We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a glossy magazine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like a glossy magazine”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I would describe this hotel as Like a glossy magazine - Lovely cover but lacking substance!
Plus points: Hotel looks amazing with lights and fountains etc. 4 pools - Fab salt water pool -but cold. Large room with lovely views (junior suite). over the sea.
Main catering restaurant good food. Poolside catering very good and lovely very overworked staff!!! Gym had good weights selection, Transfers from airport excellent.
Negative points: The hotel faces the sea which is East so the sun goes off the balcony very quickly. Glad I did not pay for the private pools as a lot were out of the sun by 12. (not worth having anyway) Poor/dreadful room service! (beds not made up- smelly towels) Very hot and NO Air con (as it was September) but it was 30 deg.!! Italian restaurant utterly dreadful, inedible rubbish. (walked out) Greek average. Main restaurant acoustics like being in a factory canteen. Poor wines. Beach -rocks and shale with access to the sea only via a rusty ladder. Indoor pool cloudy all week but they sorted this just before we went home. Gym 3 pieces of equipment working out of 7! No aircon.
Went with Luxury Escapes - Definitely not up to scratch for supposed 5* holiday- even by Greek standards. Would not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    643
    277
    73
    50
See reviews for
495
984
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were there for 4 nights during September with an all-inclusive package. In the beginning we had to struggle a bit with the staff to get the room that we were promised ("sea view"). I'm afraid someone less assertive than us would have ended up staying in a "pool view" room.
The view was amazing, the room was clean, tidy and very spacious and had everything in it. The toilet and bath were of high quality and very clean!! The beds, however were small and of rather low quality. AC was great which was important cause it was quite hot.
The staff was very nice, the food and drinks were truly all inclusive, no limitations and lots of food almost 24/7, including alcohol!!! It was so much fun to know that you can get whatever you want whenever you want- I was truly impressed.
The quality of the food was good, which is fine for most people I guess, but if you're into delicates food than you might have a bit harder time to find what you want. a small remark for vegeterians: you will probably have very little to eat and end up eating the same salad everyday.
The pools and the hotel in general were beautiful, clean, quiet and just fun to be there.
The beach was kinda small, but definitely did the job. It is more "Wild nature" type of beach than the classic sandy beach you might know, but it was really fun and the beach was full of beds that we could lie on (free of course) and just have the most relaxed time.
Internet was a bit of a problem, because except for the lobby there was no WIFI connection. You could, however recieve a free cable for your room, but it was slow internet and was difficult to use the laptop becuase of the short cable...
The hotel has several shops so you can get almost anything you need.
There aren't too many other attractions aside from the pools and beach which was really great for us, but I guess that if you're looking for enterteinment shows ot attractions for kids, look in other places.
In summary - very fun, very nice people, great location, amazing pools and beaches and overall good rooms- we really had fun and would recommend!!

***IMPORTANT!! THERE IS A SMALL STORE IN THE HOTEL WITH THE NICEST LADY WHO SELLS ALL KINDS OF SPECIAL STUFF WHICH YOU M-U-S-T VISIT, YOU WON'T REGRET IT***

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

There was no hotel information in the rooms, (meal times, local attractions etc.) Hotel reception staff were not very welcoming and not very helpful at all. Restaurant staff were unorganised and often seemed that they couldn't be bothered to help. However Carlos and Michael (both bars) were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, excellent workers !!. Cleaning staff were great. Complex too spread out, outdoor pools freezing.

Room Tip: Rooms in 600's are between the pools, near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Subject: R&R YES! 5 Star NO! An honest review with pros and cons

Just got back from our first holiday in Rhodes. We got our hotel via a special deal on Secret Escapes.Here's our pros and cons about the experience:

Pros:

- The Junior Suite with the private pool we had, had one of the best views I've ever seen. (However not all rooms with pools have good views of the ocean, we were very lucky as I think there's only 6 units with the view we had 331 - 336)
- The Jacuzzi bath was excellent
- The pool by the beach is lovely and the staff there for us were great. The bar is great too there and they also do late breakfast which is great if you're late sleepers like us - however, options are limited)
- Never had to fight for deck chairs by the pool
- Junior suite rooms were nice and spacious*
- Ergon restaurant in the New Town of Rhodes is a must (nothing to do with hotel, just throwing that in there).
- The Greek restaurant was lovely! (far better than the Italian... some of the reviews on TA have been surprising here)

Cons:

- All the outdoor pools were freezing!!! (Although according to others on our flight home, this was the norm in Rhodes)
- When we arrived they had over booked so put us in a nasty room for the first night which overlooked the car park (but did upgrade us to the nicer pool room as a gesture for the remainder)
- All the "kingsize" beds are single beds pushed together, very annoying.
- *No aircon in the rooms in October, only heating as they consider this Winter time... which was insane
- There was a storm on the Thursday morning which meant the hotel closed all the bars and specialist restaurants for the whole of Thursday even though it was sunny and lovely from 11am onwards. Our room was quite far from the hotel, so we had to seriously mission to get drinks on that day and the staff were rather rude when we asked for more than usual to take back to our rooms for the inconvenience.
- The reception staff's manor was often quite short/rude so the customer service wasn’t what you’d expect for a place that advertises itself as a 5 star resort. No sense of urgency either.
- The Italian restaurant reviews on Trip Advisor surprised us, as the experience was not really pleasant. The food was sub par and the room we sat in was far too hot to enjoy a meal. We asked others around us and they also felt the experience and food was poor. Do the Greek one instead.

All in all, we got the relaxation we came to Rhodes for but based on what we were sold and what was advertised, this hotel is a moderate 4 star at best. They really have no concept of customer service, the meals are insanely repetitive (but of decent quality to be fair) and the hotel is a big white shell (no real decor or attention to detail - no real character).

If it wasn't on discount through secret escapes, we would have felt very ripped off.

Room Tip: If you can book a room number, go for rooms 331 - 336. Best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel during my vacation in the island of Rhodes at the beginning of October. I travelled on my own for peace and quiet not exactly sure what I am to expect upon arrival due to the fact that the reviews about this hotel wary all the time. I would really like to thank the staff and the managers of the hotel for all their efforts to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. Special thanks to Carolos( the barman that works at the pool bar) waiters that served throughout at the restaurant and reception team for everything. Despite what people have said about their experience I was impressed with the double room that I stayed at. It was huge! Plenty of extra blankets and pillows if needed as well as cutlery,coffee, tea and water and fresh fruit was replenished every day. The maids cleaned rooms every day and replaced towels and sheets too. With regards to food served I have not had cold or luke warm food at any point. Plenty of good choice on day to day basis. When it comes to facilities the main pool was awesome with regards to depth even though cold, I swam with a number of other people. Besides you had a choice of going just a ground lower to the beach where the water was warmer. Still the fact that the water was cold in both pools did not spoil my days spent in the sun at all. The rep was too very helpful in organising the daysout and it is far cheaper booking trips directly through them other than through the website. The difference in price sometimes could be up to £30. Although I have seen a number of extremely negative reviews about this hotel after my stay I really must say that I was surprised because it seems as if the hotel we are both describing is entirely different. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Definitely. Would I come back again? Definitely. It was such a great place for quiet and relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Take room 194! Its a double room that is to the right of the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oksana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Came back on 6th October after a 10 night stay at The Kresten. First the good points, the actual hotel is very nice, everything quite new as it has only been open since 2011. We had a deluxe room with a sea view, which was very spacious with a lovely en-suite with a Jacuzzi bath! Both swimming pools are good but freezing cold. The staff were all great, friendly and polite. Now the bad points. The food was very poor, always luke warm which I personally hate and immediately put me off. The dining room was more like a canteen with only paper napkins, even in the evening when you would expect linen napkins in a 5 star hotel. Every time we sat at a table there was always something missing. You were very lucky if there was a salt and pepper often only one or the other. At breakfast they would bring cups and saucers but never teaspoons, we found where they kept them and used to help ourselves! The maid service in the rooms was not very good, very little cleaning done. The one teaspoon was in our room for the whole holiday never washed and by the tenth day was brown! One day we had tidied our beds a little so that day the maid never touched them. The only good thing she did change the sheets about three times. We would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ossieSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

From the minute we pulled up outside the hotel I was impressed and so were the rest of my wedding party when they arrived a week later. 33 of us stayed in total 2-16 oct. Hotel was beautiful, staff were friendly, food and drinks were nice(and I'm fussy).

We were upgraded to a junior suite with private pool with it being our wedding which was lovely and the staff couldn't have done more for us. They helped us welcome our guests in style with champagne at reception whilst they were checking in and moved their rooms to make things easier for those with little ones. Penelope on reception and Elena in the restaurant had great customer service skills and always had time to smile and speak to us. The staff work day and night and are always professional.
Yes the pools are freezing and there is little entertainment but I didn't see this as an issue at all. Rhodes Town is a short taxi ride away with lively bars and great restaurants and the hotel has the beach where the sea was lovely to swim in. Visit kalithea springs is a must its a beautiful place (our wedding venue) and we all went back the day after to eat and go snorkelling.
I honestly couldn't recommend this hotel enough and we will be visiting again to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,619 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kresten Palace
Kresten Palace
#2 of 5 in Koskinou
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Property: The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#7 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing