We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOR FAMILIES BUT NOT FOR COUPLES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amada Colossos Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR FAMILIES BUT NOT FOR COUPLES”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Before writing this review I want to point out that this hotel is probably fantastic if you're a family with several children as there is plenty to do, food and drink all day long and good entertainment for the kids.

However, we are a couple with no children and we chose this hotel as we wanted a last minute deal somewhere hot. As I said I think the hotel is great for families but not so good for couples wanting a fairly quiet, romantic get away.

Location: the hotel is much closer to Falaraki than Rhodes which is not made obvious when booking as the hotel is advertised by some travel agents as being "just outside Rhodes centre". However the hotel is a great location in terms of a nice beach with clear blue water to swim in which is directly accessible from the hotel (no roads to cross).

Rooms: the hotel is all in all slightly dated, but the rooms are nice enough and they are cleaned every day. Ours also had a lovely balcony which was great in the evenings. However our room was located directly next to what seemed to be a staff room for the domestic staff and we were woken up every single morning at around 8.30 by very loud conversations, repeatedly slamming doors and one morning two of the cleaners even had a screaming row outside in the coredor. We complained about the noise several times to the reception staff but this did not seem to get any better. It was not pleasant being woken up like this every day on our holiday. On the last morning also, one of the cleaners just walked straight in to our room at just after 9 a.m. when we were still in bed, without even knocking to check whether anyone was in the room. Not great.

Food: admittedly this is the first time we have tried all inclusive, but we were really disappointed with the food. Not so much with the variety, because there is quite a lot to choose from, but more with the quality. Everything came out of a freezer or a tin and nothing tasted fresh. The quality of the meat and fish was poor and we were really disappointed to find that there was no fresh fruit, even at breakfast - it was all tinned! There was also no fresh fruit juice just some disgusting watery squash - again this was the case at breakfast too. Breakfast was pobably thye worst meal of all actually, we ended up skipping breakfast most mornings as it wasn't worth getting up for. In summary - if you eat well at home and make everything from scratch usually using fresh ingredients you probably won't like the food here. AGain for those who are used to cooking everything from fozen or using lots of tinned ingredients then it'll probably be fine as it is all mass produced and tastes like it. The one good thing about the food I should say was the pizza, which is served at lunchtime and which is actually quite nice.

Facilities: this hotel is quite large and has several bars and food outlets to choose from which is good. There is no free wifi though and even if you do buy some internet time (which we did), you can only connect if you sit at reception, it doesn't work anywhere else in the hotel (even by the pool) and there is no reception in the rooms. It's also really expensive to buy (5 euros for one hour). The dining rooms are spacious but get packed out during peak times and the amount of rude Russian guests is definitely a problem as other people have mentioned. They literally push you out of the way to get to the food, reach across you to fill their glasses when you're also trying to get a drink and from what we saw, they are very rude to the staff also. They constantly stared at us as one of us is visually impaired which they seemed fascinated by. They also shove you to the side in the very small lifts so that they can get out first even if you're getting out on the same floor. The very small lifts are also really annoying. They're baking hot, take ages to arrive and cannot accomodate the amount of people moving between floors at peak times. They definitely need updating. Sunbeds - impossible to get by the pool - we only managed to find empty ones 1 day out of the whole week we were there. For the rest of the time we were forced to sunbathe on the beach due to the lack of available sunbeds by the pool, which was fine except that we were then charged for sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach, when they are free by the pool which was slightly irritating. The beach itself is lovely though if you don't mind shingle (take some flip flops to wear down to the waters edge as it can be quite painful to walk across the rocks).

Staff: finally, the staff were all actually really friendly. Their English was good and from what we could see, nothing was ever a problem. We especially liked Anastasia, the hair dresser/beautician, who gave us treatments and told us all about the history of the island. She also offered to drive us to a local, Greek restaurant which we accepted and which turned out to be lovely. She is very friendly and a lovely lady.

To conclude, if you are a couple looking for something special for your holiday I would suggest avoiding this hotel and opting for more exclusive acomodation. We didn't think this warranted a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about the Louis Colossos Beach with the online community.

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for recommending us as the perfect holiday destination for families and our entertainment perfectly suitable for children. We are delighted that you found our staff very attentive and friendly, delivering high standards of service. Moreover, we are thrilled to read that you loved the location and cleanliness of our hotel with its close proximity to the beach, and its beautiful views. We would herewith like to sincerely apologize for the location of your room, being a last minute booking and due to the high occupancy at the time we unfortunately could not relocate you, however we are delighted to hear that despite some issues you still found your room to be of comfort and upmost cleanliness. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy our All Inclusive offer, for which we would like to apologize, however are surprised to hear this as we usually receive many praises for the spectacular quality of our cuisine. Please be assured that we will look into this concern, and are nevertheless delighted that you enjoyed our fresh pizza and the variety of dishes we present every day. Moreover, we would like to inform you that we choose to charge extra for services such as internet instead of including it into the room rate as this is optional for guests and not all wish to use it. Regarding your remark about the lack of sunbeds, we will look into it immediately. Furthermore, the sunbeds at the beach are charged as they are part of public space that does not belong to our hotel and we thus do not have control over this area. All in all, we hope that despite the issues you had at our hotel this will not prevent you from visiting one of our other Louis Hotels which might be more suitable to your needs, and above all are relieved to hear that you still had a relaxing holiday with us. Since you are looking for more personalized holidays we suggest the King Jason in Cyprus.

We hope to welcome you to one of our other Louis Hotels soon again.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    372
    217
    121
    96
See reviews for
474
408
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I don't understand why there are bad reviews about this hotel food excellent service excellent even when you see people been rude to staff. Rooms very clean done everyday. Heaven to not have to cook and clean. Perfect view from balcony sat out most nights with a glass of red that was decent. I have travelled all over the world and this is by far the best all inclusive I have stayed in. Last day could not keep room on as hotel so busy but had a shower room for half hour. After been in Rhodes town to pass some time before our 3am pick up which is fab george the manager got us a glass of wine in the nightclub after all inclusive finished i thought that was a perfect end to an amazing holiday. I will defo be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write such a touching review about your stay at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We couldn’t be more thrilled over your praise for every aspect of our hotel and for giving us the pleasure of creating a most memorable holiday experience for you. We are delighted to read that throughout all your travels, you believe us to offer the best All Inclusive selection and quality you have ever experienced. Moreover, we are glad to hear that our spotless rooms were of utmost comfort, and you enjoyed the spectacular view from your balcony with an aperitif in the evenings. Most of all we would like to thank you for your dearest praise towards our staff, highlighting the high standard of service they provided you with throughout your wonderful break.

We would love to welcome you to the Louis Colossos Beach soon again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

An old-stylish hotel.

Pro:
- location (Kalithea Bay, near Rhodes - 20 min with Sea Shuttle or bus)
- price
- food
- service
- animation team

Cons:
- facilities (no wifi in the rooms, beach with rocks, payed sunbeds on the beach)
- rooms size
- to many Russians


Service was good

Room Tip: Sea side view, main building, 1st to 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreiReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for a short outline of your stay at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be of great value for money and were delighted by its location and close proximity to various sights. Moreover, we are pleased to read that you see our standard of service, our animation team and our cuisine as commendable. We would like to thank you for bringing some of the negatives to our attention such as the rental of sunbeds on the beach; unfortunately we cannot do anything about this as the beach is part of public space however you can always make sure of the hotel's sunbeds on the grass area, just steps away. Concerning the Wi-Fi in the rooms, as most guests would agree, ours is a holiday hotel where people come with the aim to have an active outdoor experience, due to this reason we did not think it necessary to provide this service. Nevertheless we thank you for bringing this to our attention for future considerations and hope that you were satisfied with the Wi-Fi provided all around the other parts of our hotel. Overall, we are delighted to hear that in spite of some minor issues you had a wonderful holiday with us.

We hope you visit us soon again at the Louis Colossos Beach.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

3 weeks in this hotel, for us it was great, we knew what it was like as this was our 3rd time there. Dont set your expectations too high, think ofve what it cost you,The food was good, plenty of choice and hot,plenty to drink, we liked a cocktail called Sex on the Beach, Ireaney made a great one. For us the whole staff were great, nothing was a bother to them, thanks to George and hes staff we are going back in September 2013. I agree we some other reviews about the hotel looking tired but i was led to believe that its up for a face life this winter. We need more English to go there as the Russians took over the place.

Room Tip: Get your towels out early, try the fresh fruit from the little man of the beach, great. dont take to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear repeat guest,

Thank you for returning to the Louis Colossos Beach and for your review.

We are delighted to hear that your third stay at our hotel was once more a memorable one and we cannot wait to welcome you back for your fourth. We are pleased that our food variation and the quality of our dishes was to your satisfaction, and that it was our wonderful staff who makes your holiday so spectacular year after year. We are glad to read that you found your new favourite cocktail during this visit and we once more met your expectations in every way. It is definitely our aim to renovate the property but we cannot yet confirm whether it will happen this year; there are still a lot of details to agree with the owner (we are actually only leasing the hotel) and as soon as they are thrashed out we will make the necessary announcements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Louis Colossos Beach soon again.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Whilst we were well aware this was a family hotel, we did not expect at the beginning of June for it to be overbooked. Getting a sun lounger round the pool was impossible unless you were prepared to bag one at 7am. There was no indication in the information that this would be so busy at this time of year. The all inclusive left something to think about, sun beds and umbrellas on the beach were not included, \I understand this is a separate franchise, pool towels were not provided so take your own, brand spirits and ice creams were extra, as is use of Wi Fi. Food was ok, but pretty much the same in all the restaurants, except for the Chinese open every other day although we only saw it open once during our stay. The room we felt did not really make the standard and I think 4 star for this hotel is perhaps poetic licence. For us it was like 'Butlins'. We would not choose this hotel again. The picture on the web site is misleading as it has obviously been repainted and could be said to resemble barracks. All inn all not the holiday we were looking for, very disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for holidaying at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Asian cuisine. We would like to inform you that the sunbeds at the beach are charged as the beach is part of public space which we have no control over. Furthermore, all branded spirits are charged which is the case in every All Inclusive hotel; however our local drinks are complementary. Moreover, we would like to politely disagree with your comment with regards to the variation of our food offer. We have themed nights for every day of the week to ensure variety; additionally for guests that desire an even wider selection of cuisine we offer a Greek BBQ restaurant at the beach, an Asian restaurant and an Italian restaurant. Our hotel is rated four stars by most of our guest reviews, which mainly stems from guest satisfaction with our many facilities, however, we are sorry you do not feel the same way. Regarding the internet, please understand that in order to make our hotel more affordable, we took a decision not to include Wi-Fi in the room rate to benefit those guests that do not decide to make use of this service.

It is a shame to hear that you will not be returning to our hotel, nonetheless we would like to inform you about our Premium Collection Hotels part of the vast Louis Hotels portfolio which might be more suitable to your taste and the type of holiday that would please you.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kallithea hotels

Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

On arrival to the hotel, you quickly realise why it is an all inclusive, it is a little dated and lacking that wow factor, the rooms are small and the decor is uninspiring, but lets face it who spends much time in the room any way. So on arrival, you get a feeling of what have I let my self in for, but the hotel grows on you. The food is good and varied, always hot, the main dining room is a bit manic at peak times, but take the time to go through to the second dining room and life becomes more civilised. They do ask for a dress code during dinner, but disappointingly it is not enforced. So those who make the effort are dining with other guests wearing shorts flip flops and a T shirt. The beer is Zorba's and the wine comes from boxes, so do not expect anything special.

Location, the Hotel is closer to Falaraki than Kalathini but is right on the beach and very close to the water park. There is a water taxi from the beach to Rhodes for around 11 euro, the taxi rank is across the road from the hotel and will cost 15 euro to Rhodes or the bus stop again out side the hotel where a ticket cost 2.20 euro. The water park was 22 Euro each and we'll worth every cent.

The staff in the hotel were great, and looked after us, however as mentioned the hotel is also frequented but Russian holiday company and and there guest are rude, greedy and loud,

We stayed a week a had a great time, glad we went but would probably not return to this hotel again,

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and the modern part of the hotel and you should get a sea view. Get put in the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about the Louis Colossos Beach with the online community.

We are delighted that you found our staff very attentive and friendly, delivering high standards of service. Moreover, it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our rich selection of delicious food always served at ideal temperatures. We are thrilled to read that you loved the location of our hotel with its close proximity to the beach, and the various other attractions and activities outside the hotel. In regards to your feedback concerning the attire of some guests during dining hours, we thank you for bringing this to our attention and would like to inform you that we do our best to enforce a dress code. Furthermore, regarding your comment about our rooms, we are delighted to hear that this minor issue did not prevent you from enjoying the rest of our wonderful hotel.

It is a pity that you do not want to return to the Louis Colossos Beach; however we wish to welcome you to one of our other Louis Hotels soon again.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Just spent a really lovely week at this well run hotel. There are 3 restaurants which cater for breakfasts, lunch and evening meals and these are supplemented by a beach bar/restaurant and oriental outlet offering alternatives to the main lunchtime meals. The all inclusive deals provide 2 bars in the hotel (also a disco from 11 pm until 2 pm), 2 around the pools and 1 at the beach - all offer free wines, beers, spirits, soft drinks and beverages - mostly from 10 to midnight every day! The rooms are clean and generally well maintained, if not a little dated. However, we found the accommodation and all the facilities to be entirely acceptable. The only gripe we have relates to the rather unwelcoming attitude of the person running the Lobby Cocktail Bar after about 11:15 pm. She was clearly more interested in clearing everyone out and shutting shop before the midnight closing hour if she could possibly get away with it! This was in stark contrast to the other bars where the supervisors could not have been more accommodating.
The proximity of the hotel to the beach (a short stroll through the hotel grounds) is a huge bonus for those not interested in poolside activities - however, the loungers and shades are franchised to a third party who charges 2 Euros a day for each of them. There are cold showers and changing huts on the beach, and access to the beach cafe is by boardwalks. Water sports are also available to hire.
All in all, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel in terms of facilities, administration, location, value for money and a fantastic complement of staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this review about your holiday at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We are happy to hear that the large variety of food and outlets allowed for a greater choice, the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We are delighted that you found our hotel to be at an ideal location with its close proximity to the beach. Concerning your remark about your evening at our Lobby Bar, we thank you for bringing this incident to our attention for our immediate follow-up. We sincerely apologize for the disturbance. All in all, we are thrilled to read that you had a relaxing holiday and are glad that you will be recommending our establishment to other guests.

We thank you for your staying at the Louis Colossos Beach, and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.6 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,423 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
35.3 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amada Colossos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amada Colossos Resort

Property: Amada Colossos Resort
Address: Kallithea Main Street, Kallithea 85100, Greece (Formerly Louis Colossos Beach Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amada Colossos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amada Colossos Resort, a four star plus hotel in the island of Rhodes opened its doors in July 2017 to offer the ultimate experience of Ultra All Inclusive. With 699 luxurious rooms and suites and villas at the front of one of the most beautiful beaches in Rhodes. A worldwide gastronomical experience with 16 restaurants and bars including an authentic Greek, Italian and an Asian restaurants, 5 swimming pools, 2 mini clubs for children and one full-scale water park with 6 waterslides. Be the first to experience a holiday larger than life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amada Colossos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Colossos Beach Faliraki
Hotel Louis Colossos Beach
Louis Colossos Beach Hotel
Amada Colossos Resort Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing