We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Fonix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fonix Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Balatonfoldvar
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a very friendly reasonably priced Hotel in a renovated old Villa. The staff is very helpful, warm and knowledgeable. There is a pool which seems to be a favorite for children. The lake is a 5 min walk if that is your preference. The Hotel has several air conditioned rooms which you should specify in advance as your preference. Same price! Also, the Restaurant of the Hotel is very good and reonably priced. You can also rent bicycles in the Hotel, even electric ones are available. Finally, for those interested, the Hotel can accomodate small meetings (30-60 people) all year round. Higly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikevanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
budapest
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Balatonföldvár is one of the few resorts on Balaton, which maintained some of the fleur of the bathing culture of the 30th of the XX. Century.

Some of the private villas got renewed (some of them are private, some others are operated as pension or hotel).But do not expect an intact museum resort there.

Te FÖNIX Hotel is the result of a nice restoration work of a building from the early XX. Century. The refurbishing took place in 2001.

Its location is close to the (old) main road along the Balaton – less noise, than earlier (a highway was built some years ago taking the transit traffic away).
But rooms facing on that side are quite noisy.

We stayed in the hottest days of this season, and the rooms without air-conditioners caused sleepless nights.
A small pool, a private tennis court, a nicely managed restaurant, good breakfast and helpful staffs made our evaluation 3 + ½. –even if the hotel is not a **** category.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with aironditioner - in case you stay on hot nights. And avoid rooms facing the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

staff were so helpfull even with limited english, they thought it special that New Zealanders had decided to visit there town, the pool was great seen we visited in June, breakfast was a treat, if they didnt have it out cause of few guests they cooked it,

Room Tip: We enjoyed room on 1st floor looking over pool it was light and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

14 - 15 Sept 2011
It is possible we had the least pleasant room in the hotel - room 19, so that may jade this review. We had a downstairs room at the back of the hotel facing the road (near the pool). The major problem with this room is that it was quite warm and since we were on the ground floor we did not want to leave the window open. However it was just too hot to close the window and there were no bars on the window or air conditioning. So we took our chances with an open window. Of note, this room is by the back door and so guests were coming and going - it was a bit noisy.
The hotel is pleasantly located and quiet (at least in mid-September).
Pool was clean, surrounded with loungers, and with a only one other couple there. Water was shockingly cold, but pleasant. Tiles could use some work.
Bathroom looks nice and is clean. Shower leaked towards the toilet. 2 small and 2 large towels.
Room is ok with very narrow twin beds. Quite clean. 2 chairs, a desk, fridge, TV (with CNN), big closet.
Nice breakfast in a pleasant room or outside on the patio. Lots of meats (cold and hot) and cheese choices. Scrambled eggs, fried onions and peppers. Coffee, tea, orange and apple juices, breads, toast, jams, etc.
Internet is free but only worked in the lobby.

Room Tip: Not room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balatonfoldvar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jonathan
Hotel Jonathan
#3 of 8 in Balatonfoldvar
16 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ket Korona Hotel
Ket Korona Hotel
#1 of 6 in Balatonszarszo
95 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Kentaur
Hotel Kentaur
#4 of 39 in Siofok
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 39 in Siofok
345 reviews
7.2 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
718 reviews
8.0 mi away
Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonix Hotel

Property: Fonix Hotel
Address: Spur Istvan utca 27., Balatonfoldvar 8623, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Balatonfoldvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Balatonfoldvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fonix Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fonix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonix Hotel Balatonfoldvar, Somogy County, Hungary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing