We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kalithea Horizon Royal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kresten Palace(Koskinou)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Romantza Mare(Kallithea)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Virginia Hotel(Koskinou)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveller rating
1,188
479
127
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,188
479
127
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmythos poolathena restaurantsafari cafesuperior roomblue bandshelios barrhodes townmini busesmain restaurantmare palacemini barpreferential treatmentgerman gueststhomson repanimation teamsea viewbar staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,229 - 1,234 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This hotel has a wonderful location with a 270 degrees view of the sea. It is a bit far from everything but the sea, but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel entrance. A bus ticket to Rhodes town costs 2 Euros, while a taxi costs 10 Euros. We booked a superior room with a sea view, and this was really a stunning view. Both the room and the bathroom were large, had tiles on all the floors, and the bed was very comfortable. The balcony was also nice, but had concrete walls so you could not enjoy the view sitting down. You could on the other hand enjoy the view from the sunbeds and the pools. The hotel's private beach is small, but it is very nice to take a bath here. There also seems to be more windy at the beach, so that if the pool areas become to warm for you, you can walk down to the beach.

The food in this hotel is really not good and tastes very little. There is also an annoying amount of flies in the restaurant that has a tendency to land in and drown in your food. We also experienced that the waiters were yelling at each other in Greek over our heads while we were eating. We felt this was a bit unprofessional for a four star hotel. If you want to taste genuine greek food, take the bus to Rhodes town. Although being an Italian restaurant, we would like to recommend the restaurant Felicia, which serves wonderful pizzas.

The east coast of the island, where this hotel is at, is less windy than the west coast. So if you would like to do some windsurfing, kiting or other water sports, we recommend the beaches at Ixia on the west coast of the island. There is a lot more wind here, and if the east coast gets to warm for you, a tips could be to go to the west coast. A taxi from Kalithea Horizon to Ixia costs 17 euros if the hotel orders a taxi for you, while the bus costs 4 euros, but you have to change buses in Rhodes town. This is on the other hand not a problem because you have to walk maximum 50 metres.

All in all we had a nice stay at this hotel, but the food was disappointing although you could choose between a lot of alternative courses. This does not help when everything tastes very little. Therefore, we wish we could have had the option not to choose the all inclusive alternative.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Had a wonderful week at Horizon Royal.Ignore the negative comments about tha size of complex everything you require is in easy walking distance,there is also the mini train which runs through the day.If you need to get around any other time ask any member of staff to call reception and a mini bus/golf cart will pick you up.We asked the gardener and it was no problem !
The staff were very friendly Christos,Stamatis,Yiannis,Kostos,Casey,Maria & Eivi and all, from the Helious bar were wonderful nothing to much trouble.
Michael, Cleopatra from Athena Restaurant were excellant waiters and Dancers and a special mention about Stavvrula who was so cheerful and ran the Aphrodite snack bar single handedley.Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Like many people, I checked a range of online reviews for this hotel before booking and my wife and I have just returned (yesterday) after a 2 week stay. So did it live up to all of the hype? If you are contemplating holidaying here you should be absolutely clear as to what you are looking for in a holiday resort as quite simply depending on your own requirements you will love it here or hate it. Let’s get ride of some of the more obvious hype that I have seen written and (hopefully) concentrate purely on the hotel and its resort. Much has been written elsewhere about the efficiency, politeness and overall helpfulness of the staff and for me it is all true, they are by far and away the hotel's biggest asset but unfortunately other elements of the hotel did not in all cases match their professionalism. The layout of the hotel resort is, as has been described in other reviews one of a very large complex with 'blocks' of rooms located throughout (there is a sense of being reminded of a very large council estate in terms of layout There are plenty of signs indicating where the restaurants and reception are located but absolutely nothing on any of the 'information screens' showing where the children club is, or where archery is held or even where the min golf-course is located. All of which would have been useful information. We booked a standard room and paid extra for a sea view which was well worth the cost given the great views. It was also very handy when the air conditioning did not work for 3 days and we had to leave the balcony door open at night because it was so hot. We found that we checked in that there was not, as we had be led to believe any tea/coffee making facilities; when I queried this I was told we would have a kettle etc next morning but when this did not arrive I queried again and was told this was only available in 'superior' rooms. The receptionist in this one instance was very unhelpful with no interest in even agreeing that we could rent one - our Thompson rep - often criticized in other reviews came to our rescue and loaned us a kettle. The Arena restaurant is very very nice; open with great sea views it is a very relaxing place to enjoy your evening meal; unfortunately the food, whilst being very well prepared was very very repetitive with spaghetti, veal and pork on almost every night; vegetables were limited and on occasions there were simply no tables available. There is a beach as such but if you are expecting a sandy beach with comfy sun-loungers and the sea lapping at your feet I am afraid you will be very disappointed!; the beach is little more than a small sandy/shingle offering that is literally sited on the rock face and to which you need to use the free train service to get and from it. There are no less than 7 pools (not 6 as is often quoted); there are 2 sets of 3 pools - the first located near the rear of reception, the second near the Arena restaurant with an additional pool at the front of reception. We had no problems at all in getting a sun lounger and you are able to get fresh pool towels from reception. There is a great pool bar which is situated near the 3 pools close to reception; this is a great place to get cold drinks, sandwiches and snacks and they even have a beer tap you can use yourself! It must be stressed that the layout of this resort means that if you have any difficulty in walking you will suffer. The various walkways/roads are very steep in some places (particularly getting to reception). There is a small shop onsite within the main reception area. The brochures show this hotel as a 4 star which I think is a distortion; it is certainly a good 3 star and even possibly a 3 star plus but the lack of some very basic facilities, the repetitiveness of the food and the sheer effort of moving around what is a very large site should not be ignored. Also worth noting that there is no ATM machine nor pharmacy located near by. There are bus stops outside of the hotel providing a cheap way to travel to lyndos, faliraki and rhodes town. So is for you?
If your looking for quiet relaxing location and a hotel that does offer overall a high standard of service and you are a pool lover and your not to bothered about the food on offer then this is for you; if on the other hand you like a good beach and a more active environment (particularly if you have small children) and expect the facilities to be slightly more readily available then I would suggest that you look further along the coast at some of the other hotels such as the Colossus or the Esperides beach(brilliant facilities for kids including there own swimming pool complete with water-park style set-up and eve dodgem cars!). If you are contemplating holidaying at this hotel then a couple of tips for you.
1) Take a kettle! Just in case;
2) If you are arriving late evening make sure you ask the drive of the courtesy
car which picks you up from reception and takes you to your room to show
you where the Arena restaurant is as a buffet will have been prepared for you
(we were not told this on our arrival and had to buy crisp etc from the shop!).
3) Best times for the Arena restaurant in the evening is after 8:15
4) Take a hand held fan with you!
5) The bus stop to Rhodes town is directly outside the hotel; it starts at 07:10
and runs every 20 mins or so).
6) The exchange rate at the hotel was, when we were there was better than in
the UK.
7) If you have small children and are expecting a full ‘kids club’ I would urge
you to check with your travel company exactly what is on offer here. There is
a ‘kids club’ room but this looked to be where things were organized and
NOT where the kids actually went (a number of people we spoke to were
disappointed that there was no real club as such so best check)
8) If your new to Rhodes then I would suggest that any trip you take(for the
first time ) you do with your travel company, certainly until you find your
feet. That said any trip you book with them to say Lyndos or Symi (both
worth a visit) is on the same ships that you can book directly with in Rhodes
town at a much cheaper rate but of course you have to make your own
arrangements). NB The boat trips by and large don’t run on Wednesdays.
9) Rhodes like many of the Greek islands is very favored by German tourists
and whilst they can be a large majority of people holidaying here all of the
hotel staff speak fluent English and German and switch between the two
effortlessly. I make this point simply to advise that in terms of books and
magazines sold in the hotel shop they are in German. English newspapers are
sold daily.
10) The GYM and internet facilities are located in the floor below reception
11) Evening meal times gets very bust so once you have your table sorted then
go to the bar yourself and order your drinks it is much quicker.

I think the hotel could, with very few changes attain a genuine 4 star rating (in keeping with the quality of its staff). Simple things like tea/coffee making facilities in the room; much clearer directions to and from major on-sight attractions. The provision of a real kids club where parents could leave their children in a safe environment for a few hours. Much more engagement between the 'animation team' and the holidaymakers of simple games/competitions A complete redesign and resiting of the 'stage' outside the Arena restaurant (you will understand once you have seen it).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geoffldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I visited this hotel in August 2009 for 1 week with my partner (both in our late 20's) and my parents (both in early 60's). The weather was absolutly fantastic.. didnt see a cloud in the sky for the whole week!
The hotel is set in massive grounds and it appeared no matter where your room was located there would be quite some distance to walk to the resturants etc. This was not a problem for my partner and I as we quite enjoyed the walk as the scenery was lovely to look at however both my parents did struggle slightly with the distance (lots of which was uphill) and the boling hot weather also made walking around the grounds quite uncomfortble but I wouldnt let this put you off as it really was a great hotel.
On two of the mornings when eating breakfast in the Athena resturant there was a strong smell of sewerage which was rather off putting to say the least! But all the food throughout the holiday was of a very good standard and the cakes were amazing!!
The staff were brilliant, very helpful and friendly and would go out of there way to help you out with anything.
The hotel has a policy whereby you are unable to place towels on sun loungers to reserve them which we were pleased about... HOWEVER, every morning by 7.30am a huge majority of sunloungers had towels across them which was very frustrating and staff didnt do anything about it. Also no life guards, pool attendants etc to impliment this rule. The whole hotel including rooms, restaurants and pool areas were spoltlessly clean.
The sister hotel (Kalithea Mare Palace) was at the top end of the grounds with the pool, seperate restaurant, shop and rooms all within minutes of eachother. This would have suited my parents as the amount of walking would have been reduced significantly.
Overall we had a great holiday, lots of evening entertainment, nice staff and clean rooms. We hope hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I stayed at the Kalithea horizon in Aug 2009 with my family and was so impressed with the hotel that i thought i should tell you about it. Firstly, the staff are so friendly in this complex and are the hardest working people i have ever experienced in a hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they always seemed to smile.
The food was really good and was plentiful. There was always fresh fruit and salads available along with freshly cooked meats and stews. Drinks were plentiful and you could just help yourself to bottles of wine when you felt like it.
The location of the Kalithea is outstanding. Practically everywhere in the complex has a sea view. The only let down for me was my room. It was just a standard room because all the superior ones were taken but I felt it could now do with a refurbishment. The superior rooms were beautiful with brand new marble bathrooms. As far as I am concerned well worth the extra money.
I cant really think of anything negative to say about this hotel so I wont. Just book if you are thinking about it as you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARBLES102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews