We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Work In Progress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Work In Progress”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We are currently staying in a pool view room, Thomson Holidays, All-Inclusive.2 Adults and 15 and 16 y.o. sons.
Few English guests, a few French and German, mostly Israeli.

Firstly, the hotel and room fixtures and fittings are 5 star.This has been executed very well, with significant investment.

The pools are very pleasant, with loungers on our patio.They were pinched once by visitors from another part of the hotel, as you are able to visit any of the
pool areas, but soon retrieved.

Food quality is good, but the dining arrangements leave 
a lot to be desired.

We sat to eat lunch in the Gondola bar, only to be directed back to the main dining room as we were All-Inclusive.
However, their lunch menu listed All-Inclusive items, and some with additional cost(LM Plus).This was not the same menu supplied at our "one visit per stay" A La Carte evening meal there, so it must've been changed.Not sure what would happen if we stayed and ate lunch, then argued we only had items listed with no additional charge for All- Inclusive guests.

The two main problems with dining at La Marquise are-
1) All-Inclusive guests take all meals in the dining room.This soon becomes boring, and it seems overkill dressing for dinner in the same place guests only recently had lunch in their swimming attire.
The Gondola bar is under-utilised in this respect.

2) I'm not sure how the UK price of this holiday translates across other countries, but some guests in the dining room behave like definite 3* regulars.They handle the bread without a cloth, attack the trolley replenishing the food displays before the waitress has a chance to complete her task, and pile their plates high with little interest in actually consuming what they've taken.The waste is criminal.

Staff are very polite and helpful,the managers appear to help out too.This may be at the expense of regular staff, as the dining area definitely needs more bodies.

My only bugbear with service is at the main reception bar.I don't know if it's because All-Inclusive guests seem the minority, but we often waited over 20 minutes at a table for a drink.

With hindsight, 14 nights is too long here with teenagers.While there is an arcade for them, with table-tennis, pool, and air hockey, there is no organised activity program.Tennis and basketball courts are largely unused.Because there is no central pool area suitable for watersports (eg polo), the beach is 200m away, and local waterpark aside, little in walking distance,the kids soon tire.

In summary, a potential 5 star resort which could work with some reorganisation, but needs to decide just who it wants to attract.
All in my opinion of course!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johntugwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    470
    168
    47
    32
See reviews for
812
1,056
21
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eeklo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was a fantastic experience. We had a room (junior suite) with poolview. The room, bathroom, everything was fantastic. Verry friendly and professional staff. We requested a calm and relaxed place and that's everything we had at La Marquise. You feel direct as at home, but much better. :) I really hope to go back again, as soon as possible. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have been traveling to the Greek islands for over 10 years, and never had a complaint. This year we tried the la marquise in Rhodes, Greece - and what a disappointment:
1. Lies: based on the hotels web site one is made to believe the hotel is by the sea. Intact there is a highway and about 500m walk between the hotel and the ocean. Once you arrive there is little shade and no fascilities or services.
2. Not friendly for kids: parents are not allowed in the moni club, not even for 5 minutes. We have young kids and they would not go in unless we stayed with them until they get used to the new environment. When sew asked why this is so, the person in the mini club rudely announced these armer the rules and would have not discussion about it.
3. No flexibility: for half board, of you wish to change lunch with dinner or vice versa, you need to inform the desk 24(!) hours in advance. Again, we never met such demands in other 5 star hotels we stayed at
4. Bad service: one night we got stuck outside our room, something to do with the card key. We had to wait for the bell boy for 30 minutes and were treated rudely by the receptionist who claimed she already spoke to my son (I have no sons..)
5. Bad management: we asked twice to speak with the hotel manager.. Apparently he couldn't find the time to speak with us.

There are so many fine hotels and such a good selection, don't watts your money on this one.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travels-for-fun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgr_11, Manager at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Client,

although it is not very clear who wrote the mail, we would like to point you the following:
- We have not present ourselves as a hotel on the beach. Maybe you have not read that we have an underground passage to the hotel beach and maybe you have not seing the picture of this passage. What is still missing, is a beach bar and we are pressing the Municipally of Kallithea to give us the permission to operate one in the future.
- Is stated also on our website and outside ot the Kids club, that is for ages 04 - 12 years old. There is a daily program with various games and if all parents are also inside, there will be no space at all.Except that, there is a teenage club for ages over 12 years old.
- In the hotels, let say that 30 people want on the same day to change their dinner to lunch. If the Chef in the Kitchen or the Restaurant manager does not know about it, we will have lack of service in both departments.
- The hotel manager is every day in the hotel from 09:30 in the morning till 21:00 at night except Sundays. If you seached the hotel manager on Sunday, he could not see you. But I cannot accept this comment for the rest days of the week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The resort looks in reality just like its pictures on their website. It's new, clean and luxurious. With special culinariy needs (we keep kosher), we expected the dining-room to be irrelevant to our stay and had packed canned food and crackers, but Mr Ioannis Kostakis, Service Manager, and his friendly and co-operative dining-room staff, went beyond the call of duty to bring us vegetables galore and even plastic plates and cutlery so we could enjoy the dining-room at mealtimes. Though we couldn't eat the cooked food, there was plenty of it.
Everything in the hotel was spick and span.
The swimming pool is unique - it winds around the resort making swimming more interesting. The only reason I've given it 4 out of 5 is because the water was freezing!
From what we could see, even though there are many very nice and impressive hotels in Rhodes, this one was the top. We're recommended it to our friends and if we go back to Rhodes, we'll be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeonieIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks in a family room in the pool complex at the beginning of July on HB. Overall the La Marquise has a lot going for it, all the rooms are spacious and very well appointed and have large balconies or patios. The pool complex is stunning and one of the best we have experienced and we have stayed at a lot of 5* hotels around the world. Due to the spread out arrangement of the resort it never felt busy even when the hotel was full and our patio area and the adjacent pool (near the Gondola restaurant)were always relaxing, we would have liked the pool water to be a couple of degrees warmer however. The 4000 rooms have their own pools and a pool bar that wasnt open when we arrived, but opened after a few days. The 3rd floor in the main building also has its own rooftop pool and seemed a very peaceful haven. Overall the rooms and pool areas are definitely 5*.

The service from all the staff (apart from reception, who could be more friendly) was excellent, definitely the friendliest staff of any hotel we have stayed in. All the restaurant and bar staff worked hard to help, none more so than Nikos, who is the hardest working person i have seen and did a brilliant job looking after us at meal times. There was always plenty of food and it was hot and of good quality, but maybe lacked variety after a while, the food on the Asian night was great, especially the curry. Yes the restaurant can get busy at peak times when the hotel is full, but we always managed to get a table and never had to wait very long to get the drinks we ordered. Right now i would say this area is 4* but it wouldnt take much work to turn it into 5*, the buffet just needs to be spread out more to make more space and a bit more variety needs adding to the food.

Our room was very clean and the maids did an excelleant job of cleaning it every day and like everyone else were friendly and helpful.

As others have commented the beach isnt great, but its no different to most beaches on Rhodes, the sea is crystal clear however. If you want fine white sands and swaying palm trees, then dont come to Rhodes. We stayed by our room and the pool as this was just so convenient and we had sunbeds and chairs for all of us.

Other points, wireless internet access didnt really work in the rooms but was generally OK on the patio, but could be a bit slow. There are plenty of TV channels but currently only news channels in English, definitely would benefit from one or two English tv entertainment channels. All the hotel information that you usually get in a book in the room is on the interactive TV. The evening entertainment was varied and ran for about 90 minutes each night, the performances varied in quality, but were all entertaining. We liked the location of the hotel as it was in a quiet area outside Faliraki near two other 5* hotels, but it did mean a drive, bus ride or long walk if you wanted to get to other shops, bars or restuarants. Both the local bus and the land train run past the hotel and offer a regular cheap service into town.

Overall a great holiday hotel that with a little more work and time should become an excellent 5* establishment. It would be interesting to come back next year and see the improvements that i am sure the management and staff will make.

Room Tip: Pool complex rooms are great as are third floor rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisandsharon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

It is so interesting to read everyone's various opinions of this hotel, my family and I travel all over the world and have experienced many different standards of hotels and service but we simply cannot find fault with this hotel at all. Yes, as with all new hotels there are a few teething problems but once you get past those, the hotel is truly fantastic - from the plush and opulent interiors to the incredible layout of the swimming pools and suites it cannot fail to impress even the fussiest of holidaymakers.
The rooms are extremely spacious (we had a Garden View room), very clean, huge beds, flat screen TV (albeit only 5 English speaking news channels).
We had the 'All-Inclusive package' and food in the restaurant was excellent. There was always a good selection of salads, meat and vegetarian dishes. The desserts were delicious. Service in the restaurant was very good although sometimes drinks service in the restaurant was a little slow. However this was only occasionally and Konstantina's welcoming smile always made up for this!
We enjoyed drinks in the Crystal Lounge Bar and Despina made us feel very welcome and always served us promptly.
George the Operations Manager made himself known to all of the guests, he was very approachable, helpful and seemed keen to know what our thoughts were about the hotel, what they were doing well and how things could be improved. This was certainly a very refreshing approach to hotel management and customer service.
Evening entertainment in the hotel was fabulous and we particularly enjoyed the Capoeira Brazillian group and the Il Divo's (3 Tenor's).
One bit of advice would be to take shoes that you can swim in (like snorkelling shoes) as the beach by the hotel is very pebbly and difficult to walk on but the water is lovely and clear so well worth a swim!
I would definitely recommend going all inclusive as it can be expensive paying for your drinks etc at mealtimes.
We didn't hire a car, we took taxi's or the local bus around the island as we felt this was the best (and cheapest) way to see the island. Rhodes town is well worth a visit especially the old town which is full of history and narrow shop-lined streets.
The Waterpark is within walking distance of the hotel (10 mins) and is a must!! Costs 20 euros per adult to enter.
We loved it here, so much so - we have booked to come back in September and we have never booked the same place twice before!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debmart87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

very nice hotel, location was good, all the staff were great and very freindly, food was good. As it was a new hotel there were a few teething problems, but you just had to let them know your problems and they would be right onto it. Especially the restaurant where the Maitre D' Nikos Maitre could not do enough to make sure you were happy. All in all a great hotel and holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3haywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,540 reviews
4.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.3 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex

Property: La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex
Address: Ammoudes Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex Hotel Kalithea
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing