We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the walking wounded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalithea Horizon Royal
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

had 2 weeks at the royal during july and couldn't believe how many people were walking round in tubergrips and plaster and one of these was the wife this was done in Manchester the day before we flew out although it didn't stop her playing the games ie darts French bowls and archery she had to give the football a miss this time
I couldn't fault anything about the holiday everything was perfect from the staff the food the complex special thank you to Theodora christos and savvas in the safari café and zoe in the Athena restaurant
p s to the towel brigade make sure you are up nice and early I counted 86 sunbeds by the Aphrodite pool with towels on by 7 15

Room Tip: room 798 excellent views and corner with sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

3rd time visitor and again not disappointed. This is a lovely clean and welcoming resort and one which will not disappoint. It is good to see that the staff are retained which makes return visits welcoming and sense of family.
Good to see that since last visit that they have invested in additional block tastefully added and at no detriment to site also an large sun decking area with yet another bar to service area during daytime.
A resort which we will revisit in future and recommend to others.
Negatives -
WiFi which on last two visits was free in reception area and now you have to pay regardless !! This is the modern internet age and a resort of such quality must move forward and offer free wifi to fall in line with what customers need and not a premium rate !! I did question young male staff member on registration about the previous free wifi however he maintained in his 5 years at hotel this was not the case ( well I know the truth as I used the free wifi 2years ago !!!)
Beds -
Extremely hard and feel the firmness/springs on the bones , recommend speaking to maids as there are mattress toppers which make for an excellent sleep and comfort.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior rooms with sea views, overlooking Mythos bar/beach my preferred location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank justtoletuknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

1st ever review I've done. Great hotel, very clean (spotless). Very friendly staff and entertainments team (the girls who do the day time activities very nice....note for management please allow music for day time activities and doing water aerobics with no music as not allowed???)...we were here for 2 weeks...and really cant fault the facilities - entertainment quite good in the evenings in the hotel (safari bar was good night out) - food excellent for 2 weeks. Room was nice and spacious and well kept. Overall ( if you've not been here give it a try - you will not be disappointed)
But NEEDS FREE INTERNET ACCESS

Room Tip: get a water facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a fantastic holiday. All staff were great special, thanks to Cleopatra, Poppi and Kontantina who worked so hard to look after us. The hotel is large enough with three different pool areas and snack bars than we only left the complex three times in two weeks. One day trip to Lindos/Rhodes which was beautiful. A trip on the bus for a couple of euros to Faliraki, went during the day to miss the party goers calling in at Kalithea springs on the way back, worth the visit. A day trip to Symi again worth the visit but took two hours on the boat so made it a long day. Food at hotel excellent and I worked my way through a lot of the cocktails on the list!
The only faults I found were the other guests putting towels out early and they not appearing for hours which is annoying to arrive at the pool relatively early in the morning to find it a struggle to find beds together. Would recommend hotel patrolled and removed unused towels. My other problem was I put on 11lb during the two weeks!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were here as a family of four for a week, returning on the 13th August. From the time you get checked in, to the time of leaving the staff were very good/helpful/cheerful and service was excellent. We were upgraded to a Royal suite on arrival and given blue bands for the free beach facilities. The suites are nearest to the Aphrodite pool which has 4 pools, one that looks out on to the sea which is beautiful. The suites are 2 bedroom and very spacious. The minibar is ok but you can go to any of the fridges and get red or white wine to put in your rooms and water.

The food was great, plenty of choice and lots of it. Everything looked fresh, and you could see staff cleaning and making the areas presentable - great hardworking staff.

The entertainment was really good with fireworks on Friday. The Il Divo tribute was really good, I am not biased but one of them was from Hull which is where I used to live!! They also have a Greek night which is good.

We met some great people as well. The English crowd are small as most of the guests are German/Dutch/French but we sat with a mixed crowd and shared good banter thanks to Phil from Manchester. (I was banned from mentioning the sunbed saga though (see below). Also we won't forget the sight of him and his lovely daughter running after a boy that my daughter took a shine to, to give him a napkin with her number on the day we left (she awaits by the way so if you are out there .........) We had a lot of laughs and a lot of drinks - hic!

The one negative:-
I was so glad we were on the ground floor (block 929 to 944) as it was soon to be apparent that getting up before 6.30 was essential to get a sunbed at the top and around the pool. I was told it was easier to get a bed round the Mythos pool but I had a look one day and it was full by 11 so can't really comment on that one. My routine was to get up, put the towels out, then return to bed. I had one morning off and then couldn't get a bed until 3 pm. Some people were reserving beds and not using them. I even went to put towels on my 4 beds as I have two kids 17 and 18 and promptly a "lady" pulled one away shouting "sleepy time" (she was not English), this caused great hilarity with the people we got to know around the pool - so rude! This was the only thing that marred the holiday to be honest. The hotel should get more sunbeds to accommodate the amount of people as you often saw people wandering around looking for them carrying towels. This must be so disappointing as you have to pay on the beach.

Some comments have been made about the entertainment and not getting a room near it. It is not noisy and finishes at about 11 latest. The bar closes at one but not noisy I found it to be a plus as you are near to everything.

All in all a fantastic holiday - oh (daughter's words) - if anyone knows of the gorgeous British lad (tanned, dark hair) had a sister with long dark hair, thinks they went with another family or sat with them on an evening - please text her - lol!!

Room Tip: Get a room near the pools if you want a sunbed or else you will have to get up even earlier. All ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Karon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 19/07 to 2/08, travelling as a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Check-in was quick and efficient gifts were given to my wife and kids (nice touch) I got a boiled sweet! The resort is spread-out but transport for us and our luggage was arranged to our suite.

The suite was very nice; a very large space with 2 big double rooms (a glass door could be used to divide the suite), a dressing area, 2 bathrooms, 2 T.V.'s, a fridge (with soft drinks and beer), tea / coffee making facilities, a safe, 2 A/C units, bathrobes and slippers, 4 phones! and plenty of storage. Also included was 2 bowls of fruit and 2 bottles of wine. Being on the ground floor it had a spacious terrace area. The location couldn't be faulted with pool and sea view and a 2 minute walk from the main restaurant. Throughout our stay room cleaning was first class, we saw the cleaner at work a couple of times, very thorough. Our only minor gripe is the fridge and tea / coffee making facilities wasn't restocked as stuff was used.

The whole site actually consists of 3 hotels each with its own swimming pool, you can use any of them, though we mostly used the nearest one to our suite; the Kalithea Horizon pools. The whole resort is kept remarkably clean, I don't think I saw any litter - commendable when you have such a large resort that seemed full. This cleanliness is apparent all around the hotel, I saw a cleaner on her hands and knees scrubbing the drainage area by the main pool. It made us feel confident that food preparation etc. was done in a hygienic environment.

Free use of pool towels are available for a 10 Euro deposit per towel, however, you can only change them once every 3 days, normally we have been able to change as often as required. The resort has a manmade beach area, it's nice to look at and spend a little time (always sunbeds available) but it is very rocky and there is no sand as such. The beach restaurant and sunbeds are usually at extra cost but included with a suite, so we could use as part of the AI and did a few times.

One downer for us is the regular one of sunbeds being 'reserved' despite notices that no reservation before 10:00 - the reality is they are being reserved before 7:00. We always got somewhere for 4, through joining the early crew or after lots of searching. A nice touch is on some mornings staff will walk around the pool area, offering water melon or another treat.

The evening entertainment is much better than the type provided by an in-hotel 'animation team'. The performers all seemed professional or at least semi-professional - though some appealed to us much more than others, but it's a matter of personal taste. All shows are themed on family entertainment and were finished before midnight. If you want a long loud nightlife - this isn't it, but Faliraki is only about 15 minutes away by Taxi.

The staff are all very good, we didn't experience anything that wasn't polite and friendly. No surly reaction if you're a bit late for breakfast etc. The food on the whole is very good with a good choice. It's worth looking out for the specials cooked in an outdoor area called the 'Acropolis'. The white wine is fine - the rose challenging - the red OK. The beer was fine for me and all the other drinks (a very good choice) were OK. The non-alcoholic fruit cocktails were a favourite with the kids. There is an al-a-carte restaurant, in a small area off the main restaurant. The food and service was very good, it felt like a genuine al-a-carte. However, you can only use it once as part of the AI no matter how long you are booked for. We would have preferred it to be perhaps once per week.

As mentioned the resort is spread-out, however, you are never far from the main bits of interest and there are hotel shuttles if you don't want to walk. We were about as far from the main hotel lobby as you can be, but it was still only about a 10 minute walk through lovely grounds. The beach was a similar distance along a coastal path.

A let-down is the WiFi - firstly it's charged for there are no free areas - the speed is often very slow and you may have problems 'logging off' (we did on 2 or 3 occasions) it burns time if you don't physically log-off even if you switch the device and WiFi off.

There are bus stops in both directions just outside the hotel. However, if you are going a short distance (Rhodes Town, Kalithea Springs, the Waterpark etc.) it's worth checking the taxi price. Taxi prices are a fixed tariff, in large modern cars with A/C - e.g. 4 of us to Rhodes Town 10 Euro in a taxi 9 Euro on the bus - similar for the Waterpark.

All in all a very good hotel, with high standards in a nice (quiet) setting.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious and well located. All other guests we met, in standard rooms and suites were all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAEandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

one of a kind hotel! the service and food where fantastic....the staff and personel weltrained and so friendly! you are not a nuber but a real human for them!
nice rooms with a panoramic view...6 or 7 pools and everything was so clean and the all in was a real all in...going back next year! a special thanks to savas and stavros in the main restaurant.....and A VERY BIG THANK YOU FOR PANDA the animator...what a talent! and also A VERY BIG THANK YOU FOR ELENI AND KLEOPATRA at the bar on the pool...so friendly!!!
we ar

Room Tip: buitenkant heeft een panoramisch zicht op de zee....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonydaisylara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.7 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,738 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
2 mi away
Amada Colossos Resort
Amada Colossos Resort
#10 of 20 in Kallithea
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Horizon Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Horizon Royal

Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range: £94 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalithea Horizon Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 709
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalithea Horizon Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Kalithea
Kalithea Horizon Royal Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing