We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out in Morocco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MAROC LODGE Boutique Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amizmiz
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at the Maroc Lodge after a few days in the bustle of Marrakech. Amizmiz is an ordinary little town about an hour from Marrakech in the foothills of the Atlas mountains but gives a flavour of ordinary life in Morocco. The lodge is on the edge of the town in an elevated position with wonderful views over the town, countryside and the snowy peaks in the background. The approach is via a rough road past some basic local houses but you then turn into the lodge gardens and get a complete surprise. The gardens are terraced and beautifully maintained and organised with fruit and nut trees and a huge range of flowers and shrubs. The five lodges are spaced out well and surround the pool/terrace area which looks out over the hills and the town minarets. We were met by David and his staff and later in the week met Beatrice but not the other owner Bruno on this occasion. The small reception/restaurant and patio are the centre of the facilities where you can have drinks and meals indoor or outdoor. The food is a fixed daily menu which we loved as it was real home cooking - typically 3 courses and large portions. We stayed in the 2 bedroom St Germaine lodge overlooking the pool. Beautifully clean, two bathrooms/showers and the lodge is uniquely furnished with antique furniture which is extremely comfortable and welcoming. Meals can be taken at the restaurant area, in your lodge/terrace or at the poolside and are served with an option of wines/beers from a small but adequate drinks list. There is a small hammam/massage room near the reception which was relaxing but I cannot compare as I had not had a hammam or massage before. Whilst the facility is the small, the girl who attended was lovely and very friendly. The whole ambience of the Maroc Lodge is one of relaxation and David and the team are very easy going and allow you to eat when and where you like and come and go as you please. There is a fridge in the lodge with cold drinks and hot drinks/fresh fruit are freely available via reception at anytime - the only comment is it would be nice to have a kettle in the lodge for early late hot drinks to avoid contacting reception - a minor improvement only. The staff are wonderfully attentive and really friendly - we appreciated practising our French with Saeeda in particular. The pool is cleaned daily and is great to relax around but you MUST experience a hike into the Atlas foothills arranged by David. We went with a local guide called Nourredine and paid extra for 2 mules and their owners Mohammed and Moustafa. The walk was fantastic and well narrated by Nourredine with local Berber history and local life in this part of Morocco. We were treated to lunch at a their house way up in the foothills where we spent a couple of hours with the lovely family, drinking tea and sharing a tagine - a truly remarkable experience which we shall never forget. We stayed four nights to include two days around the pool and a days hiking. A lovely touch to end our stay was some jars of homemade marmalade and olive oil from the Lodge garden olive trees to take home with us. This is a real relaxation spot with wonderfully clean facilities and superb hospitality and is well worth adding to a few days in Marrakesh for a great weeks holiday.

Room Tip: All lodges are well located. We stayed in St Germaine which is the largest (2 bedroom) with great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Maroc Lodge for 3 nights in November 2013 as the third stop of a 10 night driving tour of Morocco, chosen for its mountain location (complementing the other coastal and desert locations) as well as its proximity to Marrakech airport. Knowing that we were driving from Taroudant, Davide, the owner, emailed to confirm that the occasionally treacherous Tizi’n’Test Pass was indeed driveable. We stopped at Ouirgane for lunch, believing that we were nearer to Amizmiz than we were… the direct road from Ourigane to Amizmiz is a steep dirt-track in some places, and even crosses a dry river bed at one point. We eventually reached Amizmiz to discover what must be one of the most unattractive towns in all Morocco and began to wonder what we had let ourselves in for. Following the precise directions provided, we drove through a particularly poor area of the town, finding the hotel sign pointing towards another dirt track through some orchards and fields. On entering the compound, one appreciates the clever landscaping that creates a sense of tranquility. Despite the location, it is securely guarded – the car park is some way from the accommodation and after carelessly leaving the driver’s door wide open on afternoon, the security guard came running to my chalet to alert me!

We stayed at the Ile-Rouse, a one bedroom detached chalet forming the middle of three chalets located directly around the pool area. The chalets (of which there are five or six in total) are situated apart from each other. They are comfortably if somewhat eclectically furnished with a large living room and separate bedroom, both of which open onto a terrace where we ate breakfast. Dinner can also be served on your terrace or in your chalet but we opted to eat in the restaurant lodge. The meals are delicious and proved to be cheaper than advertised on the lodge website – fortuitous as there are few local options.

Unlike our other accommodation in Morocco, the Maroc Lodge tends to attract a British middle class clientele (which is something we try to avoid). Nevertheless, the lodge is spacious and small enough for this not to be over-bearing – apart from the restaurant which has only two tables – if there are more than four guests you will be forced to share.

We didn’t take part in any of the activities that the hotel can arrange – we just wanted to relax and had visited the Atlas mountains previously – but other guests spoke enthusiastically about them. We did drive to the reservoir at Aguergour where there are a number of lake-side restaurants – we chose the Bivouac Restaurant – and enjoyed an inexpensive meal in a relaxed environment.

The Maroc Lodge’s staff are all friendly and care passionately about the comfort of their guests, whether that’s when brining you breakfast or in catering to individual tastes when the set meals might not be to their liking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garfster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We could unfortunately only stay three nights but this place is so special I felt as though it provided as much of a sense of relaxation and adventure as many two week breaks. This isn't just somewhere to rest your head at the end of the day but the team facilitate a unique experience.
Our private lodge was very large and comfortable, decorated with a wonderful combination of Moroccan and French influenced design. The views from all the large windows were beautiful - lush gardens, the luxurious swimming pool used by lots of pretty birds and the mountains in the background. Being able to throw all the patio doors open and listening to the birdsong, donkeys and calls to prayer was magical.
The Lodge has the best team of staff imaginable. Nothing was too much trouble and anything could be arranged around our individual requirements. The beautiful fire was lit each evening and created a lovely cosy atmosphere in the lodge where we chose to eat most of our meals. The food was delicious - again feeling genuinely Moroccan but with dashes of French influenced cuisine. Good value for money and with plenty of variation.
We enjoyed the hamman experience in the Lodge. My skin has never felt better and the massage was delightful.
Without any hassle or stress, two wonderful day trips were arranged for us. The guide Latifa is an absolute star with a big heart. She very quickly got to understand what we wanted from the day and was more than happy to answer all or our questions but never imposing or pushy. It quickly felt like were being taken on an adventure by a close friend.
The walk through the mountains exploring Berber villages was an unforgettable experience and one of the best days travelling I have ever experienced. The scenery is stunning - vast, timeless and unspoilt. It felt as though we were getting a genuine insight into a different world and there was none of the sanitised, theme park feel that characterises overdeveloped tourist destinations.
One of the owners, Bruno, was kind enough to take time out of his busy schedule to meet us in Marrakesh and give us a private tour of some gardens that he helps manage. I was taken back by his warmth, charm and generosity. His love of Morocco and the Berber culture is inspiring and it manifests itself in a hotel and a team of staff that are second to none.
I am confident that you couldn't find a better place to stay in north Africa, whatever your budget.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HermioneYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Everything about Maroc Lodge was quite perfect - from being met at the airport by Khalid the delightfully welcoming driver, to arriving late at night and being led down a glorious lantern lit path to our lodge by David then, then in spite of how late it was, being served a delicious meal eaten among the flowers and trees where more lanterns hung. Surrounded by trees and fragrant shrubs, overlooking a candle lit pool our lodge was a beautifully furnished haven, both bedroom and sitting room looked out over our own verandas and a candle lit pool, the next morning we saw there were mountains too.

Bruno, David and Beatrice were magnificent hosts. The meals were absolutely delicious, no menus so no sitting for ages wondering what to have and every night was different, the wonderful breakfasts were served on our veranda, lunch if one wished then mint tea and dainty patisserie in the middle of the afternoon by the pool. All the staff were a delight, the lovely Zaida whose beautiful smile lit up the room each evening, gorgeous Zued who cleaned our rooms and the drivers Khalid and Abdullah who made us laugh on the long drive to and from Marrakech.

The highlight of our stay was trekking in the Atlas mountains with the truly remarkable Latifa and the driver Llasan - through a stunning landscape, Berber villages where we were plied with walnuts, figs and apples from friendly villagers and lunch at Llasan's home where his wife cooked us the most wonderful chicken tagine eaten together and endlessly amused by their delightful baby daughter. Latifa is incredible, she cares deeply about her country and its people and trained as a guide so that she could share the joys of Morocco with visitors and this she does with great sensitivity.

A Hammam is a must - there is a private one at the lodge or a communal one in the village, we went to the latter, segregated of course, and found it a fantastic experience with women of all ages, children and babies all scrubbing each other or in my case being scrubbed by Latifa! An hour later I emerged very pink, as smooth as a babies .... and relaxed beyond all measure.

The local town Amizmiz is a proper Moroccan town, no tourists at all, the souk on Tuesdays is a must - villagers from the mountains come down on mules and bring all their wares to sell, fruit, vegetables, honey comb baskets & pottery - no car park but a large mule park. Take care of the taxi drivers, they were the only ones who fleeced us.

If you go to Marrakech go the the Marjorelle (?) Gardens, much better than the souks.

I could go on forever. It really was a little bit of heaven dependent not solely on the beauty and tranquility of Maroc Lodge but the the wonderful care we received from remarkable people and the friendliness of everyone. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: There are only 4 lodges and they're all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent 3 days at the Maroc Lodge to celebrate my partner's birthday. The Lodge itself was amazing; just four lodges, beautifully furnished and very clean. The gardens and the infinity pool are stunning. This was not a huge surprise as I had seen pictures and reviews on Trip Advisor. Why I said it "exceeded expectations" (and my expectations were very high) was thanks to David, the manager of the Lodge. He organised our entire stay in the Atlas Mountains which was unforgettable, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome and spoilt from the moment we arrived. He organised a magical dinner for my partner's birthday. We were taken up the mountains by mules to arrive at an open area filled with candles. with a tablecloth on the floor and cushions thrown around. We had own private chef and waitress who cooked and served us a wonderful 3 course dinner complete with birthday cake. David was overseeing to make sure everything was perfect, which is was. My only regret was that we had to leave after 3 days. We will be back, and next time it will definitely be for longer. Thank you David.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abracadabra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I asked for a place where it was sunny and would allow for a complete recharge; Maroc Lodge was offered and am I glad it was. I had a wonderful few days here; excellent food, wonderful service, a great hammam and massage and amazing walks with a guide who cares passionately about the area and its people . It is wonderfully peaceful location and a little oasis of luxury . I even survived on my school boy French; the owners and staff are lovely, very welcoming and caring. As a single traveller it was great not to be stuck in the back of beyond and hidden in a cupboard. I would rank Maroc Lodge as one of the best places I have stayed at for total relaxation and escape. I would certainly have no hesitation in returning, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: They are all unique; just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our stay at the Maroc was the best. From airport transfer to warmth, food and comfort - customer care was delivered to a T! Don't expect a polished limo to pick you up from the airport, in fact, far from it, but it's all part of the surprise. We stayed at this romantic hideaway in November 2011, unfortunately, I've only just got round to leaving a review.
At first sight, the airport pick up made my heart sink as I was expecting a high end well-polished car to pick us up, but instead we were met by a very pleasant English speaking driver in his near ancient taxi. I thought to myself 'gosh! What next?'
I soon forgot the state of the taxi I was in the minute we drove into the lodge grounds. Absolute splendour! It was late at night, but we knew what was to unfold in the morning will be breathtaking.
From dawn to dusk, we were catered for - pampered and spoilt!
7 nights at this hotel turned out to be everything we expected and more.
Only thing I can say and perhaps a constructive criticism, the owner on two occasions brought groups of friends round and kind of restricted our use of the pool area for those two afternoons. It was almost like a private gathering for him and his non-resident friends, but this little hitch was not significant enough to ruin our overall experience. I imagine he was able to do this because it was off-peak season and anticipate that he will be more aware of his paying guests during peak times.
It was nonetheless overall, an enjoyable experience and we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amizmiz
11.1 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
511 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
16 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
348 reviews
10.1 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
131 reviews
10.4 mi away
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant du Lac
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant ...
#1 of 3 in Lalla Takerkoust
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAROC LODGE Boutique Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAROC LODGE Boutique Hotel & Resort

Address: Quartier Administratif | Amizmiz, Amizmiz 42100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Amizmiz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amizmiz
Price Range: £96 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAROC LODGE Boutique Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maroc Lodge offers its guests various garden villas scattered in a large and beautiful garden around an infinity pool overflowing on the Amizmiz valley located on the foothills of the High Atlas Mountain 45 minutes from Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your MAROC LODGE Boutique Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroc Hotel Amizmiz
MAROC LODGE Boutique Hotel & Resort Morocco/Amizmiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing