We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,080)
Filter reviews
2,080 results
Traveller rating
1,350
530
139
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,350
530
139
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mythos pool athena restaurant blue bands superior room helios bar rhodes town main restaurant mini buses mini bar german guests mare palace animation team preferential treatment bar staff sea view great holiday hotel complex is
Filter
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 2,080 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013, family of four with two boys aged 17 & 13. The complex is made up of two hotels the Kalithea Mare Palace and the Kalithea Horizon Royal, but only takes five minutes to walk to from one end to the other. During our stay the resort was full of a varitey of nationalities with no one nation dominating. We had two superior rooms with a sea view over the Safari bar across the bay to Rhodes Town and Turkey. We found it had an excellent choice of food in the main resturant with pretty much something for everyone, at breakfast you can pick up a packed lunch for trips out. The pool area's were very clean with the hotel staff regularly clearing up glasses and rubbish. Brilliant animation team who worked very hard to keep you entertained if you choose to join in. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and were a credit to this hotel. Beach area was excellent and the walk up and down not to taxing, there was a minibus running every ten min's if you didn't fancy the walk. Regular and varied evening entertainment across the three main evening bars which again had something for everyone. Our 17 YO went on a diving experience after having a taster session in the hotel pool which he thoroughly enjoyed, however this can be a bit of a boring for spectator's, my 11 YO and I took some snorkling gear and went snorkling. The water park at Falaraki is only a 10Euro taxi ride away and was an excellent day out (take some footwear/socks to wear when walking between rides has the ground gets red hot). Vicky the resort holiday company rep was fantastic full of helpful advice and tips without being too pushy with company excursions. We really enjoyed our week here and would definitely recommend it to family and friends. If your looking for a AI resort between Rhodes Town and Falaraki this pretty much ticks all the boxes.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed at the Kalithea Horizon Royal between the 17th and 28th August 2013 with a large family group (9 in total). From our arrival late in the evening of the 17th to our departure on the evening of the 28th, the hotel, staff and facilities were brilliant. First of all, the hotel and rooms are immaculate! Everything felt clean and fresh and there was never any worry or concern over hygiene standards when it came to the rooms, toilets and restaurant facilities. The food and drink selection itself is excellent, we were there for 11 days and never felt bored or limited with the choice.
Secondly, the staff were all exceptionally helpful, and were always willing to solve any queries and generally engage with the guests in a friendly manner.
The range of activities and excursions available were very good, and we were able to find something suitable for each of the age brackets in our group. Shopping, scuba diving, historical tours, the nearby water park - even a night out in the nearby party town of Faliraki - there is something for everyone! But don't worry - Faliraki may close enough to get to via a short taxi ride, but it by no means interferes with the peace and tranquillity of this beach resort. Perfect distance.
There was also never a shortage of evening entertainment - for both kids and adults!
Finally I should mention the breathtaking views of the Mediterranean sea and surrounding hillsides - the resort really is situated in a beautiful area.
I would definitely return to this resort in the future and would recommend it to almost anyone.
I would also like to make a special mention to our holiday rep, Vicki, who was so friendly, fun and helpful for the entire duration of our stay. We really enjoyed getting to know her and she is doing a fantastic job for Thomson!!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Bit late in writing this review as we stayed here from the 24th August 2012 for a week. This was our first all inclusive holiday and we were not disappointed. The food in both restaurants was delicious and if you couldn't find something to eat you must be very fussy in deed. We tried both restaurants and preferred the Athena for breakfast and the Thalassa restaurant for dinner, which was more formal, although we did get the impression that the waiting staff didn't particularly want the all inclusive people using this restaurant. During the day we liked to laze around the quiter pool where sunbeds were always available and there was a welcome sea breeze. We had booked a limited sea view room, but on opening the curtains on arrival at 2am were delighted to discover our rooms looked directly out to sea and to the left over the main pools. We were ideally placed with a short walk down to the Athena restaurant or up to the relax pool and the Thalassa restaurant. We did one trip as we were only here for a week and chose the VIP cruise. You have to get a taxi to Rhodes town harbour and back - not included. The boat was limited to 21 people and I think there were 16 on ours of different nationalities. We cruised down the coast, going passed the Kalithea, so ideal photo opportunity and stopped off in various bays for a dip in the sea, with snorkelling masks etc provided. Lunch was included and was cold meats, salads and bread. A great way to top up your tan and child free too! The entertainment was excellent with various groups like Supremes, the Drifters and Tina Turner tribute acts. The bar waiter service provided by Charis was great and amusing too! And the cocktails, especially the Mojito's were delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to reccomend this hotel if you want an away from it all relaxing holiday, but it certainly wasn't good for my waistline!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian-MelanieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Returned a few days ago from a lovely 10 day holiday. Hopes had been high as we had seen all the previous reviews. Possibly the best thing overall was the friendliness of ALL staff we encountered. Lovely people who really made you feel relaxed and is if nothing was too much trouble. Food was very good, although started to get a bit samey after 8 days or so. Lunch time moussaka with greek salad and wine in the Delfinia was a firm favourite! We preferred the Mythos pool which was nearest to our room. There was a great atmosphere and wonderful view. My only slight reservation was that our room (806) was right at the bottom of the steep hill and it really became quite a chore to climb up it every time we wanted to go anyway, especially in the heat. If I return, I will request a room nearer to the centre of the resort. We had a few great excursions, and particularly enjoyed the boat trip to Symi and a few hours at the Springs near the hotel. Our rep, Vicky, was very knowledgeable and helpful. As someone mentioned in a previous review, Rhodes airport was dreadful! Overall, a brilliant holiday!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeMagnoliaDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the horizon royal in mid August and enjoyed a wonderful week on an all inclusive basis.
We travelled with first choice and arrived at 1.30am. We were taken to the main reception and quickly checked in only to wait for a mini bus to take us to our room. This wait was 20 minutes and wasn't a great start to our holiday. However, once we were taken to our superior room, which we were told was on the cliff top, we were pleasantly surprised by the spacious room, the snacks in our mini bar (which are all included!) and exceptional cleanliness. We unpacked in the two double wardrobes and slept well, even if the beds were a little hard!
The next morning we woke up to the breathtaking view of the sea and beach. It was well worth the upgrade! These views continued throughout the whole hotel and you felt an instant sense of relaxation staring out to sea.
We went to the mythos pool, as this was closest to our room, and were pleased to see lots of free beds at 8.30am. We searched for the towels and eventually found them at the guest relation room under the main pool. You can also get them from reception. We then ate breakfast and returned to the pool to secure our sun beds.
We spent the day at the pool, however, for me the water was very cold and I preferred just to dip my feet. As a result we spent the majority of our holiday at the beach where for 5euros you can use the sun beds and borrow a lilo to relax in the sunshine and warm water - great fun!! It was a short walk to the mythos pool for drinks and snacks. I would recommend beach shoes as it is very rocky and bringing snorkels to enjoy the sea even more.
We also spent a couple of days on the grass over looking the cliff edge, as we found it more peaceful and relaxing than the pool.
We never ventured to the main pool as towels were reserving lounges before 8am!! This was annoying as these were often empty until much later in the day and the non-reserve policy should be more strictly reserved.
We ate breakfast in the main restaurant and found this to have a wide range of choices and bottles of water which you could help yourself to and take back to your room etc... Lunches we spent in the mythos pool where you could help yourself to drinks to accompany your snacks. We are in the main restaurant for the first couple of nights but then discovered the acropolis BBQ and pizza restaurant which was less crowded and had a more 'holiday' feel than the main restaurant but you could still get buffet food to take there with your meal. I loved the fact that you could have bottles of wine with your meal as this wasn't the case on precious all inc packages.
We spent lots of evenings enjoying the wide range of all inclusive cocktails and even champagne at the main bar. There was live entertainment each night and even fireworks on one of the evenings. The service in the bar was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We had a late flight but managed to secure a late check out for 25euros. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that the all inclusive lasted until the moment you left the hotel and you didn't have to hand in your 'all inc band' when you checked out of your room. This was the first time I'd experienced this and allowed us to enjoy every minute of the holiday and escape the dreaded waiting to check out.
We hired a car for a day and enjoyed a sight seeing tour of the island and would recommend this as its a beautiful island with lots of places to explore. We loved lindos, Rhodes old town and the butterfly valley (the drive across country was amazing as the roads were winding and had great views).
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would visit again in the future (very rare!) - well done Kalithea Horizon Royal!!

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank devonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews