We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, rooms, and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Downton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Downton Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, rooms, and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here with a girlfriend as it was halfway between our homes. Lovely rooms and feel of the whole place. Food and wine great too - made a change to be told what the menu was before hand so we could spend time catching up rather than choosing from the menu. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    18
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
132
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had a brilliant stay. We stayed in room 7 which has a four poster bed and is the very definition of opulence. The bathroom was impressive, with a huge bath and exposed beams. The room even has controlled lighting, which is a nice touch.

The meal we had was outstanding. We ate a 5 course meal there and every course was gorgeous. The dining room is 11th century and has bags of character. The breakfast was also very good, with a range of hot and cold food.

The grounds are impressive. We were lucky with the weather during our stay but it would have been lovely whatever the weather. The sitting room has a relaxed feel and the "honesty bar" was a nice touch. There was also a range of music and books. It felt very comfortable in there and helped us to relax.

The service was exceptional. The manager of the hotel clearly works incredibly hard to run the place smoothly and he made us feel at home.

We would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Weezcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights in room 6 and it was perfect. The rooms are very unique and spotless including home made biscuits (only trouble is one isn't enough). An ideal place to stay if you want to get away from it all and completely relax we could have easily stayed for more nights, the breakfast was lovely and the food in the restaurant was excellent also the honesty bar is a nice touch and the bar area itself is VERY relaxing.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just returned, very sadly, from a two night stay at this beautiful place. The facilities are elegant, sophisticated and really lovely. The food was very good and locally sourced. Absolutely couldn't fault it and would highly recommend for any occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for the night of our wedding and the day afterwards with family and friends taking over all the rooms. The rooms were lovely and we had a meal there on our second night which we asked for a anti pasta selection, a wide variety was providde and the food was excellent, the manager David was very helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were great, this is a perfect place to get away from it all in the Shropshire countryside, only 10 minutes drive from Ludlow with lots of little villages to explore nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

what a great place to stay!...will definately go back..wanted to visit Ludlow for weekend,but this place out shone our weekend stay.David was great,slept like a log in room 1,brill breakfast,didnt eat in restuarant...but we wish we had..next time we will.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our friends had wowed about Old Downton Lodge and it deserved all the praise they lavished on it. Set In Stunning Shropshire countryside it is gorgeous accommodation, all that you love about home but without the hassle of doing anything for yourself. Everyone was friendly, warm and welcoming. We enjoyed great food, lovely walks and a totally relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behappy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downton on the Rock
5.7 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
5.1 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 9 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Clive
The Clive
#1 of 1 in Bromfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Downton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Downton Lodge

Property: Old Downton Lodge
Address: Downton on the Rock | Ludlow, Shropshire, Downton on the Rock SY8 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Downton on the Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Downton on the Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Downton Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fascinating. Intriguing. Mesmeric. Pure escapism just seven miles from Ludlow, in some respects, Old Downton Lodge defies description: It is not a hotel, nor is it really a bed and breakfast or a restaurant with rooms. Each of the nine bedrooms are unforgettable – stylishly converted from historic farm buildings surrounding a flower bedecked courtyard, each is quirky, luxurious, packed with history and designed to make you smile. The hospitality is relaxed and genuine. The food – served in a dramatic dining hall - is exceptional and the wine list inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Downton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Downton Hotel Downton On The Rock
Old Downton Lodge Downton On The Rock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing