We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* Experience on the Gloria....”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worsley, Salford, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gal3899
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5* Experience on the Gloria....”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a 3 night hire on board "Gloria". I booked this trip form my 50th birthday and travelled with my very sceptical wife. Arrived at the Marina and met by Hester, tutoring the first timers on the canal with her expertise . Once reasonably competent I was allowed to take the helm. This was fantastic experience on a well maintained a lovely barge. Gloria has everything you need for a self catering holiday and is extremely comfortable. We travelled to Moore, and yes it is a tight turning circle, this is achievable without being constantly cruising. Life on the canal is what I expected, quiet, relaxing, tranquil and very friendly, with lots of available help if required. Upon return, my wife was no longer sceptical, however I had to do all the work. If you are considering this kind of trip, DO NOT hesitate to book Gloria. The prices are fantastic and cheap by comparison and Hester is there available 24 hours to assist.

Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

Thanks Hester

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thanks for your review John. I'm very glad you had a good time and it's always a winner when one manages so turn the mind of the sceptic. You are both welcome back anytime, I have just purchased a second boat so you'll have more choice next time. Happy 50th!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best weekends of our lives”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We organised a surprise weekend for our friends, the idea was to experience something a little different that neither couple had done before! Once we arrived Hester made us feel welcome on the boat and showed us the ropes… in the pouring rain. I think it's fair to say we were a little nervous of our capability in navigating the boat but 10 minutes later we were cruising down the canal and felt instantly relaxed. The boat is so lovely and cosy and the trip to Lymm was beautiful. Day two was all blue skies and sunshine which just made the experience even better not to mention the fab pubs along the way! The pace is so slow and relaxing, people are friendly, the views so lovely and the boat superb, we couldn't fail to have fun. Thanks for the laughs and new memories

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Lorriane, thanks for posting a review of your stay. Really good to meet you all. Best wishes Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a wonderful experience - get me back on the canals!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently stayed on Gloria for three days and I can not recommended it highly enough. My Fiance has often spoken about a narrow boating trip so for his 30th birthday, after extensive research, I booked our trip. I wrongly had the misconception that narrow boating was geared towards the generations above us but Gloria has been designed beautifully to cater for all ages and tastes. Everything you could need is on this beautiful little boat, even some glamorous fairy lights for the evening! We spent our evenings having a few drinks on the deck and playing the many board games supplied on Gloria. I can not begin to tell you how much fun we had on Gloria, the whole experience was very relaxing and great fun. The canal system there is easy with no locks and saw some beautiful wildlife, a personal highlight was feeding the ducklings in the morning from our deck. I would recomomend Gloria to anyone without hesitation and would gladly say you don't need to look anywhere else, Gloria's your girl!! And big thanks also to Hester, our time on the boat went flawlessly and Hester was great the whole time, very flexible and a great coach. Can't wait to go back again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The boat was quirky and comfortable in design and would easily appeal to all ages
Liked least: Having to give the keys back, we wanted to stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Hey Candy, thanks very much for reviewing 'Gloria'. It's great when a plan comes together and it was good to see that Ryan loved his birthday surprise so much. Welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4cdns
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best service!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had rented Gloria for a week of cruising but unfortunately she had engine trouble the day before our arrival. Hester found us another boat, bigger and more expensive, at NO EXTRA cost to us. She picked us up at our hotel, along with all of our luggage, including bicycles, took us to the grocery store for supplies and then drove us to the marina where the boat was moored. She helped us with everything until we were ready to begin cruising. Upon our return, she picked us up at the marina and dropped us at our hotel door. We did not have to worry about a single thing!

This was our first canal boat experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it but we owe it all to Hester. She did everything to make our holiday memorable in the best way. I would not hesitate at all to book another holiday with Hester and Star Narrowboat Holidays. It is obviously a company with heart and integrity.

Thank you Hester, for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Service
Liked best: Dealing with Hester
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review. It was great to meet you and I'm so glad that everything got sorted for your holiday in the end. All the best Hester.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abit S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, well equipped boat and really nice and hefpull owner”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Gloria (the boat) has everything you could want and more. We had the woodburner on and it was toasty, no need to put the gas central heating on. Hester (the owner) is really nice and very helpful in every way, it was our first time on a narrow boat and she was patient and helpful in every way. The kids loved it and so did we, we will be back I am sure.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review. You know you will be welcome back any-time we have space. Best wishes Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linuxmonk...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great introduction to narrowboating”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked in for a long anniversary weekend earlier this year. I can definitely say we will be back again.

Gloria (the boat) was lovely, very well equipped and warm. We were very well looked after by Hester (not the boat!) all the way through. From the initial booking to dropping the boat back off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service from Hester was excellent
Liked least: The minor gremlins. But these were sorted very quickly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dollydett...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“won over completely”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

New years eve on Gloria warm cosy quiet a world away from the usual NYE noise we loved it. Booked it ages ago and wasnt sure if dec would be very cold with snow, etc so asked for a static booking, Hester the owner is a young lady who is charming and made us feel welcome, on her well equipped boat, We asked if we could take our two cats on board no problem (£20 an animal), took a long walk in the morning and met the friendly boaters along the way, all asking if we were ok and if we needed anything, nice..we slept very well in the rear bedroom, there is central heating but Hester provides oil heaters to be put on and of course the stove which after instruction we kept going all day and night with the coal provided and a small charge for any extra buckets.. The boat is clean and has a fair sized bathroom and a good shower. Would recommend and we hope to visit again, and try our hand at cruising...Thankyou Hester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the boat experince
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thanks very much for your review Jean. You will always be welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing