We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Greek as I had hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as Greek as I had hoped”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

It's difficult where to start really as I have mixed feelings about this hotel.Like most other people who have written reviews they had been reading Trip Advisor before they travelled.I did not know what to expect but on arrival was disappointed, not by the hotel but by the resort its self.The hotel is dated but very clean and the room we had in the main building was fine.The corridor leading to the rooms can be drab and tatty at first but you soon get used to this.Our room was not posh but adequate with a new fridge, T.V (only sky news available in english) but who goes away to watch the T.V.The room we had was also very quiet, not disturbed once in two weeks, which is almost unheard of.As most other reviewers have mentioned the majority of staff are great very friendly and polite.Entertainment could be improved especially as this is all inclusive and most families budget to stay in at night.We just picked which nights we went out in to Rhodes town.
The food at the hotel is not bad often tasting better then how it was presented.There was only a couple of occasions when we could not find anything which tempted either of us and we chose to eat out those nights.
Going back to the issue of the resort I think it is very run down and dreary and would never return.Fortunatley Rhodes Town is a short inexpensive bus ride away but it would have been nice to have had somewhere worth walking to.
As a couple we have travelled to several of the Greek islands and mainland. I think Rhodes is my least favourite.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GailHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    216
    109
    90
    114
See reviews for
202
274
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Travel republic screwed up my booking and the staff at the hotel went out of their way to help us. They are brilliant! The hotel is fine, a little dated, but so what, it is always clean, bed and towels changed more than I have ever known in other hotels and loads of loo roll :-).
The food is great, lots of variety and always a never ending supply :-).
The pool area is lovely and its great that you can get your own beer, coffee and soft drinks during the day. The ouzo and cocktails are brill. Had some great evenings with lovely people we met.
I would not hesitate to recomend it, ignore the moaners and have a great time there.
Thank you to all of the staff for a lovely two weeks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaroleAnnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We just returned from family vacation in a hotel SUN & SKY and we had . I would also like to thank the staff for unique holidays we spent. The staff and management is fantastic, the food is excellent, the atmosphere is unforgettable, pleasant family atmosphere, lots of fun,excellent starting point for the Rhodes town and Faliraki..

greetings

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igibozic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Have just returned from this hotel arrived at 4pm first impressions was very good allocated room 824 which is in the self catering blocks walked in and the place smelt of mould went staight back to the receptionist and asked to speak to the manager was informed would nt be here till until 7pm as we were all inclusive sat around the bar area and waited. The manager turned up and was very helpful and gave us another room 816 which wasnt perfect but was clean. i must stress that all the blocked rooms are basic and out dated but are cleanish and towels changed every day. The food was very good although the presention lets it down some what drinks were excellent overall it was great holiday but the one thing that will stands out for me was the staff every single one off them was brillant so polite and nothing was any trouble big thank you to you all.

Its not the ritz but if you can live with a few chipped tiles and and off coloured mastic you will be fine. i would have no hesitation in going back for what we paid it was a bargain.

Tip, take your hairdryer ladies and mozzie repelent and a plastic hook for the shower hose lol. this hotel is being refurbed in october to a 4 star will deffo go back to see and if you have any complaints the manager is a great guy and will sort you out.

Thank you all for a great time

Room Tip: when you book ask for the main annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldboy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have never before felt the need to review a hotel/holiday but I just had such a great time, I thought I'd share...
We arrived late at night with a 14 month old baby to find no cot in our room. Management were very helpful and dealt with it quickly. Right away we were very impressed with the staff.
Our room was very basic and first impressions at night were not that good to be honest. But after a good sleep I realised it had everything we needed and was very clean with lovely little balcony and sea view.
The hotel itself is very dated, but facilites are great and well cared for. The food was the thing we were least impressed with. We absolutely love greek food and there was little on the menu. Some food was excellent though and there was always plenty to eat. We didn't expect anything more to be honest, being an all inclusive hotel. They have to cater to everyones likes.
We really enjoyed the entertainment (3 times per week: greek night, karaoke, live singers), the pool area was great with plenty of sunbeds, nice kids play area, good pool ( if a little random in terms of depth!), drinks were fine, as were the snacks.
We used the buses quite a lot, both into Rhodes town and Faliraki. I was really surprised at how easy it was, although if you have a buggy like we did, a good tip is not to fold it down as the bus tends to be VERY crowded, and this seems to give you more space and makes it easier to get off!
The staff at the hotel were so lovely, helpful and welcoming and to me, this seemed to create such a great atmosphere in the hotel. If you are looking for a luxurious all inclusive hotel, then do not pick this one. But if you want a quiet holiday in the sun, I think you will be very pleasantly surprised, like I was. I had such a special holiday and would love to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Have just returned from this hotel arrived at 4pm first impressions was very good allocated room 824 which is in the self catering blocks walked in and the place smelt of mould went staight back to the receptionist and asked to speak to the manager was informed would nt be here till until 7pm as we were all inclusive sat around the bar area and waited. The manager turned up and was very helpful and gave us another room 816 which wasnt perfect but was clean. i must stress that all the blocked rooms are basic and out dated but are cleanish and towels changed every day. The food was very good although the presention lets it down some what drinks were excellent overall it was great holiday but the one thing that will stands out for me was the stall every single one off them was brillant so polite and nothing was any trouble big thank you to you all.

Its not the ritz but if you can live with a few chipped tiles and and off coloured mastic you will be fine. i would have no hesitation in going back for what we paid it was a bargain.

Tip, take your hairdryer ladies and mozzie repelent and a plastic hook for the shower hose lol. this hotel is being refurbed in october to a 4 star will deffo go back to see and if you have any complaints the manager is a great guy and will sort you out.

Thank you all for a great time

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldboy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Have just returned from a week at Kalithea sun and sky Hotlel.We had a super time.Yes, our room was rather dated but it was clean and tidy .The maids were marvellous and changed our sheets and towels nearly every day.Our room was close to the busy road so we ran the air conditioning at night to counteract the traffic noise which worked well.
The food was plentiful,fresh and very tasty.For the money we paid it was very very good .The choice may not have been so large as in some hotels but the flavour made up for it.The meat was always tender and better than we have had in posh hotels.
All the stake were polite and friendly and ready to help.
The drinks were fine too.
We loved the relaxing garden and the pool was never crowded or noisey during our stay.
Kallithea beach was really crowded.We only went there once and settled instead for a stoney beach the far side of Faliraki..very uncrossed and mainly used by Greeks.It was beautiful will clear sea and a pretty setting..
We found the area very busy as a whole and much prefere the south of the island but then we are country bumpkins and knocking on in years.
We returned refreshed and rested so are delighted with the holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeSungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.3 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
483 reviews
11.3 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
541 reviews
10.7 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
541 reviews
10.8 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
718 reviews
10.5 mi away
Marathon Hotel
Marathon Hotel
#18 of 34 in Kolimbia
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel

Property: Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Address: Kalitheas Avenue | Rhodes Island, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Sun And Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel Rhodes, Greece
Hotel Kalithea Sun Sky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing