We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel with terrible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Flora Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
anglesey, north wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very average hotel with terrible staff”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Upon checking in, we were told that they had over-booked and we had to be moved to another hotel for a couple of nights.Subsequently we couldnt unpack and start planning our holiday properly. However, on the third day we were moved back to Princess Flora. The food here was below average and we found breakfast to be almost inedible - disgusting! Reception staff werent very helpful, didnt seem to have basic knowledge such as where we could change money and if we required to take our passports with us. Staff at the pool bar were the exception - they were friendly and polite and ready to help in any way they could. Their treatment by management was quite disturbing as we discovered when, upon ordering "two beers please", the waitress replied "you dont have to say please to me, that is what I am here for"!! It is clear that the staff were treated as nothing more than slaves here and worked in terrible conditions (the same waitress informed us that she worked 12 hour shifts for three months solid without a single day off!). Staff at the main bar were beyond arrogant, having no time at all for all-inclusive guests, and instead catering to paying customers's every need with bowls of nibbles and fancy umbrellas in drinks! Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jinxycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    33
    53
    29
    42
See reviews for
56
59
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

On the whole an enjoyable holiday....due to the glorious weather! Well, it is Greece! The hotel itself is clean but very basic. The restaurant is far too small for the amount of guests...don't bank on getting any breakfast if you go after 9am! Other meal times weren't too bad...if you timed it right!! The food was good though, a small but tasty selection although sometimes lunch was a bit dodgy! Cold sprouts in something one day!!!
The wine and beer were ok too, as were the cocktails.
My main gripe is that at lunch time the pool bar was shut to all inclusive guests....what if you didn't want a big lunch? And you had to get a drink from the restaurant during this time too. A bit silly if you ask me! At 2.30 it re-opened serving rolls and pizza, the pizza was very popular!!!!! (Get in quick!!!)
The staff were lovely, very friendly and 2 rather cheeky chaps behind the bar!!!
Again as with the seating in the restaurant, there isn't enough seating on the terrace in the evenings and the huge lounge/ lobby isn't air conditioned. This wasn't planned out very well!
The hotel is also quite isolated and as the taxis were on strike for the 2 weeks we were there, it was quite difficult getting around as the buses were crammed. There are a few shops and tavernas and 3 beach resorts with watersports about 1/2 an hours walk away down the hill, don't take younger children without a pushchair for the walk back up it!
The local beach is located about 100 mts on the left down a track....simply stunning and my most favourite place to go on the holiday. There is a small kantina which serves very cheap but good food. the sunbeds and umbrellas are 5 euros here.
My only other criticism is the pool, by the end of our 2 weeks it was starting to look a funny green colour in the deep end. This was due to the fact that although on the signs it states that no one should be in there after 6pm, it was cleaned out and there were children still in there at 11pm some nights!! But what else were they to do? There was no entertainment for them so we ended up spending a fortune on air hockey!
I love Rhodes and Greece in general, but we will not return to the Princess Flora.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Positives: Freindly staff, great sunshine with lovely breeze, barman great. Negatives: Very over crowded restaurant, could never find a table to sit unless you got in early (Never ever got a breakfast) and more importantly the place is isolated with nothing to do in the evenings and with the taxi service on strike, we were stranded!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gjd157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Firstly, I have come to the conclusion that the huge variation in people's reviews is largely due to the differences in prices paid. I booked 2 nights here with a friend who had to go home but it worked out at less than £16.50 per night each all inclusive so I don't think you can grumble about too much at that price!

Best things - The room was very nice with a terrace overlooking the pool. The pool and garden surrounding were lovely. I liked the food. There was less choice than in a lot of hotels but what there was was good. It wasn't too good for vegetarians because things weren't labelled and it was a bit hard to find out what was in them but you could get by-in fact I had a lovely vegetable stew thing. You didn't have lots of puddings (which are horrible in most hotels anyway) - there was just melon / water melon or ice cream when I was there. On the day I left I stayed for lunch and was glad I did because there were lovely whole fish (maybe sea bream?) and I have never seen that in a cheapo all inclusive before. The bread was lovely and the red wine was fine and the beer wasok. There was a nice little beach not far away that was quite unspoiled (as long as you didn't look around into the next bay and see the oil refinery or whatever it was)

Worst things - The hotel is on a very busy main road. It is set back a bit and you are not aware of it in the pool area but at night the pool bar is shut and the bar is in this vast reception area and the only place to sit outside is at the front of the hotel where you can really hear the road. They should really do something to make the pool bar nicer and have that open at night. There was not a great choice of drinks at all but maybe they were running out of things in Oct. The 'cocktails' were weird and were made from a bottle of something premixed and soda water.Also AI finishes at 11pm. Some of the staff were not very friendly but some were nice.

The location is awful in the sense that there is no real town or village. It seems to be just a string of hotels for miles along a main road. On the other hand the bus stops right outside and it is not far into Rhodesor to Faliraki and you can also get buses down the east coast. It makes a good base for exploring and I wish I had stayed there longer instead of then going to stay in Rhodes town because you could visit there really easily and the buses run till late.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SiouxieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We booked with thomas cook on the saturday and travelled on the Wednesday, flight with TC although the hotel booked through med hotels. We knew the hotel was only 3 star so was not expecting the lap of luxury.However, the place is good. Staff friendly and most helpful ( go with the right attitude and you reap what you sow). The reception/bar area is big, clean and comfortable but there is very little in the way of entertainment so think on if you have children. The restaurant is off the main bar area is not that big. I read a couple of reviews about the food and they were not favourable. I can see what their complaints are in content, not a great variety of choice but the quality is great, hot plenty of it. However,if you are a fussy eater then it could be a bit of a struggle. Pool are is mainly grassed with plenty of sunbeds but not that many parasols and towels can get out early! Pool bar staff good and there is a selection of cakes prior to lunch with pizza after lunch. This is the only gripe i had about the pool bar, it closes to all inclusive from 12.00 untill 14.30. When i asked why this was they said its because the restaurant is open! Stange but ok. The rooms are on two floors spead around the pool in different blocks. Ours had a terrace that was full on to the sun for most of the day, very hot, and was a little bit on the small side and the beds were a little hard for our taste. They were clean and were made every day day but could, in places, do with a little bit of a touch up.I have to remind people that this is a 3 star hotel and you get what you pay for, please go with an open mind and a bit of tolerance and i am certain you will have a lovely time

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerdonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Hotel Princess Flora has the rudest staff I've ever met from Argentina to New Zealand. The receptionists, the waiters and even the general manager consider the guests as cockroaches. There was no hot water for a day (without apology or excuse). The restaurant was always crowded and the food was awful. Buffet dinner lacks meat, seafood and greek specialities. Drinks (including water) are to be paid extra.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gyori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kallithea hotels

Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed at the Princess Flora Hotel and were very impressed.
We particularly liked the food - it was really nice and catered for all tastes - lovely Greek salads, fresh fish and meat dishes to suit all - the local drinks were way beyond our expectations, and the cocktails were great!
The weather was really lovely - started off very hot, then we would get a lovely fresh breeze - much welcomed when the weather is in the high 20's.
The location of the hotel is on a main road, with a bus stopjust outside, with buses running regularly into Rhodes town.
There is also a lovely beach just a few hundred metres walk - really picturesque and amazingly quiet when we were there.
The accommodation was very clean, the staff were very friendly and couldn't have beenmore helpful and we thoroughly recommend, we certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrocksinRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.8 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
460 reviews
10.8 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
527 reviews
5.4 mi away
Evi Hotel Rhodes
Evi Hotel Rhodes
#64 of 71 in Faliraki
397 reviews
11.6 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Flora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Flora Hotel

Property: Princess Flora Hotel
Address: Third km Leof. Rodou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Flora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Flora Hotel consists of 166 spacious rooms, all with bath, air- conditioning, television, refrigerator and a balcony over. Princess Flora is an ideal hotel for a holiday on the beautiful island of Rhodes, having a lovely atmosphere suitable for families, couples and friends. Facilities include bar, satellite TV lounge, separate recreational room with several games and a computer for Internet access. The main restaurant is next to the lobby and there is a large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Flora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Princess Flora
Princess Flora Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing