We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great leisure facilities and good coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2008

I almost gave this an excellent, so let's start with all the good things. A very good receptionist who sorted out the fact that our room was not ready (at 5) very promptly. The room itself was standard Marriott, though not as big as the one I stayed in at Newcastle recently. The bathroom was nice, and it was very clean and tidy. The pool was really large and great for real swimmers so we loved it. The sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were nice too. The steam room was the tops- it has little lights in the ceiling and changes colour. We liked that! After all that exercise we had supper in our room and the room service, although not quick was friendly and well presented. The food was good too

Next morning, unlike the other MArriott I mentioned above the breakfast was outstanding - in variety, presentation and smoothness of it all. The only minus was the slow arrival of coffee but it was a good cup when it came.

It is easy to find, and they gave us great instructions to find Old Trafford (son wanted to go there).

Why not excellent?It was very good. I suppose mainly because they rang us the day before to check our room needs and our champagne package (chilledin the room by 330 she said), but of course with the mix up re rooms- we had to nudge the champers. I would have thought you would have got the room ready. ANYWAY, only a minor niggle (but you are paying lots of money)and with the friendly staff and excellent pool we would go again.

THanks to the reception staff!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2008

Myself, husband and our 2 close friends have just stayed at this hotel. It was booked as a golf experience for the 2 men as hadheard it was a beautiful course. Unfortunately, slight glitch as the course was closed due to hosting a tournament so they had to play at a local golf course whih was disappointing, however the hotel were excellent in dealing with our complaint and really went out of their way to compensate for this. Could not fault their customer service, Clare and the restaurant manager were really great and helpful with us, felt very looked after.

The hotel is lovely, very clean and the leisure facilities were excellent. Large pool, warm jacuzzi with a steam room and sauna. Would recommend spending time using these facilities along with the spa as came away very relaxed and pampered.

Rooms were large and clean, we had an executive room on the 4th floor.
Breakfast was great with a large selection of anything you could think of including fresh smoked salmon, the evening meal was also lovely, great service.

Overall would highly recommend staying here although would warn people that drinks are very noticably expensive which I don't feel is justified.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mels_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

Just returned after 4 night stay whilst in Manchester on Business. Great hotel in terms of staff attentiveness and cleanliness. Exactly what yi=ou expect from a Marriott.

Bars are nice and cosy enough although bar prices a little on the steep side. Rooms spacious and clean with everything you would expect. Lots of staff always available if you need anything,

Didn't manage to use the gym or pool but collegues commented on the service and equipment as excellent.

Breakfast the usual buffet affair with plenty of choice. Overall good choice of hotel more tailored to Business users due to location.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank midsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Stayed at the Marriott for just 1 night whilst attending a family wedding. Was very impressed by the organisation and the decoration at the wedding, all the staff were friendly and the food was very nice.

The room (148) itself was very large with a seating area and had a large comfy bed, and was very clean and spacious. It is decorated perfectly, modern and simple. Located on the ground floor. It had a safe, mini-bar with fridge and bathroom with bath and shower. Checkin was 2pm and checkout 12pm, and breakfast was included in the price. Breakfast was again very nice, with a selection of cereal, fruit, pasteries and cooked breakfast.

The hotel has a large gym and 25m swimming pool with jaquzzi, did not use facilities personally, but those who did highly recommended them.

Would recommend to anyone for an enjoyable stay!

Directions - right off the M60 at junction 13 then follow signs for Worsley and its on the left hand side.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mshel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

Small country club hotel, mainly used for business. Nice for one/two nights especially if you are a golfer as has its own golf course. Rooms were clean and large enough, liked the sloping skylight window, and very comfy beds.
Nice courtyard where you can enjoy a drink.
Breakfast buffet style, restaurant could do with a face lift.
Reception staff very helpful, booked me a taxi to take me to Trafford centre which is very close and huge choice of shops inside.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LadyC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We stayed here for one night on Saturday 26th Jan 2008, we being myself, my Wife and 18 year old son. We had a bit of a glitch with the initial booking, but this was sorted out very quickly by a very good Front Office Manager.
This is the second time we have used the Worsley Park Marriott. It has a fantastic location - just off Junction 13 of the M60, which is the Manchester ring road, and very close to the massive Trafford Centre / Old Trafford etc.
The site is described as "A vision of Victorian country elegance, this 200-acre former home of the Duke of Bridgewater." There is a really good golf club and the sports / fitness facilities are first class. It is clear that the hotel is used by a lot of sports teams that play at Old Trafford, this is evidenced by the huge collection of framed signed shirts that can be found on the walls of the corridors leading down to the Health Club. Shirts from various England soccer, rugby and cricket teams, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Chelsea, Liverpool and Manchester United to name but a few. Inside the hotel it is a fairly standard Marriott with 158 rooms on four floors. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the Executive rooms on the fourth floor, which feature two large double beds and a living area with settee, easy chairs and a working area with a desk.
A big plus point for the hotel is its staff - very friendly and helpful. The concierge managed to get five of us booked into an excellent, and very popular, local Italian restaurant at 8.30pm on a Saturday night with no notice whatsoever.
If there is a minus, it is the usual UK moan - very expensive wi-fi (£6 for an hour or £15 per day)
There is a pub in the grounds - the Old Worsley Hall - it is a Brewer's Fare. We had a lunch there and won't be rushing back - poor service and mediocre food.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

This hotel was beautiful, with a nice, clean, comfortable room. The breakfast was great, with a nice variety to choose from and a chef ready to make something to order. The staff was also very helpful, and often would ask you if you needed anything if they happened to run into you anywhere in the hotel.

Their pool was nice - wonderful for swimming laps with a nice view of the hotel grounds through the window. The grounds were gorgeous, even though it was raining the whole time I was there so I didn't get to see much of it.

The only downside is that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Make sure you have a rental car or a lot of money for cabs if you plan on staying at this hotel. The closest bus stop is about a 10-20 minute walk away, which isn't very practical with luggage. Add to that a half hour bus ride to get to the city of Manchester... At least I can that the staff was very helpful with bus schedules and cabs if you don't have a rental car.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank linteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worsley
0.4 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
6.0 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,641 reviews
5.8 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
5.7 mi away
The Ainscow Hotel
The Ainscow Hotel
#5 of 20 in Salford
531 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Walkden Road | Worsley Park, Worsley, Salford M28 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Worsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
Price Range: £68 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vision of Victorian elegance, the Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a tranquil countryside escape. Featuring an 18-hole championship golf course and on-site spa, our hotel boasts a seamless blend of luxury and comfort. Situated in Manchester, we offer ideal proximity to all that the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Park, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Worsley
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club Greater Manchester
Worsley Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing