We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysium Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I'd definitely recommend this hotel - we had a fabulous holiday here from 5-12 May 2010 staying on a HB basis. I'll give a list of pros and cons but in my opinion the pros definitely outweigh the cons.
Arriving on 5 May the hotel had only just opened for the season - think we were lucky as our room was upgraded and for the first 3 nights we got dinner in the a la carte restaurant and breakfast on the roof terrace (which is normally only for elite club guests). Hotel was extremely quiet but this suited us perfectly - we had everything to ourselves!!
The following are the pros and cons of the hotel so you can decide if it's right for you:
Pros:
- Contemporary designed hotel
-Good sized room (nice toiletries, fridge with water provided, safe, beach towels, bath robes, good storage)
-Beautiful reception areas
-Great pool
-Good food
-Excellent and helpful staff across the board.
-Good access to Faliraki and Rhodes town by bus - 1 euro to Faliraki and 2 euros to Rhodes town.
Cons:
- Drinks relatively expensive (3 euros for a juice, 4 euros 50 for a beer, 3 euros 50 for a 1L bottle of water at dinner)
-Spa extremely expensive with most 1 hr massages around 99 euros
-Quite far to walk to Faliraki (about 50 mins) and the paths not very good - nowehere really to walk to at night so I'd recommend HB or you'd really need to get a bus to Faliraki (which I didnt really like) or Rhodes town
Overall though a definite thumbs up!! If you want to see the rooms etc the hotel's own website gives you a good idea of what they're like.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    292
    67
    27
    15
See reviews for
341
899
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Nice new Hotel. Standard room are fine and have a great design. Higher the better. Great food: à la carte and buffet at the same time when all inclusive. Very near from medieval town. Transport by buses was just fine. I really recommand this hotel

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank diproulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Our two week stay at the Elysium was an absolute delight. The staff were, at all times, courteous and friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable without being intrusive. The accommodation met our expectations from the brochure description and had a daily housekeeping service. Perhaps the location may be considered by some a little quiet but as we had a hire car this was not a problem. This was a good holiday - perhaps not totally 5* but never the less it provided a good standard - I would recommend this hotel mainly for adults as there isn't much going on for children.
So all in all a positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Beautiful hotel and spotlessly clean. Rooms are really nice, everything about the place has been beautifully designed. Lots of loungers by the pool, and the pool was beautiful, as was the spa. The gym & spa also looked luxurious. Rooftop restaurant has great views. There is also a shop adjoined to the hotel which sells everything.
Negatives - price of everything is really expensive, particularly the spa. The food is OK but not great. But the really big negative is the service. The staff just do not have the same standards of 5* service that you experience elsewhere. For example, when we arrived there was no-one waiting to take our luggage. Front desk appeared to be unpleasantly surprised we took up the offer of the 'welcome drink'. Bar staff are clueless about bar service, but appear to be mistresses of faffing about taking intolerable time 'prepping' 2 bottled drinks. Unbelievable. We nick-named the 'towel attendant' chap 'Growler the Towler'. Yes, he was that happy. The Elite Lounge is much smaller than you would expect, seating for around 6 people. We went there every day (the canapes were delicious) and not once were we asked by the receptionist/s if we were enjoying our holiday.
I am really disappointed at having to post a 'disappointed' review as I was so looking forward to staying there afer seeing such positive first reviews. And my comments about the service are with the noticeable exception of some of the very obviously experienced and mature waiters (all male so easily spotted) who were extremely professional. It was the 'local lasses' of whom there were too many who let the show down. One evening one managed to spill two sets of drinks (seperately) at our table while serving them - and had to be hassled to give us replacement drinks. But she smiled well during it...
I booked this hotel because of the wonderful service at the sister hotel Elysium in Paphos. I think it was fair for me to expect the same service in Rhodes that I experienced in Paphos. Sadly, they may only be about 400 miles apart but they are worlds apart for service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gem6401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

There are some great things about this hotel but also some irritating niggles. We stayed for a week for some relaxation and here the hotel generally delivered. We had an elite club room, and the room itself was perfect for what we wanted. Impressive design, very clean, and a huge balcony to chill on. The bonuses of the elite club include breakfast in the top floor restaurant and after experiencing the canteen like dining room on one occasion, we were really relieved we had booked the elite club. Other benefits of the elite club include free soft drinks and newspapers and free internet in the room. The snacks and canapes they refer to are basically just muffins and cakes.
The food was generally of a good quality, breakfast was good (except no proper bacon) and the day time restaurant `Fresh' was nice enough. We ate in the top floor restaurant once and really enjoyed it, most of the food was great, although we did have one poor dish which was the scallops...don't go there.
The beach is nice enough, a little gritty but plenty of sunbeds and beautiful clear sea to swim in. There was no drinks service on the beach though which you kind of expect for a five star hotel. The hotel shop sells most things you need for the beach if you've forgotten anything. Two things let this hotel down, one was some of the prices, I know the euro is strong but £4 for a thimble of cappuccino, and £10 for a kir is expensive. This probably accounts for why the bars and restaurants were quite empty. A sports massage was £90 for 50 minutes. The other thing is the main restaurant the `Emerald'. We tried it out on Greek night and it's basically every package nightmare you can think of. The lighting is harsh, the restaurant feels like a works canteen and the staff were clearing up at 9.15pm around people who were still eating.
The service from staff overall was fine and I'm willing to forgive the prices and the canteen because they let us have our room free of charge unitl 10pm on our last day because we had a late flight. Now that's service and made a huge difference to the end of our holiday.
Overall a great hotel with spectacular design and you'll have a good time. I recommend the elite club and avoiding the canteen

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Escape_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Have just read the last couple of reviews posted on this hotel and can't believe I had stayed at the same place at the same time....In my opinon, The Elysium is stylish, modern, incredibly clean with friendly and attentive staff. The pool area is massive and staffed in the pool bar and there was a life guard on duty at all times (we saw him every day!)

I realise buffets aren't to everyone's taste but saw nothing to complain about. There was an enormous selection of hot and cold foods which were different on each night of our stay. You also had the option of an a la carte main course every evening - granted only 2 choices but we always found something nice on the menu. Also a good choice of local wines.

Rhodes Town is only 10 mins away by taxi and Faliraki only 5 - both were fairly quiet as it is towards the end of the season but at least we had the choice of somewhere else to eat. You could also use your half board option at lunch times which is good if you prefer to "eat out" occasionally.

The only things I could be negative about is the lighting in the restaurant/main bar - which is overly bright. You did though have the option to eat outside by the pool which was lovely. Also I would not say this is a great hotel for families with young children.

All in all a wonderful experience - would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spagirlkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We arrived at the hotel only to be upgraded to their Elite club. After 1 day's rain, we had glorious sunshine, excellent food and very attentive staff. Made our long awaited holiday. We are going to book again in June 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPrakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.3 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
4.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
20.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
25.6 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Resort & Spa

Property: Elysium Resort & Spa
Address: Ammoudes Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a blue-flag awarded area next to the famous monument of Kalithea Springs and just 8 km away from Rhodes town, the newly built 5 star Elysium Resort and Spa stands in a class entirely on its own. Impeccable style and attention to detail is complemented by a blend of contemporary luxury, sophisticated services and culinary splendour. World class SPA with ESPA branded products & posh executive floors available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort And Spa
Elysium Hotel Kalithea
Elysium Resort & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing