We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pass It Up”
Review of Don Brasilitos

Don Brasilitos
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Brasilito
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Don Brasilitos, one the most relaxed and friendly bars you'll come across. Situated right in beautiful Playa Brasilito, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, enjoy your time drinking the cheapest beers and booze around. The food is good, fast, and easy on the wallet as well. We've got everything from traditional Costa Rican cuisine and delicious seafood, to pizza, pasta, and typical American and Mexican dishes. A true blend of everyone including ex-pats, locals, and tourists, all come to Don Brasilitos to enjoy the pure life. We’re open 11am-1am, 7 days a week, all year long, so stop by and pay us a visit!
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pass It Up”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is your average neighborhood bar for the locals. You will see more than you want here, all the way down to the riff raff. We did not feel safe here in the broad daylight. There were too many thugs and undesirables all around plus not many "foreigners" like us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasFilly811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    79
    50
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really awesome spot in Brasilito ”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Good spot to find old and meet new friends! You will always have a drink in your hand at this place! Thanks to the Don!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank CurtisRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitewater colorado
Level Contributor
230 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise -- in spite of the sign!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were staying over at Conchal, so this was relatively close. We came at night but realize there's a good beach/ocean view. Between 6 of us, we ordered a smorgasboard. Everything was better than mediocre, in fact we all must have been hungry because we ate everything. Plenty to go around -- I had a pizza! Large (2 liter) bottles of beer at a decent price. When we walked in we wondered if the service would be that -- "service" -- and it actually was. What is weird and may make people think this is 2nd-rate is their sign: a voluptuous bikini-clad woman (think Ursula Andress) being closely followed by Danny Trejo on a harley motorcycle. Regardless of initial preconceptions, we went away satisfied.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiburondelnorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat by the sea”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great food and good prices! Great view of the Pacific Ocean. They have added new tables and chairs recently. Not our first trip to eat here. We are return customers!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Americana in Brasilito”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Eh. This place has a super American feel - and while I know that makes some travelers more comfortable, that isn't why we went to Costa Rica.

My husband's food - chicken wings, followed by a meat-chicken-pork kabob platter - was fantastic. I ordered the pasta and it was nearly disgusting. Mediocre service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_Doom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Brasilitos also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Don Brasilitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing