We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food! Great setting!”
Review of Golden Shrimps

Ranked #18 of 26 Restaurants in Brasilito
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food! Great setting!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We walked to the restaurant from the Westin hotel, they will provide a shuttle to/from but we went for lunch and the walk was not far along the beach path and you are able to walk thru the little area of Brasilito which had small souvenir shops and local establishments which were interesting. (The souvenir prices on the beach behind the hotel tended to be better and friendlier). The restaurant was great. We had a table in the sand waiting for us and we were treated very graciously from beginning to end. The ceviche and calamari were both fresh and excellent, the drinks were decent and the local fare of casados (rice, beans, plantain and meat/fish) meals were all very good! We did have a local dog walk with us along the beach half way back to the hotel but there were no dogs present while we ate. Good all around experience!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Other reviews about the wait staff were true to form, they told us the 10% service charge went to the police. We fell for the appetizers for the table suggestion that we wouldn't do at home, and had too large, and expensive platters of Seafood. The coconut shrimp was excellent, but the calamari was mediocre at best. Lobsters were good as well. The chicken didn't meet standards in comparison with other local restaurants. There was a mariachi band that was a fun addition, but got a bit annoying after a while.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethelake99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gringas should shut their yap”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Shut up Grin-gas !! I am so tired of hearing you. I came from Canada to get away from your crap
You know what , Costa Rica is different., enjoy the difference and don't assume you are in Toronto or New york.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Azimuth1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dining on the beach”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This place sent a shuttle for us to our hotel (no charge)- dining right on the beach- very casual- sand under your feet- had excellent ceviche- fried plantains, pacific lobster & gorgeous sunset view of the beach. Service excellent- atmosphere outstanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique spot on the beach”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I didn't know what to expect when we stopped by here for lunch. Seemed very strange at first with the staff and the set up, but then we sat down and immediately we had 3 different servers come to the table. One to take a drink order, one to explain the food and specials and the other with a bowl of water and flowers to wash your hands. The food was very good and fresh with very cordial service. What started out as may have seemed like a bad movie ended up being a unique experience watching horses on the beach and a relaxing lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Shrimps also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Golden Shrimps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing