We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant relaxing weekend”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worsley, Salford, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
h0lidayfr...
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Booked this boat for a long weekend just too see if it suited us. I have only been on cruises never narrow boats. What a fantastic boat it is with everything you should need. The double bed was very comfy with lovely bedding. Hester was very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this superb narrow boat especially to anyone that hasn't tried one before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the lovely people you meet on the way.
Liked least: The two steep steps into cabin, could do with couple of handles to pull yourself up with.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2014
Hello Carole, thanks for leaving your review. I'm glad you had a good trip and welcome back anytime. Best wishes Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim73Manc...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful break......off the scale.....thanks Hester and Gloria.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My 7 year old daughter and I stayed aboard and were joined by mum and dad. Only stayed 2 nights, staying at Sale and then Lymm before returning to Boothstown marina on Tuesday 2nd September. Gloria is well equipped and for a novice like me, I was happy and chilled within about 30 mins of setting off thanks to all the help and guidance from the hour's "tuition" from Hester. Definitely recommend Lymm. Would stay longer than 2 nights next time and explore the country canal networks more. Hester was fab.....what more can I say ? We all loved the break and definitely will be returning before the year is out. 11 / 10 to Gloria - we're missing you already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gloria.......simples !!!!
Liked least: leaving Gloria
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2014
James, I'm glad it was all worth the planning. You know where we are now, see you again sometime. Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L
Wigan
1 review
“An amazing 4 days x”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just spent 4 days on Gloria and everything was perfect. The boat is fantastic and Hester could not be more helpful. As we left today we all felt very sad that our small boating holiday had come to an end. We can not wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The novelty of staying in Manchester
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2014
Thanks for your review. Give us a wave when you next cycle by. Best wishes Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy m
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glorious Gloria”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Glorious Gloria. Says it all. A well fitted holiday home on the canal. We had a fabulous 2 week stay on Gloria whilst completing the Cheshire Ring. Hester did all she could to ensure everything went ahead as smoothly as could possibly be. I would seriously recommend this holiday regardless of length of time you require it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: customer service
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Thanks for reviewing us Andy. Your response to the holiday that you had with us makes it all worthwhile!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley M
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real home from home...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our boating mini break was a bit of an off the beaten track holiday to celebrate a large birthday. Upon our arrival Hester was warm and welcoming and being shown around Gloria we knew we were about to embark on an unforgettable journey. As complete novices we were a little nervous but Hester’s calm, diligent manner and comprehensive tutorial gave us the confidence to relax into our holiday. It wasn’t about ticking boxes or places we needed to see, but just going with the flow and spending quality family time together. This was made very easy for us as Gloria is extremely comfortable and beautifully kitted out with everything you could possibly need, including games and ice! A real home from home. It has been said by another reviewer and I completely agree, Gloria has got soul and we were very sad when it was time to return her. Casting off and leaving the everyday hustle behind brought a sense of peace and tranquillity that lingers on. A rare treat indeed. Thank you Hester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thanks for reviewing your stay aboard 'Gloria' Hayley. I'm looking forward to a progress report if indeed you do decide to buy a boat yourselves...happy hunting! Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Booked a two night stay on Gloria through The University of Manchester. Was a very good experience, the only down side to it was, that we could not pay by debit/credit card for the hire.
And that we got charged £2 for a broken mug.

Despite all, would do it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere of being on the canal
Liked least: there was no kettle on barge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Hi Edith, thanks for reviewing your stay aboard 'Gloria' and I'm glad that you had a good holiday. I am sorry you couldn’t find the kettle - it is always kept on the hob. Yes, we do charge for broken items and this is partly why we hold a £150 cash security deposit which is returned in full if the boat and its contents are brought back without damage – in the early days I used to forget the odd broken plate or glass but with the amount of damage and wear and tear the boat gets it is not financially possible to be so relaxed. One day when we are bigger and more financially stable we will be in a position to take credit card payments until then bank transfer, cash cheque or paypal are the possible payment methods. Glad to see you would have another holiday on a boat we have just purchased boat number 2 and she’ll be operation in October 2014 so come and see her when you are over our way. Best wishes Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gal3899
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5* Experience on the Gloria....”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a 3 night hire on board "Gloria". I booked this trip form my 50th birthday and travelled with my very sceptical wife. Arrived at the Marina and met by Hester, tutoring the first timers on the canal with her expertise . Once reasonably competent I was allowed to take the helm. This was fantastic experience on a well maintained a lovely barge. Gloria has everything you need for a self catering holiday and is extremely comfortable. We travelled to Moore, and yes it is a tight turning circle, this is achievable without being constantly cruising. Life on the canal is what I expected, quiet, relaxing, tranquil and very friendly, with lots of available help if required. Upon return, my wife was no longer sceptical, however I had to do all the work. If you are considering this kind of trip, DO NOT hesitate to book Gloria. The prices are fantastic and cheap by comparison and Hester is there available 24 hours to assist.

Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

Thanks Hester

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thanks for your review John. I'm very glad you had a good time and it's always a winner when one manages so turn the mind of the sceptic. You are both welcome back anytime, I have just purchased a second boat so you'll have more choice next time. Happy 50th!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing