We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel poor food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked a weekend for my partners birthday dinner bed and breakfast, only arriving to our suite it was lovely and a special treat of a birthday cake and balloons awaited us. Great location with lovely grounds and bar terrace. We would however only return on bed and breakfast basis as the food for lunch and dinner was poor with service really slow. On sat night in restaurant they gave excuse of large parties in for our 45 min wait for starters, it's not my concern how many other people you have in hotel I am a customer too and expect great service. Then the steak was wrong type we ordered and so fatty we couldn't eat it! On Sunday night in golf club the food was good however the fish was undercooked. Breakfast was lovely however. On checking out I was overcharged for dinner and when I said this I didn't even get an apology, the manager Vicky on duty was certainly grumpy. I would stay at hotel again as lovely location however miss the food out.

Room Tip: Junior suite ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    390
    93
    33
    19
See reviews for
229
376
28
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Impressed with staff on telephone whilst booking and on our arrival
Lovely hotel ,found it clean ,welcoming and overall a lovely enviroment .
Room was a good size well equipped ,apart from the fact that we drink more tea than allocated ,But asked at reception and received more .
My only real really problem was Pillows although lots of them were too soft for me ,but Bed was large and comfy .
Despite being i presume near full ,with weddings etc taking place we found the hotel calm and relaxing ,Yes drinks are above average price but food reasonable and well cooked ,presented and served without a long delay .
Hope to be able to go again shortly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batoutofcley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
286 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

For a break including golf if you play,this is a great location for a break.
Rooms on the fourth floor were excellent and some nice personal touches made it all the more enjoyable.Golf course is in good nick,and has some challenging holes making it a good test of your skills.
Food ,bar and staff all enjoyable and can recommend this hotel for a great relaxing break.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Back at my favourite place for a weekend break - we arrived to enjoy the sunshine in the court yard for the afternoon.

Great warm welcome from Sarah and Vicky on reception and then lots and lots of friendly faces all around the hotel - great to see all of our favourite staff ( Chris, Barry, Scott, Adam, Liz, Lisa) who looked after us so well and even nice to see other regular customers .. Mr C in his usual seat

Menu has been revamped here not so long ago and offers a great choice in both the Tempo and Chimney Bars.

Despite other comments, wifi is free in the bar, reception and courtyard so we could stay in touch..

And finally breakfast .. Can it get any better with a made to order omelette and the famous Worsley Park sausage !

All in all this was a great weekend, great value, relaxing , great staff .. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart_T_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the Marriott as a guest at a friends wedding. The hotel and grounds are very nice, but not that well appointed if i'm honest. None of the wedding guests had air conditioning in their rooms ( nor did the bridal suite as it happens) The staff, in particular Kayleigh are very helpful and friendly.

The major downside to this hotel is that not only are their wedding guest room tariffs way too high but that also they then try to charge guests £6 per hour for internet access. The bar prices are verging on scandalous too, (circa £5 - £6 per drink) I understand that the Marriott offer reasonable wedding packages and it's easy to see why when they are able to extort the wedding guests in such a way. Breakfast is £16 per person and although it's nice enough, it's just another thing that the Marriott over charges for.

Would I return? Not unless I have to. If you're planning a wedding at the Marriott then bear in mind that your guests will be financially violated. Most guests were presented with high unexpected bills for internet access despite having spent circa £600 (per couple) on rooms and drinks for two nights. If you complain then they will waiver it. What does that tell you? To me it seems that they are just trying it on. Wifi is complimentary and expected in most venues these days. Even Mcdonalds offer free wi-fi. Why then does the Marriott, who pitch themselves as upmarket think it acceptable to charge £6 per hour? Seriously, £6 per hour.

You come away from the Marriott with a bad taste in your mouth really, bare minimum numbers of teabags & bathroom consumables in each room, bare minimum room cleaning rather than a deep clean to remove dust from mirrors and under the beds etc. This is a busy hotel and so it must be difficult to run. They seem to run at capacity and as a result the service can feel impersonal. The wedding guests were ushered out of the room shortly after midnight as a procession of cleaners waited outside, not ideal really. Charging premium rates is one thing but delivering an under par service in return is quite another.

If it wasn't for the excellent personality of the reception staff and the exceptional quality of the beds and pillows then I'd have scored this 2 out of 5 simply because the extortion element of the hotel policy makes you feel like you're dealing with rogue company rather than a respected hotel brand. Such a shame really.

Room Tip: Some rooms have interconnecting doors, despite being locked, you may as well have the occupants of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SG12038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard W, Manager at Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us here at Worsley Park, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club. I apologize that your recent stay was not completely satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

You’re a valued guest; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. As a gesture of our good will, we would like to offer a complimentary upgrade for your next stay, with free internet. Please contact me directly when you are ready to make your next reservation. I do want to make you aware that we do have a slection of airconditioned rooms and our internet is free of charge in public spaces such as lobby, bars and Restaurants. There is a charge in room but there is a set price for 24 hrs versus the hourly rate. Again I am sorry that this was not explained to you by us and I look to correct that going forward.

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.


Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

In need of a break from the daily grind of life, hubby and I took our 11 month LO to Manchester but this time picked a hotel with a more relaxing appeal.
Though you could tell the hotel was not targeting families they were v.accommodating, esp the restaurant staff, in particular Id like to thank Vikram for sending up the rest of my complimentary meal as my son was woken up in a fright by foal mouthed men on a stag do! But then again I didn't expect the restaurant to be quiet- all part of the atmosphere I guess.
Nonetheless the rest of the stay was very pleasant, the view from our room was perfect, and the silent night was just what we needed.
The hotel decor was traditional and clean, though think it may need a once over in the corner and window ledges :/
We visited the city centre, local horse riding facilities and other shopping complex, all within short driving distance. Plus the gym, pool and spa in the hotel were top, clean, spacious and had everything that makes it worth using.
Can't really fault it.

Room Tip: My room was 250, though think all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KsrandZain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed three days two nights.Marriot hotel ideally situated within golf course,20 minutes from Manchester City centre & close to local pubs,eating places & canal.Hotel was excellent in every sense.Rooms spacious & well furnished complete with very comfortable two double beds.Spotlessly clean & maintained,ample tea & coffee & T.V complete with free Sky Sports.Free to guests,health centre complete with swimming pool,gym,sauna & steam room proved most welcome.Food was excellent especially breakfast (chefs' own sausages were delightful) served by professional & curteous staff.Drinks (especially coffee)were,as one would expect,expensive but a 20% discount card (for the duration)kept costs down a little.Championship golf course proved testing & perhaps not ideal for high handicap golfers,however,set in splendid surroundings & well manicured & would be enjoyed whatever your ability.The whole three days were hassle free,organised 7 certainly most enjoyable.Would certainly re-visit & would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worsley
0.4 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
6.0 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,452 reviews
5.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
5.8 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Walkden Road | Worsley Park, Worsley, Salford M28 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Worsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vision of Victorian elegance, the Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a tranquil countryside escape. Featuring an 18-hole championship golf course and on-site spa, our hotel boasts a seamless blend of luxury and comfort. Situated in Manchester, we offer ideal proximity to all that the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Park, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Worsley
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club Greater Manchester
Worsley Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing