We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete joy!!!”

Berber Travel Adventures
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Amizmiz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors experience firsthand the beauty and hospitality of Moroccan Berber culture by meeting and interacting with those living in the many small mountainous villages surrounding Amizmiz, a town about an hour from Marrakech. Activities include visiting Berber villages and homes, helping prepare traditional Berber meals, and learning about the daily life of Morocco's native people. This cultural attraction gives visitors a real-life encounter with the rural Berber life of the High Atlas Mountains.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A complete joy!!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Went to Morocco with the usual lack of research...but found an absolute gem here!! Spent the first day "souked" out in Marrakech, and on the morning of our second day, decided to do something different, so contacted the Berber Travel Adventures at 7.45 am and by 8.45 am they had organised a taxi to pick us up from the hotel and deliver us to Amizmiz!! Bespoke adventure as there were just the two of us that day!!
The Berber market is a world away from the souk...genuine people living uncomplicated lives. Sights and sounds and smells that were overwhelming, and just so amazing that the whole experience will long be remembered. Jamal and Nour were fabulous guides, patient and not phased by endless questions ranging from social structure and health care, to how I buy my chickens "fresh" in M&S!! (Shopping for fresh food does mean the poor old chicken may have it's last run past you in the market!! No standard size/weight or shapes here) Tea..an experience with Mohammed and not to be missed! The row of tangines cooking to order in the market, just wonderful!! We would never have seen this unless with Jamal and Nour.
The walk to the village would have been less complicated if we daft tourists had suitable foot wear , but I would not have missed it for the world , even with plastered heels!! So wear walking shoes or good trainers!!! Nour, you are my angel first aider!! (we did look conspicuously like tommy tourists!!)
Lunch..the best ever tangine..freshest food served simply and so delicious, with the lady of the house so gracious and gentle. The view from the house..spectacular. The sense of peace and contentment something, money can't buy!!
If you do travel this way, take some time out and enjoy. It is the best thing we have done in years!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smythy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amizmiz day trip August 2013”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Jamal was our excellent tour guide for this day trip and trek to visit two Berber family homes and see the local villages of Amizmiz. He was very knowledgable and we had a lot of fun despite the heat. He was very thoughtful and even carried water in his backpack for us! We had an unforgettable experience and I would like to thank Jamal for this. We were graciously invited into two homes and were able to sample home-made meals which were delicious. The families were a delight to meet and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Marrakech. Highly recommended for anyone who wishes to have an authentic local experience and see the beautiful landscapes and villages of Amizmiz.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A highlight of my Moroccan trip”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Travelling with the Berber Travel Adventures was one of the highlights of my trip to Morocco. Everything was exceptional. We organized most of the logistics via email (with Berber Travel Adventures having to deal with my group's ever changing and divergent travel itineraries right up until the last minute) and it was a very easy experience. The tour itself was amazing - it felt very authentic, we stayed with some truly lovely families and our guide was very interesting and had lots of information to share with us about Morocco and the Berbers in general. Plus, the food was some of the best I had during my whole time in Morocco! It was a very memorable experience and I would highly recommend it to all my friends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissMelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Berber Travel Adventure - wonderful, authentic taste of Morocco”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visited Marrakech at the start of March and arranged to go on the two day trek with BTA.

They arranged transfers to and from our Riad to Amizmiz - we're we started and finished our trek.

Our guide was welcoming and friendly. The walk was leisurely and right from the start the scenery was fantastic. We met lots of local people on the way and felt we were experiencing the real Morocco and everyone so friendly.

We stopped for lunch with a lovely family who made a fantastic tagine and bread cooked on the side of the clay oven - amazing and didn't seem to be available in Marrakech.

We walked up to a traditional Moroccan village in the mountains and stayed with a lovely Berber family, who were accommodating and friendly - we even got to help them prepare dinner in the clay oven. The facilities were basic but we were made to feel comfortable overnight and were very happy!

After a lovely breakfast in the mountain sunshine in the morning we walked back through a lovely valley, stopping for a delicious lunch.

At roughly £200 each it wasn't cheap but when you consider we had two guides, four delicious meals, accommodation and a wonderful time, it was worth every penny.

We couldn't recommend BTA highly enough.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best thing we did in Morocco”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a day of rain, fog, hail and snow - and we still considered this to be the best thing we did in Morocco, which probably says it all. Thanks to Jamal, our guide, we had a fantastic day.
The hospitality we experienced when visiting the 2 families in the villages on the way was amazing.
In addition to enjoying the beautiful countryside, local food and interaction with the people, it does create a reset in your mind on what is important in life.
We took the full day walking tour and even though we had no experience on walking trails, it was no problem for us.
If you have the time, are not worried to eat with your hands and want to have an unforgettable experience, this is it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AFM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berber Travel Adventures also viewed

Amizmiz, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Berber Travel Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing