We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here with our 8 year old son first week of June and had one of the best holidays we've ever had. We arrived around 10.30pm and were upgraded to a junior suite with private pool which was amazing (thanks Kresten Royal!). The pool areas were great, there's a massive shallow pool for all the family and a deeper pool around the pool bar, there's also a lovely bit of beach with sunbeds if you don't fancy the pools. There is a very relaxed atmospere all around the hotel and we never had to fight for sunbeds, and contrary to some other reviews I've read on here the staff were all really lovely and so helpful and the food was amazing and yes this hotel definately deserves it's 5 star status! I only have a few gripes, firstly is that there is a charge of 60 euros if you need to keep your room on after check out time of 12pm, we didn't pay this instead opting to store our cases and use the shower rooms just before we left and secondly there was no evening entertainment at all. Still agreat place to stay though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willsm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    625
    267
    70
    46
See reviews for
471
952
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely, spacious and modern hotel with a relaxing atmosphere.Rooms with a sea view are excellent. Food was good, drinks are excellent with fabulous cocktail list to choose from. Staff are very helpful. Pools are clean and large with comfortable beds but had to play the game and "book your seats" early in the mornings (by placing towels on them)!! Own private beaches were a nice touch. The 2 things that lets the hotel down are... location...we enjoy going for little walks but nowhere to walk if based here! Also the entertainment is either very poor or non-existent..... If the hotel raised their game in this area it would be worthy of 5 star!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MckeeWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a week at The Kresten Royal. Kalithea is between Rhodes Town and Faliraki. there are a few shops about 1-1.5km away, but don't think they were really worth the walk.
The hotel is in an excellent location if you want a relaxing break, if you want entertaining and discos etc, this isn't the place for you. If you want some nightlife the taxis charge approx 9 euros to take you to Faliraki about 4km away or Rhodes Town 6km away. The buses are about 500m away and cost 2.40 euros. A visit to Rhodes Town and Lindos is a must.
The food in the main buffet restaurant and pool restaurant needs more variety, but was plentiful. There are two other restaurants if you're AI you can visit once each and the food in these was very good. There was sometimes a bit of a wait at the bars for drinks, but that isn't the fault of those serving, they were doing their very best - it's down to the number of staff employed. As with most AI hotels the drinks are limited to local brands and finish at midnight.
There is a little cove where they put out a few sunbeds and there are some rockpools too. There are two large pools with plenty of sunbeds and space. You can have beach towels for 10 euros deposit each and change them as often as you like and you get the money back when you return them at the end of your holiday. The rooms are spacious and spotless with lovely sea views - just one niggle that is the quality of the towels could be better.
Everything around the complex was spotlessly clean, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was incredibly quiet at night, as it's not near a road there's no traffic noise.
One thing - take mosquito repellent.
Yes, this may not be 5 stars by British standards more like a good 4 star but we had a lovely holiday nonetheless with nothing to complain about,
We don't usually go to the same place twice but I would stay here again if I went back to Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caz046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the kresten royal at June 2014.
The staff was so unkindly to us. We arrived to the hotel and waited 40 min for check in!
The room was clean and very pleasant.
The food was Not tasty , cold and the same every day but there was a variety .
the drinks and cocktails If I'm comparing it to other hotel we've been at in Greece were good.
We were stuck in the our last days only with dollars and not euro and the reception didn't have change that we can use - we were dealing with completely inflexibility towards us that the hotel didn't try to help a bit- And because the hotel asks for 10 euro for each pool towel deposit we asked for deposit of dollars that they refused and we stayed without pool towels all stay.
The beach is rocky and you cannot swim or even lay down to relax ( and there was only one beach bed) .
We didn't know that all included ends every day at midnight that includes even tap water(!) that we refused to receive without payment
It's a shame that a five star hotel gives that kind of service.
We went to the spa in the hotel and got a great massage.
In conclusion, the costumer service is bad but the hotel facilities are nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank חן א
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the Kresten Royal at Rhodes for a week in early June 2014 and had a fab time. The hotel is very nice, it has have 2 swimming pools, both with bars. One of them only serves drinks, the other serves food as well. The one nearer the sea is large and has varying depth, the smaller one nearer the reception is about 1.6m deep all around. Both have crystal clear waters. We stayed in a superior sea-view room, which was very large, very spacious, big balcony too. Comfy bed, The bath had Jacuzzi in it with quite powerful jets as well.
We had the 'all inclusive' deal, which was really worth it. It really means all inclusive, drinks as well (perhaps not alcohol, but we don’t drink alcohol anyway), and hot food is served in one restaurant or another almost all day long.
The hotel has 3 restaurants, the main one always serves buffet style food with wide and varied selection. I actually prefer this style as opposed to having to sit down and wait to be served. There is an Italian restaurant and a Greek one as well. In the 'all inclusive' deal you can opt to go one evening to the Italian and one evening to the Greek for ‘free’.
The hotel does not have a sandy beach, but it does have a little cove where they put out sun beds and there is a changing cubicle. Otherwise there is an area cut through the rocks that leads to flat rocks where you can jump into the sea safely. Again sunbeds were provided here as well. As I am a keen snorkeler, I find rocks and some wild life more interesting than a flat sandy beach so I was happy with this.
The holiday rep, Mark, was very friendly and knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble.
The staff was also friendly, especially Agnieszka at reception, who was very helpful. Again, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is near Rhodes town, only 10 minutes on public transport. Well worth the visit.
The spa is kind of average, nothing to write home about. I had one massage, which did not really do anything much for me.
Few things that could perhaps be improved upon:
1. No wi-fi in the room, but there is Ethernet. Fortunately I always have an Ethernet cable with me when I travel.
2. The large, spacious rooms were quite sparse, a bit soulless and they also echoed a lot. Perhaps some rugs, maybe pictures or something….
3. For some reason you do not get foam bath or bath salts, only shower gel and shampoo. Bit surprising for a 5 star hotel.
4. TV was pretty small for the size of the room and the sounds was so faint that we could hardly hear it. You get only CNN and BBC World News in English. Not a huge issue… one does not go on holiday to a sun-drenched country to watch TV.
5. I wish they would forget the loud music around the pools. Some of us would like a bit of peace and quiet when reading/sun-bathing.
6. The bar below us played music very loud until 11pm. After that it was all quiet and peaceful.

Having said all that, we had a really good time, enjoyed it very much. The points above did not bother us much. We can thoroughly recommend the place.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 177, which had the best view on that front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Usual from me no bull all straight from the hip.
Just back from this hotel after myself and my wife managed to get a quick 7 day break.Departing from Glasgow via Jet 2.package holiday.
The hotel is very nice we thought,very clean,set out well.
We were upraded to sea view suite which was fine and just off the main hotel,however why anybody would pay for the suite ,sea view with personal pool (big outside bath ) is beyond me.we liked the food,but we enjoy buffet style,you could say it was a bit same same,but it was acceptable. Staff we thought very happy bunch ,always said hello,delivered in the restaurant with your table etc so no complaints there.
Choice of swimming pools which are both fine with plenty of sun beds that maybe have seen their best days,but comfortable enough. The 5 star bit is probably high but it is Greece remember turkey is the same ,maybe 4 star on a kind day.
bad bits.

Many have said before that they are slow to serve at the bar,that is my experience,the bar at reception is really bad,the Bella bar is better,and bottom pool bar can have you waiting too long.
dont be looking for a beach at the hotel,although they have prepared two parts at the sea side where sun beds are available,kind of man made .
Quality of drinks within the AI package I would say is just about acceptable,it is not brands you are aware of for sure, to note if not all inclusive,and you like to enjoy a few drinks,it would cost you a fortune as the cocktails are around 8 Euro's a pop.
Oh and the wife was moaning about the ant bites,got a few big ones myself,not sure where these little devils done their work,pool ,restaurant or rooms.

Airport coming back was terrible,you stand in a long Q then get your bags weighed in,then you have to join another Q to get them screaned and put through,god that was an experience,what a shambles,and Jet 2 never done much to help, anyway we thought it was good and we enjoyed it ,booked the deal via my royalties gold RBOS card,got us into the departure lounge at Glasgow,and discount on the holiday costs via Jet 2, again the airport going in was torture.

Room Tip: Now we paid extra for a double sea view,and they upgraded us again to suite sea view, we had a doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartGlasgowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the Kresten Royal. The hotel is very clean and the cleaners are up very early in the day cleaning the pool area ready for the sun worshippers.

Unfortunately the weather was very windy and we had a couple of days of rain. The hotmail is away from anywhere so meant we had a couple of days stuck in the hotel due to the weather. Not the hotels fault and gave us an opportunity to sample all the wonderful cocktails that they supply with generous helpings of spirits!

Personally i found the food to be OK but my husband wasn't as keen. There was always lots of fresh fish and plenty of salad amongst other things. I always found something to eat.

Having said all that this is definitely not a 5 star hotel, more a 4 star.

I would have been disappointed if i had paid the extra for the suites with own pool as you have no privacy at all and these are more like plunge pools than swimming pools. Normal double room was nice apart from the beds which are singles pushed together!

Would I go again? Probably not. No beach as such as it's very rocky and you would need shoes to get over the rocks to the sea. It he tide is quite strong there so would have been worried about being swept into the rocks.

Nice for a complete rest if you don't want any evening entertainment but a week was more than enough for me, started going stir crazy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaye39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,538 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Property: The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#7 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing