We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel.. but not a 5 star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elysium Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I just came back from greece. We stayed at the Elysium hotel. The hotel looks very good from the outside, has a great pool and short way to the beach.. but here it stops.. The buffet is the worst i´ve seen at a 5 star hote. They have a combination of buffet and al carte, doesn´t work! There is not wi-fe in all the rooms (should be a minimum at a 5 star hotel), some off the staff is rude (but some are also very nice). I also wanted to have a day at the spa, but this was very very very expencive.. They say they have a tennis court, but this is just a area with a drawn up tennis court. I understand that many people think this is a great hotel, but then they couldn't have stayed at other 5 stars around the world.

Room Tip: We lived at a standard room. its okay. a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjiraffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention.

It is always regrettable to read that there were some issues that caused some dissatisfaction during your stay with us and wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Without wishing to be unsympathetic we would like to assure you that our star rating falls under the “Luxury Category” (5 stars) and has been awarded by the Greek National Tourism Organization (GNTO) and felt sorry to note that this was not in line with your expectations of a five star hotel.
Even if we assume that the star rating system is subjective and standards can vary from global region to global region, country to country, and in many cases even within countries, your assumption that those holidaymakers that wrote positive comments about our hotel do not have a proper experience in five star hotels is both insulting and irrational.

Having said that, we would like to emphasize that we value all feedback received from our guests and respect everyone’s opinion as long as it is not insulting either to us or to our clientele. As you do appreciate the hotel would have been particularly concerned if the majority of guests had a similar opinion to yours that fortunately is not the case.

We understand that food is something very subjective and a matter of personal taste and again as you can see from past reviews on Tripadvisor there are quite a lot of people that are very enthusiastic with both the cuisine and variety of food offered. We would also like to underline that the hotel has attracted excellent scores in this field so far from both, the in-house feedback we collect as well as from all tour operators’ evaluation programs and feel sorry to hear that the buffet was not found to be as enjoyable as expected.

Thank you also for your suggestion regarding WiFi access in the rooms; as you do appreciate the hotel is not advertising this amenity in any of its rooms’ descriptions and therefore feel frustrated when a guest is raising a complain of this type. On a positive note we would like to add that this is something that Elysium is currently looking to resolve and that from now on WiFi will be offered free of charge in public areas.

We would also like to apologize if you were made to feel less comfortable by any member of our staff; the vast majority of the reviews on Tripadvisor and the feedback we receive describe our staff to be very friendly and attentive and regret to note that you found certain of our employees to be rude.
As far as prices in the hotel’s spa centre are concerned, we would like to note that we feature the ESPA brand, a world leader in luxury spa treatments, and that our prices are in accordance to those of corresponding products found throughout Europe.

Once again thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention; we do respect your opinion and understand that a holiday expectation may differ from holidaymaker to holidaymaker based on past experiences however we also believe that the immense level of positive reviews also reveals the quality of our resort.

Best Regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

A very luxurious resort which definitely lives up to its’ outstanding reputation, multiple awards and distinctions; ideal for an unforgettable and rewarding vacations’ experience and, therefore, highly recommended whether one plans a visit with his family/kids or decides to embark on a romantic escape with his partner/spouse.

Both the location as well as the various indoors and outdoors amenities offered are excellent and of the highest standards. The rooms are spacious, cozy and elegantly decorated, with a breath-taking sea view. The only –otherwise indispensable for a 5* hotel- items that seemed missing from the room was an iron (whose absence, according to the reception desk is attributable to “safety reasons”) and a shoehorn (whose use eventually had to be replaced by a tin-opener).

With perhaps a slight exception of the cleaning service with which we encountered some minor but ultimately solvable problems (i.e. unless the towels were placed inside the bathtub, they weren’t changed- especially the small ones, due to a certain “cost-reduction policy”), the staff was extremely friendly, polite and eager to please our every wish. Tip: should you stay at a superior room and wish to use the Jacuzzi, make sure you ask for the bathtub to be wiped clean first.

If you happen to be on a diet or calorie-conscious then you should probably consider opting for another accommodation, since your stay in this one will most likely end up in your gaining a couple of extra pounds… There are no words to describe how amazingly delicious and top quality the food is, including the huge variety of exquisite tastes served at the breakfast and dinner buffet! With such an abundance of marvelous gastronomic temptations from all around the world, even the slim, fit and otherwise self-disciplined people (such as ourselves) can easily slip into an “excessive eater” condition…! It would certainly have been a “plus” if a bottle of water was served free of charge on every table, accompanying the dinner. Having to spend 3,5 Euros for such a bottle which, if you come to think of it, costs almost nothing compared to the price of all those extravagant, gourmet dishes seemed some sort of a miser “dissonance”.

While offering my sincere and heartfelt thanks to the entire personnel for their warm hospitality and kindness, I’d like to particularly express my deep gratitude to the maitre of the restaurant, one of the best I’ve met, who contributed greatly to our relaxing, care-free stay and truly indulged us with his helpfulness, inventivess and problem-solving attitude! Many congratulations are finally owed to the magician of the kitchen/ the Greek Chef for his exceptional and unparalleled skills in the culinary arts!

All in all, Elysium is by far one of the perfect choices for those seeking to spend some relaxing, revitalizing and quiet holidays in an exotic environment which boasts, among so many others, a most inspiring atmosphere! We will return for sure in the future, following all those fantastic impressions that we’re left with!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review about our resort; this is greatly appreciated by all of us here in Elysium.

We are thrilled to note that you had a great time and would like to take this opportunity and warmly thank you for all the positive comments made; especially the ones about our staff’s friendliness, politeness and attentiveness.

Thank you also for highlighting the hotel’s location as well as for praising the accommodation standards found in Elysium. Rest assured that we have taken note of your feedback in regards to the suggested room amenities and can confirm that this has now been relayed to the hotel’s management for further evaluation.

At this point we would like to apologize should you have experienced some minor issues with our housekeeping department however we wish to underline that the incident described in your review is not part of a “cost reduction” policy but part of the hotel’s environmental policy. In each room there is a Green Card that explains the procedure where it is stated that if you place your towels specifically in the bathtub this means that they will need replacing otherwise you are happy to reuse them. This measure is taken in an effort to prevent energy consumption and to conserve valuable fresh water for an ever green and healthy planet. Needless to say that the hotel’s cleanliness is of paramount importance to us and would like to assure you that there are no reductions of any type in this field.

On a positive note, we are very happy to note your enthusiasm with the food served in Elysium and would like to thank you for the rewarding comments made for both our Chef and Maitre of the restaurant; we are certain that they will be equally excited to read your comments.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at the Elysium Resort & Spa; we look forward to welcoming you back in our resort soon.

Warm Regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a week in august 2012..
Rooms ok, soft beds and a (small) flat screen. Horrible pay-per-view selection by the way.
The hotel is located close to the sea with a large pool and a stony beach within 200 meters.
A drawback is the main road witch runs very close to the hotel and makes noise at all times.
No WLAN in room, can use cable but the line is VERY slow (not at all worth 3 Euro pr. hour)

The service of the hotel is ok, not very friendly staff except those in the beach bar at night.
The food is what´s most disappointing about the hotel. The dinner menu is a buffet appetizer with a choice of three main a la carte main courses with is mass produced. (the three times i tasted the alacarte i god cold/poor food.

But the hotel i ok, but i would rate it at 4 stars as a maximum.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

It is always regrettable to read that a guest of ours did not have as an enjoyable experience as anticipated and feel genuinely sorry for any dissatisfaction caused.

Kindly note that the hotel has contracted one of the most known brands in the field of in-room entertainment and feel sadden to note that you found the pay per view service to be below standard. Although this is the first complain received in this field during the 4 years of operation of the hotel, we would be happy to review the selection of movies offered at the end of season, when our contract is due to be renewed.

We are also sorry to note that you felt that the road at the back of the hotel had proved disrupting however we have very few and isolated cases where guests have expressed a similar concern. In fact over 99% percent of our guests see Elysium as a top spot for a relaxing holiday and feel sorry again should this was not the case during your stay.

As far as wireless internet is concerned, the hotel does not advertise to offer a WiFi service in its rooms and therefore we regret to note your dissatisfaction in this regard. Kindly note that as of Monday the 27th of August the hotel decided to change its policy and offer for free wireless internet access in the public areas with this being one more example of the service commitment Elysium shows in listening to its guests concerns’ and act upon the issues raised.

Above all, we would like to apologize if you were made to feel less comfortable by any member of our staff; the vast majority of the reviews on Tripadvisor and the feedback we receive describe our staff to be very friendly and attentive and regret to note that your perception on the matter differs.
We understand that food is something very subjective and a matter of personal taste and feel sorry to read that dinner was not found to be as enjoyable as expected. Without wishing to be unsympathetic or reiterating some facts, we would like to stress that the hotel has attracted excellent scores in this field so far from both, the in-house feedback we collect as well as from all tour operators’ evaluation programs.

Finally we are deeply sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant dining experience in our a la carte restaurant (although we are not sure in which of the 2 you are referring to) and would like to assure you that your comments have been relayed to our Food & Beverage Manager so as to investigate the issue further.

Despite the issues raised we hope that you had some enjoyment out of your stay with us and that you might consider giving us another chance to accommodate you should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Kindest Regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I would like to thank this amazing hotel and staff for the unforgettable stay me and my family had during the last week.
The service was outrageously excellent the staff was so kind and welcoming.
The food was great. Feels like every day there is a new cheff because of the variety of the dinner.
The manager of the restaurant Emerald was kind enough to greet us every evening and to please us with our requests anytime.
There are not enough words to express my true fulfilled feeling.
To sum up if u r in Rhodes dont think twice.. this hotel is probably what u need for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank assafzarfaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

We are delighted to read that Elysium has exceeded your expectations, leaving you a truly fulfilled feeling.

On behalf of the management and staff we would like to warmly thank you for the rewarding comments made and very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great and very mordern Hotel
Alittle far awy from the town but well equiped and well furnished
The food however can be better, our first daywe had a very nice dinner but the following days were not that good, and disapointing we took HB vaction and we good a good breakfast every day but as mentioned above Dinner can be better

Room Tip: For couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lior l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are thrilled to note that you found Elysium to be a great a hotel and that overall you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We understand that food is something very subjective and a matter of personal taste and feel sorry to read that dinner was not found to be as enjoyable as expected. Without wishing to be unsympathetic, we would like to note that the hotel has attracted excellent scores in this field from both, the in-house feedback we collect as well as from all tour operators’ evaluation programs.

In any case, we take all feedback very seriously and would like to assure you that the comments made have already been relayed to both, the F&B Manager and the General Manager of the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Elysium Resort & Spa in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

First of all I just wanna say that Rhodes is one of the most beautiful locations to travel to and it was a really enjoyable experience .
We are a young couple stayed there for a week starting from 3rd of August.
The hotel was well suited just 10 min away from both Rhodes town and Failiraki and really getting to either the two towns wasn't a problem as due to the punctual bus service which arrives every 15 min at the bus stop located in-front of the hotel.
As we arrived we were well greeted by Stelios who took our baggages to our rooms and made sure everything was working fine we arrived to the rooms to find a complimentary bottle of water and wine which was a nice gesture from the hotel but was disappointed to find that they gave us a twin room instead of a double one, but that was no problem as after we called to complain to the reception they made sure to change the rooms for us which made our stay even more delightful .
Regarding the rooms they were very neat and cleaned daily, excellent air condition and very spacious and enjoyable balcony overlooking the crystal clear water of one of the best beaches in my opinion in the whole island.
The swimming pool was very clean and spacious and also the swimming pool bar was very enjoyable to sit there and have a drink or two.The hotel pool and beach were very spacious with lots of sun beds and there was no problem at all finding a sun bed during any time of the day although the hotel was full of guests but you won't feel the crowd at all.
Inside the hotel there is a supermarket with acceptable prices for water and drinks which made our stay even more enjoyable.
Really i can't fault the hotel in any means it was one of our best hotels that we have been to and really the hotel and the management made our holidays very enjoyable.
In conclusion it is a recommended hotel for both couples and families .
We will be coming back for sure .

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms in the main building as the ones on the far righted side of the hotel ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay at the Elysium Resort & Spa

We are delighted to hear that you found Elysium to be a well deserved five star hotel and would like to thank you for the positive comments made in regards to the beauty of our island as well as to the hotel’s location, accommodation and leisure facilities.

While we are sorry to note that you had been initially allocated in a twin room, we are glad to note that this was rectified soon after it was brought to our attention. Kindly note that a request with the bedding preference can help the hotel to best allocate guests and prevent any misunderstandings that can cause unnecessary disappointment.

All in all, we would like to thank you again for this fantastic review and very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Warm Regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was our first visit to Rhodes and decided on the Elysium mainly based on the reviews from tripadvisor, we were not disappointed. The hotel is set in a lovely location with very clean and modern rooms, a private beach and large pool area with plenty of sun loungers for everyone even though it was during the busy season. The staff are a real asset to the hotel and from our arrival to our departure we could not fault any of them. The waiter at breakfast was very attentive and always remembered each morning who preferred tea or coffee and was always refiling the coffee/ tea pot and cups for us, with plenty of seating there was never a need to rush,a nice way to start your day. The pool bar staff and the beach bar staff where friendly and always made a point of coming over and saying hello with a genuine smile. We felt welcomed by all the staff and management, with particular thanks to Sebastian the food and beverage manager. We will return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roscoe211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to warmly thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

It is very nice to hear that you had a fantastic holiday and that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel. Both staff and managers alike do their best to keep Elysium’s standards at the highest level possible and feel that such comments are genuinely the best way to reward our hard work; thank you ever so much for that.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Elysium soon.

Warm Regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.3 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,525 reviews
36.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
4.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Amada Colossos Resort
Amada Colossos Resort
#11 of 20 in Kallithea
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Resort & Spa

Address: Ammoudes Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range: £85 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a blue-flag awarded area next to the famous monument of Kalithea Springs and just 8 km away from Rhodes town, the newly built 5 star Elysium Resort and Spa stands in a class entirely on its own. Impeccable style and attention to detail is complemented by a blend of contemporary luxury, sophisticated services and culinary splendour. World class SPA with ESPA branded products & posh executive floors available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Elysium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort And Spa
Elysium Hotel Kalithea
Elysium Resort & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing