We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this tourist trap”
Review of Camaron Dorado

Camaron Dorado
Ranked #15 of 27 Restaurants in Brasilito
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this tourist trap”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Extremely over priced for what you get. Is the view nice? Yes - but there are a million restaurants with views just as nice. We new we made a mistake when the tourist vans started rolling in one after another. All the local guides recommend this place because they are incentivized to do so. If you like bland pricey food and don't mind being accosted by street vendors while trying to eat - come here. Otherwise do yourself a favor and head over to Tortugas where everything is fresh or head over to Flamingo and go to Coco Loco - much better choices and better prices. FYI - tried to use credit cards and were told that the phone lines were down and we had to pay cash - we told them we would wait until the phones were working - later learned that this is a scheme used to manipulate the exchange rate that they cannot do when running a charge through your credit card company. Avoid this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sassyk-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    52
    39
    24
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic view, right on the beach!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had this restaurant recommended to us by the concierge's service associated with our house rental and this restaurant did not disappoint. The food was absolutely fabulous - probably some of the best shrimp I've ever had. We were smack dab on the beach and able to dig our toes into the sand. The service was very good and what one would expect in an upscale restaurant, which can be a little surprising when you realize you are digging your toes into the sand as they bring the water bowl with flowers to wash your hands.
Oh the salad is also very good with fresh hearts of palm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarmodyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful restaurant on the beach”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Delicious food. Appetizers were so good I wished I hadn't ordered dinner. Servers were great, atmosphere wonderful. It isn't cheap, but you do get a lot of food. The shrimp, squid, and fish were so fresh! Loved the fact that they had a shuttle van. Would definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were recommended the Camaron Dorado by our hotel concierge. After a morning spent at Playa Conchal, we decided to make our way back to this restaurant in Brasilito and give it a try. The tables were not only beachfront, they were ON the beach sand. We all thought the location was wonderful. Is it fancy? No. Overall it is a simple local restaurant full of local charm. Previous reviews spoke of it being tourist-y. I thought the contrary. We were approached by mariachis, but quickly dismissed them without a complaint, and went back to listening to the waves. In fact most tables were full of local families (we were there on a Sunday afternoon). Now, the food - the casado plate was great and the fish was the BEST piece of fish we ate in Costa Rica. Absolutely perfectly cooked and perfectly seasoned. Some reviews say it was over-priced. We paid less for our casado plates than we did at any other local restaurants. I can't speak for the specialty seafood plates. If you are in Conchal, Brasilito or Playa Flamingo, looking for simple restaurant experience with a view of the ocean that can't be beat and great Costa Rican food, this is it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alouettes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great View...even better food!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staying in Playa Flamingo we were planning to head into Brasillito for dinner. We wanted to catch the sunset during dinner. We drove by Camaron Dorado and once we spotted this little gem we decided to turn around....so glad we did!!

Drinks: Pina Colada comes out in a actual pineapple made with all fresh ingredients, one of the best pina coladas I have EVER had and I love pina coladas

View: Right on the beach, sunset was amazing

Service: Above amazing! Before your meal is served they bring out a fresh water bowl with flowers for your to rinse your hands in and then again after dinner with lime and cucumber. The server was extremely friendly and gave us recommendations on the best way for the lobster and shrimp we were craving to be cooked. We speak spanish but all the waiters spoke really good english. The next day we returned with our fresh catch from our fishing trip and the same waiter that we had the night before was there.....he remembered both our names and had the chef season and cook our black tuna to perfection.

Food: We tried the garlic shrimp and lobster and the chicken casado.
Everything was super fresh and delicious!
*If you decide to go on a fishing trip and catch fish they will cook it for you at a very small fee

Prices: Tourist prices

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camaron Dorado also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Camaron Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing