We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff and owner”
Review of Brasilito Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brasilito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brasilito Lodge
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were going to Playa Conchal and were looking for a place to camp. We found their website and called to ask for the rate to camp. We were told 2000Colones. When we arrived the lady that handles most things for the German owner took one look at our Nisson Exterra and and asked us "sabes como es la vara?" meaning do you know what the deal is? Confused we said no and she charged us 3000 colones. we then told her she had said 2K over the phone and she left it at 2K but said if we wanted to park the car by the tent it would be 1000 more or to park it outside the premises by the beach which has a heavy traffic flow and people walking by. Leaving it unattended would most likely get our car broken into at night. She told us to take it up with the owner so we spoke to him and he wanted 3000pp so basically he was putting us in a bad spot to have no choice but to pay to park our car next to our tent for an extra 2000 colones. Campsites here provide bathrooms, shower, a sink, electrical outlet, and light. This is pretty standard even if the bathrooms are disgraceful hahaha. Later on that night we cooked our dinner on our grill but it was dark so we took our plates to sit on cement block by the rooms where there was light. The lady came out to tell us we were bothering the clients that had paid to be in the rooms and that this area was for them and we needed to stay by the tent. We then told her that we were not staying there free either and we are clients too.We explained that we had no light and just wanted to eat our dinner. She would raise her hands to her head in frustration looking at our food as if we had a huge mess and kept harping on that these were paying customers. She then stormed off but returned 2 min later with a light bulb plug in murmuring loud enough for us to hear that this is why they dont like to deal with campers and that renting spots to campers is always a problem. She then told us to get our extension cord (in a harsh tone) because she "saw we had one".

We didnt even finish our meal becausec we were fuming at how our treatment had been so far. We left early the next morning. We refused to pay for another night just to camp on their grounds and get treated as if we were imposing on them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sequeira12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at Brasilito Lodge and the host - Klaus, could not have been more helpful. He went to the supermarket to get us a mosquito plug and also changed our dollars for us at the bank-returning with the receipt! He even took us to the airport and we paid him instead of having the issue of finding a taxi. He gave us a guided, informative, tour ---in English, with lots of interesting local snippets of information.
The rooms were basic with private toilet and shower facilities- although at first the cold water was a shock, we soon became used to it and showered early while we were hot off the beach. Klaus provided towels, loo roll, soap and a 2 ring electric cooker. He also gave us the use of 2 pans, plates and cutlery. We felt safe and secure.
The beauty of Brasilito Lodge is that it is cheap and only a short walk along the beach to Playa Conchal which has golden sands and warm seas.
We were able to go on this trip because we employed a family business to look after our home and pets while we were away. [-] took over at home, allowing us to enjoy the rest and relaxation that Costa Rica has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdmUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
4  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos_Gamboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Trisquelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank katherine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasilito hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Brasilito
Hotel Brasilito
#2 of 3 in Brasilito
304 reviews
0 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
559 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Nany
Hotel Nany
#3 of 3 in Brasilito
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villas Jinesta
Villas Jinesta
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
63 reviews
0 mi away
Quinta Esencia B&B
Quinta Esencia B&B
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
186 reviews
0 mi away
Cabinas Diversion Tropical
Cabinas Diversion Tropical
#2 of 3 in Brasilito
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brasilito Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasilito Lodge

Address: 100 mtr. sur del Hotel Brasilito sobre Camino a Playa Conchal, Brasilito 223, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Brasilito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Brasilito
Price Range: £14 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brasilito Lodge offers budget rooms, different sizes, nice clean campground with lots of shade trees, Internet, on beachfront. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing