food and had a good value home delivery pizza service.

I can't fault the site and accommodation at all except for the location..... The sea views were there but it was not a particularly picturesque location and it was a fair old hike to the beach. Fine for us but if you had very small kids you would drive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,182 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
12.5 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
148 reviews
18.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Property: Gwel an Mor
Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing