We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely time.....”
Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
chepstow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely time.....”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed at Gwel an Mor last weekend, from Friday to Monday - me, my husband & our severely disabled, terminally ill daughter, aged 15yrs. Finding suitable accomodation for disabled people is not easy, so we were thrilled to be able to stay here. We stayed in the 'assisted living' lodge, which is fully wheelchair accessible, has a large ground floor wetroom, which was fantastic. However, there is no hoist in the lodge - an absolute must for our disabled child. I did enquire about this prior to our stay & was put in touch with a local company who could hire a mobile hoist - at a cost of £70! I thought this was completely extortionate, given that we would actually only be in the lodge for 2 full days! We had to manage without the hoist. There is a 'profiling' bed in the lodge, but it's a divan type of bed, with no safety side rails (again, a must for our daughter), but we improvised. For us, this was the only 'downside' of the lodge - otherwise, it was perfect in every way. The staff were incredibly helpful & friendly - helping with the swimming pool hoist etc, this was very much appreciated. We ordered a take-away from the restaurant, which was delivered straight to our lodge - the food was delicious! We enjoyed the peace & quiet, we went there to relax & spend quality time with our daughter, which we did. I think having a hot tub in the assisted living lodge would be just perfect! It would be so beneficial to many disabled people & for the carers who look after them!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoulouChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    98
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
444
116
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The set-up of the chalets was excellent, so that you never really feel that you are surrounded by neighbours. The chalet itself was really nice and comfortable, and the pool and hot tub were handy to have for a rainy day or night. The animal sanctuary next door was particularly good, and the evening spent with the rescued animals, and then walking through the fields looking for roe deer, was worth the very small price charged. Also a good venue if you want to go walking or cycling - the 11 mile cycle path from Portreath to Devoran is fairly flat and in good condition, with plenty of places to stop on the way if you want.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velochristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

It was a first time here & what a truly magical resort this is. The lodge was fantastic and the surroundings beautiful. It was the best holiday I've had in the UK. Meeting the wildlife is a great added extra and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Is a short walk into Portreath with local amenities and the is stunning beach here. The restaurant on-site serves fantastic food and even offers a takeaway service. Lodges have all modern amenities including also a dishwasher and a washer/dryer-great for families or large groups. Each lodge has a parking space right outside too which makes like easy and makes it a great base to explore Cornwall from.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyPothecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Stayed with my hubby and my 6 yr girl and 2yr boy. We were in three bed vip deluxe lodge. I hadn't stayed in lodges only at center parcs which i didn't like. These were gorgeous. Very clean spotless excellent kitchen log burner and hot tub. Beautiful! the gym good small but good same as pool.
We visited loads places but loved
Crealy adventure park. Great massage with Eva. Nico gave me some good running routes. Brilliant place would go again

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniecharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We just had a week at Gwel An Mor, Portreath, in August, and as most other reviews we cannot fault the place at all. We stayed in a Lowena Lodge, one double bedroom and one twin. These are certainly 5 star as claimed.
We dined in the Terrace restaurant three times and found the service, and food first class.
It’s not cheap to stay here, but you get what you pay for.

Also out of about six different bakers we visited, Portreath bakery shop sells the best pasties for miles.

Helpful?
3 Thank northessexboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We spent a week at Gwel an Mor in July and despite the weather not being perfect we still had a wonderful holiday.

The lodges are super clean and ideal for young children to charge about in. We ate at the restaurant, the food was delicous and we had to get a doggy bag as the portions were pretty big. I thought the pool was just right for young children as it wasn't too big and was warm. We had a great morning rock pooling with Gary, he made even the tinest rock pool seem like a treasure trove, although I think I was concentrating a bit more than my small person was! All the Gwel an More staff were helpful and friendly and the mid-week maid service was a major bonus.

We spent time down on Portreath beach and also travelled to Perranporth, St Ives (not pushchair friendly!) and Newquay. It was about an hour to The Eden Project where we had a great day out.

We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We booked a week at Gwel an Mor five star resort to follow five days in Bude where we stayed in hostel type accommodation whilst on an adventure holiday. We had a Tregea VIP lodge, three bedrooms (two twin and one double) and a hot tub on the deck. When we arrived the lodge was very clean, sparklingly so and very well decorated, none of that don't put anything decent in the place in case it gets stolen business. It felt comfortable not like the usual rental places.
We had chosen the VIP lodge for the hot tub and we really enjoyed this little treat. The bedrooms were an excellent size and the whole lodge seemed huge with just the four of us in it (especially after our bunk room the week before).
The pool was clean but small, children under 16 had to be accompanied by an adult, there are no lifeguards, it was an adequate pool but didn't really suit us, we like our children, 9 and 11, to be able to go ahead to the pool and join them ten minutes later, not possible though.
We didn't use the gym but we did have a look, it was very small with about six machines. It was much smaller than I thought it would be, but no one was using it so if you are keen on keeping up with your exercise regime you'd probably have your pick of the equipment.
We ate in the restaurant twice, once for lunch where the service was almost non existent (there were only three families in the whole place) and once for dinner which was excellent all round, including the service! The one thing it really fell down on was atmosphere, there was none.
We had a great holiday visiting local attractions using the lodge as our base. Although we enjoyed the excellent standard of the lodge and were very comfortable we really felt we could have rented a cottage in complete isolation and met as many people, none, during our stay. It is extremely private and a just a little bit too Stepford for our family, virtually all the visitors owned a car three years old or less, BMWs, Audis, Volvos, (including us) reminded me of a smart housing development in an affluent commuter town.
I think it would be excellent for people with younger children who have no choice but to be with their children every minute of the day, or those who'd love to have some privacy, I can also imagine that staying here out of season would be lovely especially with the woood burner going. We, however, like some holiday atmosphere and for the children to make friends and have a little independence, this wasn't the ideal place for us, it was lovely but dull.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumscrumdiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
What can I say, these guests didn’t get the holiday they wanted although we provided in their own words Sparklingly clean, spacious, well decorated and safe accommodation! And a restaurant that they also say was excellent all round.

Considering we were fully occupied, we still provided peace and quiet, which was judged as dull! Of course they could have joined any of the wildlife and nature activities on our farm; there are several every day. Walked or cycled to the beach, where they can swim safely, surf, and kayak, or explore the 26 miles of mineral tramways routes directly from Gwel an Mor. Our holidays we believe give people the option to do as much or as little as they want, but whatever they decide they are staying in excellent, clean and safe accommodation with staff that will always try and help, that’s us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
2.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,225 reviews
8.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
10.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
9.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Property: Gwel an Mor
Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing