We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalithea sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
bournemouth,england
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Kalithea sun”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is not the MARQUISE ok? But good value and fun

My wife & I visited in may/June this year. Our unbiased opinion is:

GOOD:

- staff in all areas very friendly
- food ok but guys you cannot put strawberries in a fridge ok?
- evening entertainment was every other night thank god but very good
- no animateurs trying to get you you to do underwater archery or synchronised hairdressing
- really cheap car hire
- no rush on beds at pool- and yes there were Germans staying
- good mix of nationalities and ALL ages
BAD
Errrr why no coffee / tea at lunch/dinner?
Studio flats are hostel standard- just refuse if offered- they would not qualify for hi de hi- truly awful
Intermittently no hot water-hello?
Garden paths are overgrown and give bad impression- dig up and invest in a bit of paint
Snacks are really bad-does anyone really need cake and cured ham at 11am? Yuk!
Air conditioning is 6 euros a day if you want it before July- the upside is unless you are obscenely rich you lose 5 kilos a day
Beach nearby that is close charges a lot for beds- doesn't belong to the hotel
No shops near by except a cocktail bar and a pretty good supermarket

We recommend Tsambika Beach, Niraeus Seafood in 45-47 old town

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazzerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    222
    113
    93
    119
See reviews for
208
283
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Having just returned from 2 weeks in this Hotel i would like to say the staff are excellent, especially reception who were most helpful finding us a hairdresser at short notice for a family wedding we were attending( having been let down at 8. 30 the night before with the one we had booked 1 week before) the barstaff were superb , gave 1st class attention to all and created a great atmosphere ( heres to you Mike & Damian) . House keeping was really good ,the rooms were cleaned every day could not fault the cleanliness . The biggest let down to the Hotel was th food , very little chice of main meal, 3 maybe 4 choices which were always cold and in short supply-- often ran out to be replaced by snack items such as beefburgers or fishfingers!!!!!!!!
Have to say the salad bar was always plentiful though. Sweets left a lot to be desired jelly & ice-cream, blancmange , sliced fresh fruit ie apple orange or pineapple. On the whole we found it very repetative.We did enjoy our holiday , but unfortunatley we would not return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just back from this hotel (May 2013) and have nothing but praise for this hotel.

Check in - was very quick and easy. Think the air con is extra, but we didn't need it anyway. Reception staff are very helpful and the manager a lovely man trying to do his best to continually better the hotel.

Room - quite basic as you'd expect but our room facing the front of the hotel had been refurbished and was very clean and had modern fixtures. Shower was very good and beds very comfy.

Food - provably the best 3 star all inclusive you can get with an excellent choice of good quality food. Breakfasts had lots of cereals, fruit, breads, and usually included fried eggs, sausage (Greek), bacon (Greek equivalent), baked beams, scrambled eggs etc (and chips for some reason???). Lunch and dinner also had excellent choices from English food (fried chicken, burgers, pizza, casseroles etc) through to Greek dishes. The salad bar was always full and very fresh, and there was delicious soup at dinner. Desserts were a little monotonous - usually jelly, blamange, fresh fruit or I've cream though there was some cakes and biscuits at times.

Drinks - it's self service on soft drinks, beers (2types) and red and white wine during the day, though local spirits are a ail able as well. The bar opens at 5 and seemed to be doing a good selection of drinks and cocktails.

Pool - a lovely pool area with lots of sunbeds available (and comfy ones too) and a choice of beside the pool or on the grass in the grounds. It was cleaned daily and was lovely to sunbathe next to.

Location - Kalithea is midway between Old Rhodes Town at the top of the island and Lindos and Faliraki at the bottom so is perfect for visiting everywhere that you fancy. Taxi's are around 10 Euros to each end and buses around 2.10 euros. Around the hotel there Re quite a few shops, bars and restaurants, though it was still quite as we were there so early in the season!!!

To Do - in the hotel there are pool tables, table tennis, a volleyball court and internet computers. There is entertainment 3 times a week of Greek dancing, karaoke and a singer. (Karaoke was like watching the Eurovision Song Contest with all the different nationalities and was very funny!!!!)

Gripes - not much to complain about, but hotels charging for wifi really irks me, and at €20 a week wasn't that cheap. It was also annoying that they turned the coffee machine off during lunch and dinner (not sure why as the other drinks were available, and you could get coffee from the bar, so why turn off the machine then????? Odd!!!!)

These were only very minor issues though and all in all I e never stayed in a 3* hotel that was so nice - the food is particularly impressive and the whole place is spotlessly clean!!!!

If we ever go back to Rhodes (which is a beautiful island) I would definitely want to stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dmorgan202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

First I would like to thank the hotel manager bar staff restaurant manager and staff the maids who cleaned our apartment .we stayed in a two room apartment myself wife and two children aged 14 and 11 . The rooms are spotless and cleaned everyday to a high standard the maids were extremely helpful. The hotel grounds are well kept and maintained swimming pool both for adult and children well kept and clean . The restaurant there was always somewhere to sit food was always good and a good variety .the bars were excellent never waited for a drink we had glasses every night the rule is you sit by the bar .The reception was always manned and the staff were very helpful. The manager of the hotel alway spoke to the guests he never walked passed anybody very fire ndly. The hotel is ideal for afamily holiday not to loud. We will be back in 21 Aug 2013 so I do hope we have same type of room we hired a car two minutes down the road a old banger very cheap no roof built in air condition pizza parlour over road excellent and value for money .The hotel is in an ideal position not far from Rhodes town and faliraki we have been goin to the Greek islands for seventeen years and this is the first time we have ever booked same hotel twice well done to this manager and staff

Room Tip: we had room which was away from main building which was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The only downside was where our room was positioned, we seemed to be near a busy farm and were kept up a lot of the night by bleating and moo-ing and dogs barking.

The staff were very friendly, the pool area was lovely and the meals were great - had no complaints with the food. The beach is a bit of a walk away but it was worth going to, especially walking round the rocks there was a very secluded bay which we had to ourselves.

There was plenty to do within walking distance of the hotel, lots of bars and restaurant and supermarkets. The bus stop was close by and we used this to get the the Old Town - you can't miss this place it was amazing. We also wen to Lindos by boat one day which was a beautiful place.

The staff really work hard to keep this place looking its best. There are so many flowers everywhere and there are always staff cleaning the place and keeping it spotless.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had such a good stay back in august, there were four of us, 2 girls and 2 boys all 19 yearsof age and loved it. Food was just fine, plenty of it and to choose from. Sun beeds were all great and comfy. Drinks were just find however it was so hot water did the trick until night time and the cocktails were drinkable.

We thought there were plenty places to go to as we did. And also went faliraki for the night life most nights. Cheap enough taxis to get there although if you are sick they ask for 60euros so watchout heavy drinkers!! Free air con and rooms were always cleaned. I would deffinatly go back!well worth the money.

After reading some of the bad reviews i was shocked at how you could be so dissapointed. Its a great place to go! And the staff were funny and very helpful! Cheers for the great holiday kalithea sun & sky hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alexwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

i am writing this to the manager of the hotel kalithea sun & sky hotel, we have been reading reviews on your hotel along with others as we are looking to book another holiday in beautiful rhodes in 2013, we stayed in afantou in may this year & love the island, may i say how happy i am to see your response to certain english people who stayed with you, it is so good to hear a real honest person who runs a hotel speak from the heart & not conform to the minority, well done for being honest with your response to what can only be described as their excuses for behaving so badly, it tells us that you are good at what you do, maybe we will see you in 2013! we wish you well in the coming season

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoMc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Vagelis, Manager at Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear JoMc36,

Thank you very much for your compliments.
I feel that it's not only my obligation to reply as a Manager but also as someone who cares about the truth.
I don't mind if people are criticizing fairly our Hotel, i find it productive and help us alot to improve.
We also do not advertise as a 5* Hotel because we are not.
But for sure we take good care of our clients, who are as ourselves hard working people and deserve our staff's best efforts.

I'll be happy to welcome you in our Hotel when you visit our beautiful island again, we can definitely enjoy a drink together.

Finally, I wish you all the best for the coming year.

Best regards,

Vagelis Moustakakis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.3 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
506 reviews
11.3 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
555 reviews
10.8 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
359 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Solemar
Hotel Solemar
#85 of 126 in Rhodes Town
670 reviews
24.9 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel

Property: Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Address: Kalitheas Avenue | Rhodes Island, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Sun And Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel Rhodes, Greece
Hotel Kalithea Sun Sky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing