We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 stars feels harsh..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Manchester West
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 October 2013

..but 3 would be generous. it wasn't a bargain on pricing either and in hindsight I wish I had either booked the novotel city centre, where I have stayed before or picked another property

Good stuff out of the way first -
its well located just off the M62, so easy access to the motorways if you are travelling around that part of the world.
The staff are very good, which has been mentioned before, and try hard to make the customers stay go well.
the reception / shared areas are neat and tidy and seem to be recently refurbished

away from the shared areas, the rooms themselves are a bit weary and in need of freshening
the bed was terrible, there's a lot that can be forgiven as long as a good nights sleep is possible, but that was not the case.
I had booked a family room and expecting 2 queens - had a sofa bed instead - could feel the metal frame through the thin/unsupportive mattress, tears in the blanket...
poor ventilation has been mentioned in other reviews. yes it is that bad. when we stayed the outside temperature during the day was mid teens and low teens in the evenings. even with the windows open and fan provided by staff it was over-warm and stuffy in the room, I would hate to think what it would be like during summer...will not be finding out for sure!

top tip: go for this property if you get a bargain basement price in the depths of winter, otherwise you are better served going for one of the premier inn/travelodge style places or looking elsewhere

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aamir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Many thanks for your review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. Mike Britt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I have stayed here several times on business and am quite happy to keep returning.
Novotel is easy to find just off the motorway and there are signs to destination.
I always prior to arrival request a top floor end of corridor room which is peaceful away from others and lifts.
The rooms are spacious and reasonably well furnished and equipped for this type of accommodation.
One little difference....the loo is separate to the bathroom!!!!....a nice move.
Wi-fi is now free which is good.
Restaurant and bar is modern and comfortable and menu has a good selection at reasonable prices.
A good comfortable hotel at reasonable price in pretty village.

Room Tip: Top floor end of corridor room. Car park can get very full some evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mike Britt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I was in town for one night & this hotel was a bargain so my expectations were low to begin with. Its a good enough hotel in an area without many options.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and the facilities in the hotel are good. The garden area was lovely to sit in on a sunny afternoon.
The room was clean and spacious however no air conditioning made it very uncomfortable on a hot summers day.
The windows were not easy to close properly in my room also.
The front desk were more than helpful in providing me with a fan for the night.
I had a good nights sleep until my neighbours decided to have a loud conversation outside my door, you can also hear doors banging from the hallway.
Breakfast had a good selection if you have a family with you and coffee was surprisingly good!
The best part of this hotel is the staff who are very friendly and a credit to the company..the hotel could do with some sound proofing and A/C!

Room Tip: Check if theres a wedding on the same dates and ask for quiet room away from the foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Many thanks for your review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. Mike Britt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had booked tickets to watch the national cycling track championships at the velodrome and decided as it was a good 3 1/2 hour drive from us that my husband and I and our 3 children would be better off staying overnight.
This hotel was clean and friendly and the staff very helpful and made our stay a pleasure.
We checked in quickly and was given interconnecting rooms which was great. We asked about eating at the restaurant at the pub and they were very helpful. The food at the pub was great quick and cheaply priced we had a hour to eat and leave and they managed this just fine.
The breakfast at the hotel was delicious everything you could wish for and the children were very happy with so much choice they kept going back.
Would definitely stay there again if we go to watch more cycling completed a great weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mike Britt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have stayed here several times over the past six years and the hotel seems to be improving all the time.
Staff are friendly and helpful, it now has free wifi, and breakfasts are good.
As previous reviewers have said the rooms are a bit on the warm side and maybe I would not stay here on a hot summer day until they instal decent air conditioning, but apart from that we like the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Regards

Mike Britt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in two connecting rooms with two young children and found everything about this hotel perfect.
The location next to motorway on and off-ramps is great for giving quick access to the city or the Trafford area. There was no problem with noise even with open windows in the room.
The toilet is in a separate room to the shower but it also has a basin so not altogether impractical.
The staff are brilliant and do everything they can to help you. The french guy who was on reception for much of our three nights was exceptional and went the extra mile with everything (gifts for the kids, receiving mail, advising on dining etc.
Breakfast was very nice with some of the best scrambled eggs I have ever found in a hotel buffet. It may not have been cheap but I thought it was good value for money and never left the hotel hungry. The steak in the restaurant/bar in the evening was without question the best of 8 eaten over two weeks in the UK.
If we ever go back to Manchester, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank NamparaCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Manchester West.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Mike Britt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 197Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worsley
4.8 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.4 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - TRAFFORDCITY
4.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester West

Address: Worsley Brow, Worsley, Salford M28 2YA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Worsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
Price Range: £43 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Manchester West 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester West is an AA rated hotel in the historic village of Worsley, ideally located for a business trip with easy access to all major road networks, 12 miles from Manchester Airport and just a short drive from Manchester, Old Trafford stadium, the Trafford Centre and Salford Quays. The hotel features ten meeting rooms, Elements restaurant, room service, a terrace and gardens with a childrens play area. Free WiFi access available plus free parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Manchester West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester West Hotel Worsley
Accor Manchester West
Manchester Novotel
Novotel Manchester West Worsley, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing