We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amada Colossos Resort
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Booked last minute and paid £432 for the week which was very good value. I would have been very disappointed if I had paid more than £500 per week for this hotel.
The hotel is clean but dated. Most of the staff are very friendly and George the Manager is very welcoming. The beds are very firm. The pools are smaller than the brochure suggests and very very cold. The food was very good and there was plenty of variety.
Mosquitto Alert - go prepared!!! Try taking B1 a couple of week before you go and continue taking them whilst you are there - the mozzi's hate them and leave you alone (purchase from Holland and Barrett)
95% Eastern European guests who tend to go to bed early and get up very early so if you are a late riser you may struggle to get a sunbed.
A good place to go if you want a lazy chill out week because there is not a great deal to do in the local area.
A trip to Rhodes Old town is worth a visit and you can get there by boat which leaves from the beach at the hotel and is a nice trip. You can also get a bus or taxi.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and it was okay. There are 2 lifts carrying 6 people so maybe a lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariewes1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Louis Colossos Beach as your holiday destination.

We are more than happy to hear that our hotel was great value for money and that you had a relaxing stay with us in Rhodes. We are pleased that our variation in food was to your satisfaction, and that it was our staff who made your holiday so enjoyable and memorable. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the cleanliness of our premiseS and grateful for your valuable tipS on how to enjoy a mosquito free holiday. Moreover, we would like to thank you for bringing your opinion concerning the brochure to our attention, as well as the issue with the sunbeds. Despite these minor points, we are happy to hear that this did not prevent you from having a memorable stay with us.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to the Louis Colossos Beach soon again.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    370
    216
    121
    95
See reviews for
466
405
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A holiday on your own can be either a sad lonely disaster, or an experience that makes you glad you can travel single and still have a bloody good time - no matter how old you are. The Colossus provides the latter.

If you are married with kids don't bother reading this - just book it - It will be the best holiday you have ever had.

I would like to thank the terrific management team at the hotel. George and Antonis are the most approachable, kind and responsive managers you will find in any hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely care about every guest.

The staff in general are great, but special thanks to Kyryakos the barman who always poured a proper strong G&T and Tsambika and Paulina the outside waitresses. I could go on but you wont find a grumpy or bad member of staff, if you treat them with respect.

And to the beautiful people I spent so much time with. Lindsay, Hayley, Jude, Maria, Tanya, Natalya.... Stefan, chris, mike. Thank you all for putting up with me!

So, you want to know how good this hotel is..... Just go. So many peoples 4th 5th 6th 7th year there - Cant be that bad!

Plus side.
On the beach - also two big pools
A variety of eateries, main restaurant (eat outside) Beach-bar buffet with the best rotisserie chicken in the world - Chinese and Pizza all with really fresh salad (and even chips for the saddo's who want them on holiday...) Great food all the time.
A variey of drinking venues
Afternoon tea cakes and pastries on the reception floor
Reasonably priced car hire
Good shop by reception
Good sized rooms with comfortable beds, hot powerful shower and cold AC (free!)and balcony.
The nightclub is downstairs and can be ok if you like to drink till you drop or dance.
Not too many Brits
The Russians and various nationalities you do talk to will be great company if they speak English....
5Euros from Falaraki by taxi
And best of all - the beautiful beach with the gentle constant wind.
Take the 15Euro boat trip to Anthony Quinn Bay from near the red steps outside the beach bar, (ten to one every day) it is worth it.

Minus.
I can't speak Russian...but if I did I would tell a lot of those ladies that they are awesome!
Like most Rhodes beaches its a bit pebbly. buy the 6Euro beach shoes in the shop.
11 days is not enough...

All in all a top place, and as I've said, don't worry if you are on your own, say hello to enough people and you'll spend a lot of happy laughing hours at this special hotel.

Room Tip: High room -view -main building 642 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hotshower-Coolpillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear guest,

We must express our gratitude for your recent stay at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We appreciate your compliments about our friendly staff under the control of our wonderful management team, also about our varied food, among which you especially note our rotating lunch menu at the beach bar. It is a joy that you found our rooms comfortable, clean and of a good size. We are thrilled to hear that you had fabulous time at the Louis Colossos Beach, met new friends and created a lot of wonderful memories about Rhodes and our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Louis Colossos Beach.

Yours truly,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just returned from spending 1 week at the Louis Colossos Hotel on the 'All Inclusive' deal. Overall, we had a good break - we booked it as a late deal and after reading the great reviews here on Trip Advisor, we decided to book our place.

The hotel itself is located off the main Rhodes to Falaraki Road and with a bus stop literatly outside the hotel, is makes it very easy to hop on the bus and be in Rhodes in around 15 minutes.

There are 2 good sized swimming pools that are in easy reach of a bar. Both pools have a good number of sunloungers available to guests BUT MAKE SURE YOU ARE UP FOR 8AM TO RESERVE ONE! Leave it any later and you will struggle. There are sunloungers on the beach but these are EUR3.00 PER SUNLOUNGER.

The hotel requires some modernisation, particularly the rooms. Initially, we were impressed that our room had a balcony sea view, however once we started looking around we noticed that the carpets didn't look like they had been cleaned for a while and they had made a mess in patching up some of the walls which was clearly noticable. One of the lights in our room was connected by a loose cable coming out of the wall, some of the bathroom tiles has blown and looked like they were about to fall out of the wall and a few other things which we have shown in our pics attached.

Upon arrival at the hotel, you are given an wristband that is clipped on and must stay on for the duration of your stay (it is clipped on so you cannot take it off). Is this hygenic/dangerous?

We ate at the hotel most nights and each night, we found that many of the tables were still waiting to be cleared. During the busy periods, it seemed that they just didn't have enough staff to cope. Tables were not being cleared/replensihed properly (tables being replenished and not changing dirty table cloths). Wine glasses are not being washed properly (as my Wife found out picking up a glass that still had smudge marks on the rim) Also, we found (particularly within the outside pool bars), one or two members of the bar staff team were only able to speak very limited english which proved difficult and embarrasing.

The food particulary at evening meal times was very samey and actually quite boring. Spaghetti Bolonaise was an option every night and also included pork, chicken and fish dishes with Chips, Rice and Salads as side options. They could have varied this a bit more. Also, we found that the pork/chicken was alittle on the Pink side so make sure you check this before deciding to eat it. I personally decided to stay clear for personal reasons.

Dresscode for dinner is stated as Smart Casual Dress and is clearly pointed out in a notice prior to entering the resturant. 50% of the people attending dinner do dress up but there are others who think it is acceptable to roll off the beach and come in straight for dinner in shorts, t-shirts and flip flops. As a 4 star rated hotel, I would have expected that management would have enforced this rule. It's not fair on those who make the effort and have to eat with others who can't be bothered.

We didn't see much of the day time entertainment but we could certainly hear it! This mainly consisted of Aqua Aerobics/Yoga for the Adults and some other activities for the children. Night time entertainment was 'Average', It was basically the same 4 dancers and 3 singers performing and every night they would simply change the theme. In terms of skill, they were actually quite good, however, it would have been nice to see some other singers/dancers brought in which would have made it more interesting. Couldn't fault the costumes!

Internet is charged as an additional extra - shouldn't this be included as part of an all inclusive price? Also, if you find yourself in the late bar/disco after 12am, drinks are charged even if you are an 'All Inclusive' Guest!

In a nutshell, we did have a nice time and it was sad to leave. Would we return, probably not. As a couple visiting, we didn't feel it was a couples resort and felt that the hotel wasn't quite up to the standard a 4-star should be.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danpbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for your recent stay at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We are delighted to hear that overall you had a wonderful time and are glad that you chose to holiday with us. We appreciate your compliments towards our performers, praising their talents and effort. Regarding your comment about the sunbeds, we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Furthermore, we herewith want to thank you for bringing the condition of your room to our attention and would like to sincerely apologize for this situation. We only wish you had mentioned your displeasure during your stay, as we could have tried our best to find a solution in the fastest possible way. Thank you for mentioning your concern over the clearing and set up of the restaurant tables which was mainly due to the high occupancy of the hotel at the time; but rest assured that our staff will be informed about this. Additionally, in regards to your comment about the lack in food selection, we do have themed nights that ensure for a different type of cuisine every day besides our three other outlets; a Greek BBQ restaurant at the beach, an Asian restaurant and an Italian restaurant, thus we would have to respectfully disagree with your comment. We thank you for bringing the evening attire of some guests to our attention and would like to inform you that we do our upmost to enforce our predefined dress code during meal times. Regarding the internet, we decided not to include it in the room rate so that guests that choose not to use this service do not have to pay for the extra charge. Despite everything, we are happy to hear that you had a memorable time with us in the sun.

We would like to inform you about our other Louis Hotel properties; the Louis Zante Beach, the Royal Apollonia Beach, the King Jason, the Lti Louis Grand and the Mykonos Theoxenia which might be more suitable for you as a couple. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to one of our other Louis Hotels soon again.

Yours truly,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stavanger
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We went to this place for the 6th time. The outdoor place is very nice and the location is on the beach. The negative is the condition of the rooms. It desperatly needs redecoration.
The food is lovely and so is the staff. Special thanks to Eleni, Irina and Aida who are very service minded. This also goes for the "barman" in the bar inside. Super nice.
This is a perfect place for families with children and for others that want a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inger_o62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

hotel was ok staff were brill nothing to much trouble helpfull and always had a smile they all worked hard to please. food not hot not a lot of choice we had to eat out a few days and for 3 days no main meals im all for trying something different but main meals were a little crap sorry for saying this but i paid for all inclusive and did not get it.im not a fussy eater but we had a lot of russians in and seems they catered for them.not all louis hotels have same standard and if that is the case then this hotel should not be 4 star.would i stay here again yes but only if i could go self catering i had no problem with the hotel or the staff.

Room Tip: sea view are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie123456310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Have just returned from Louis colossus, had an amazing time, always self catered before so was a little worried if it was our type of holiday, where to start? food was amazing lots of variety and extremely well presented, staff were on the ball around meal times making the whole experience run like clockwork, was particularly impressed by a young man named Alexandru who was always polite even taking the time to acknowledge us when we were out and about and he was off duty, (late 20s fair hair, just in case they have a reward programme in operation) was a very laid back type of experience even though the hotel was quite full.
we never sat round the pool as that was probably where most of the day time activities where happening, just chilled on the beach right in front of the hotel where there was also a beach bar and more than enough loungers.
Room as you would expect in greece maid service every day towels changed etc, no fault with the room, shower was good, bed comfy, air con good and it was clean
we enjoyed the entertainment that was put on every night ( which again is new to us because its not something we normally do ) we would just finish our evening meal and the kids would get on stage for the mini disco, which they loved and the animation staff that were in charge of that did a great job, can imagine if you were travelling with children it would probably be one of their highlights. This was then followed by the main show, what can I say it was amazing, very professional the singers were awesome some of the songs I would say better than the originals, and along with the dancers who were also incredible (still don't actually know how they managed to change costumes so quickly and perform as in sync) put on a wonderfull show most nights, smiling all the way though each routine. Looking like they were loving every minute of it, so nice to watch.
Friday night was Greek night when different dancers came in was again very entertaining.
You can hire a car in the lobby which we also did, lindos is 45 min drive and well worth a visit as is rhodes town which is 5/10 mins away ( small car €25 per day)
All in all a extremely relaxing holiday, which we are going to repeat in sept, as we only went for a week this time going for a fortnight in sept.
The only fault I can comment on is there are not enough lifts for the size of the hotel didn't really bother as as we just used the stairs ( and we were on the 6 th floor ok going down bit of a struggle coming back up) if your not in a rush you will get one eventually though.
From talking to friends etc think we have been very lucky that this hotel was our first all inclusive experience, but speak as you find and we LOVED it

All in all I think it offered extremely good value for money,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Louis Colossos Beach and for your delightful review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our All Inclusive offer and were happy with the variety and presentation of our food. Moreover, we thank you for your praise of our staff and are happy that we were able to create a relaxing environment for you during your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the entertainment and found the rooms to be well kept by our housekeeping staff. It is also very pleasing for us to know that you and your kids enjoyed the mini disco, followed by the main show assembled by our energetic entertainment team. We would like to thank you for bringing the shortage of lifts to our attention but please be informed that we also have supplementary ones away from the public eye leading to the side buildings.

It will be our utmost pleasure to welcome you in September once more as a guest to the Louis Colossos Beach.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

booked the last week in may 2013 at the colossos, free upgrade from annexe to the 7th floor main building was a nice surprise. as for star ratings room 3*, public areas and food 4*, staff 6*, majority of eastern bloc guests 1*, food and drinks were more than acceptable but in this day and age free internet should be available even if only in public areas...the amazing thing about this hotel is how the staff keep smiling despite the rude ill mannered russians which accounted for 94% of the guests whilst we were there, george the manager is always about and listens to guests comments and is very friendly. so to sum up would i recommend the hotel....yes but go later in the year when the russians arent there in high numbers. sunbeds on beach with umbrellas are payable but nothing stopping people using hotel sunbeds on the sand which we did free of charge...worth the money and is in an ideal location for trips to rhodes town and lindos,,,,trip to symi is recommended pick up on beach ,weather permitting, if not coach transfer included all for 25E each bookable at reception desk....late checkouts 4pm 40E or 6pm 60E....all inclusive stays till the minute you leave the hotel....all in all a very good holiday

Room Tip: annexe room views are onto wasteland go for sea view in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for holidaying at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We are more than happy to hear that our hotel was a great value for money, and from the first moment you felt the quality of our All inclusive option. We are pleased that our varied food was to your satisfaction, and that it was our staff who made your holiday so enjoyable and memorable. Regarding the internet, please understand, that in order to make our hotel more affordable, we took a decision not to include Wi-Fi in the room rate, nevertheless we will consider your suggestion for our future improvement.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.6 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,350 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
#9 of 71 in Faliraki
516 reviews
4.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amada Colossos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amada Colossos Resort

Property: Amada Colossos Resort
Address: Kallithea Main Street, Kallithea 85100, Greece (Formerly Louis Colossos Beach Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amada Colossos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to full reconstruction process. Amada Colossos Resort, a four star plus hotel, is a new colossal project in the island of Rhodes and is opening Summer 2017 to offer the ultimate experience of Ultra All Inclusive. With 699 luxurious rooms and suites and villas at the front of one of the most beautiful beaches in Rhodes. A worldwide gastronomical experience with 16 restaurants and bars including an authentic Greek, Italian and an Asian restaurants, 5 swimming pools, 2 mini clubs for children and one full-scale water park with 6 waterslides. Be the first to experience a holiday larger than life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amada Colossos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Colossos Beach Faliraki
Hotel Louis Colossos Beach
Louis Colossos Beach Hotel
Amada Colossos Resort Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing