We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Downton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Downton Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A beautiful hotel in amazing surroundings. The rooms are spacious and decorated to a very high standard, as is everywhere else in this hotel. We had the taster menu, which was delicious and afterwards retired to the lovely sitting room/bar. The staff were professional, helpful and polite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    18
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
127
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Words cannot describe the experience of staying here. Treat yourself to a luxury home from home break. You will not be disappointed. The surroundings, the rooms, the louge and above all the staff make this a perfect break. Perfect way to spend our 20th anniversary.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Could not fault this place. Had a lovely stay for our first anniversary. The service was impeccable, the bedrooms were beautiful, gardens extremely well maintained and the food was really high quality. In fact we dined the previous night at a Michelin starred restaurant and preferred the food at Old Downton Lodge. We like to try new places and there are every few places we go back to twice but this would be one. Location is also extremely beautiful, we recommend taking a walk to Downton Castle.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank catherine_norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stopped off for one night on our way to North Wales. We had our Jack Russell with us and he was made very welcome like us. The room room pure luxury and large. The buildings had been renovated to a very high standard . Very well attended courtyard gardens with seating. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb and plenty of choice and cooked to order. We are regular travelers around UK and France and this was one of the best places we have stayed at.
Big bonus is it is in a lovely location and very quiet.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located. Our room is one that is allocated for taking a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank penderowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Downton Lodge is set in a marvelous location , off the beaten track but close to the attractions of Shropshire. The room we had was full of character but comfortable and well equipped. The food and service were outstanding and ,on the day that the dining room was closed ,they recommended an wonderful restaurant close by which was almost as good. We would not hestiate to recommend Downton Lodge

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dfmjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great Location, great hotel and very friendly staff!
The restaurant was delicious and the garden is beautiful, perfect for a lovely early evening drink or cup of tea.
The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable.
Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurakron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a touring holiday around England we do every couple of years, and tend to stay at boutique special places and would have to rate this property as one of the best. Every thing is what you would expect from a 5 star property of this type, but the best aspect is the personal service delivered by the Owner/Manager. We had trouble finding the place as we entered from the wrong direction and quickly got lost in narrow country lanes so were a bit frustrated when we arrived, but this was quickly forgotten with the warm, nothing is too much trouble welcome, including a personal transfer and pick up from a nearby recommended restaurant. as there was no dinner being served that night. We did have dinner here the following night and it was outstanding. even though the regular chef was away. Beautiful bedrooms, common lounges and dining room with great food and atmosphere. A little bit out of the way, but many will find this part of the appeal. Though at the upper end of the market, cost wise, I thought it to be great value for what you get. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downton on the Rock
5.7 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
5.1 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 9 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Clive Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Downton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Downton Lodge

Property: Old Downton Lodge
Address: Downton on the Rock | Ludlow, Shropshire, Downton on the Rock SY8 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Downton on the Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Downton on the Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Downton Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fascinating. Intriguing. Mesmeric. Pure escapism just seven miles from Ludlow, in some respects, Old Downton Lodge defies description: It is not a hotel, nor is it really a bed and breakfast or a restaurant with rooms. Each of the nine bedrooms are unforgettable – stylishly converted from historic farm buildings surrounding a flower bedecked courtyard, each is quirky, luxurious, packed with history and designed to make you smile. The hospitality is relaxed and genuine. The food – served in a dramatic dining hall - is exceptional and the wine list inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Old Downton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Downton Hotel Downton On The Rock
Old Downton Lodge Downton On The Rock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing