We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standards as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good standards as expected”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We had a brief family visit here & as expected the Marriot provided good standards all round.
We checked in with friendly receptionists only to find our room (227) had been prepared for two guests not four. After a call to reception this was soon rectified with a suitable apology...we all make mistakes, it's they are rectified that matters.
The room was spacious, clean & tidy with plenty of tea/coffee, biscuits etc.
The swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc we're all a welcome distraction from our busy working lives.
We didn't eat there so can't comment on that side of things.
All told a pleasant location, reasonably close to Manchester city centre...well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    400
    97
    35
    22
See reviews for
243
382
29
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed with my family in this hotel for one night.Iusually prefer to stay in Marriott for my offical and un official visits with my collegues and family.
I had worst experience this time when I stayed at this hotel.
Check in time was 1400 Hrs.When I reached there with my family at 1600Hrs,the room was not ready and we have to wait 1hour and 30 min in the lounge.For this high class hotel this was very disappointing.
I requested for 2 double beds but they offered me only one double bed.I called the room booking before leaving and requested for 2 double beds.
Finally after argument I got room with 2 double beds.
The cleaning spaecially of the toilet was extremly poor and it was so smelly that my son started vomiting.
There was nor air con only one table fan and was not enough.
It was quite suffocating in that room ,we have to open the window.
My wife asked for the sugar and were provided with only 4 small sachets!
Overall experience to stay at Marriott this time was Extremely Extremely DISAPPOINTING.
This trip ruined the enjoyment of kids to stay at Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghulam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for two nights on what had to have been two of the hottest nights in the UK! However, there was no air conditioning, only an open window and a table fan. For a hotel of this stature this was disappointing. To add to our discomfort, the ice machine was broken however the Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and accommodating and brought ice to our door.

All of the amenities were up to the usual Marriott standards and the breakfast buffet was superb.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room so unsure of helpful tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathySpain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard W, Manager at Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us here at Worsley Park, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

You’re a valued guest; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. As a gesture of our good will, we would like to offer a complimentary upgrade for your next stay. Please contact me directly when you are ready to make your next reservation.

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stay here very frequently & are delighted that you have listened to some of us regulars &!) included free wifi in the rooms for Silver members.Unfortunately whilst we are pleased it continues to irk generally & spoiling otherwise great reviews.Perhaps this too will be reconsidered as you are definitely not a budget hotel.Again we had a fabulous stay & even though the hotel has several sporting groups & weddings,things ran smoothly.
The staff are friendly & many are there for a long time,which I always feel is a good sign.it is very handy to motorways & Manchesters attractions & another lovely meal in The dining rooms.Scallops & suckling pig is delicious,& don't forget the hand cut chips-yummy !
See you next month!

Room Tip: We love cobbles rooms.wifi free in public areas & in rooms for Marriott silver +.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilliandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

On arrival the receptionist was most friendly and I was allowed to check in early.

However when going to pay, the bill was £96.00, despite my booking saying £85.00. I mentioned this and the lady said it was £96.00 due to advanced booking. I got my phone out, checked the email and it confirmed it was £85.00. The lady honoured this and asked me to forward the email for their records.

The room was lovely and we received the extras we had requested. The view of the gardens was beautiful too.

I personally think wifi should be free, but this was not the case in the rooms.

I would certainly go back, but as above, would be careful when going to pay - checking the amount!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king_83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights. Lovely hotel , great room and food first rate. Totally spoiled by a completely out of date policy of fleecing guests for wifi. Considering the cost of the stay, to do a ryanair and charge for wifi is dreadful and it's highly unlikely we'll do Marriot again until they enter the 21st century.

Shame on you

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Comfortable rooms, nice shower, tea and coffee making facilities were great (including to go cups which came in handy upon checkout)

The staff had also provided happy anniversary balloons and cake for us, which was very nice and showed that they look at additional requests upon reservation.

There was a wedding party on at the same time as our visit, and i didn't feel like they had taken over or were affecting the relaxing nature of the stay.

Seating area outside to have a pint was lovely, very relaxing and with the sun out, it made it a very nice spot.

However, three criticisms (and they all relate to ££):

1. Breakfast costs was ridiculous, to the point where we bought some fruit from a local shop and ate in our room.
2. Charging £15 per 24hrs for Wi-fi is ludicrous - it's 2014!
3. Drinks were also very expensive. Before going out for food, myself and my partner had two pints and two glasses of red wine. Total cost was £23. I appreciate the hotel should charge extra, but I felt that £23 was incredibly expensive.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but, if we were to return, i'm sure we'll be loading our suitcase with a case of beer, a bottle of wine and some breakfast (all of which will probably be bought for less than £23! :p)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worsley
0.4 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
6.0 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,531 reviews
6.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
5.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
6.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Walkden Road | Worsley Park, Worsley, Salford M28 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Worsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vision of Victorian elegance, the Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a tranquil countryside escape. Featuring an 18-hole championship golf course and on-site spa, our hotel boasts a seamless blend of luxury and comfort. Situated in Manchester, we offer ideal proximity to all that the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Park, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Worsley
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club Greater Manchester
Worsley Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing