We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Beach Hotel with Great Service”
Review of Hotel Brasilito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Brasilito
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brasilito
Seattle
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant Beach Hotel with Great Service”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel has a friendly staff and very high standards of cleanliness and service. We stayed in a room on the second floor, overlooking the restaurant patio and the beach. Two rooms--A and B--share the balcony and a hammock. See my room tips for differences between the two. The rooms are large, comfortable, and completely cleaned daily. The hot water was a bit chancy, and the water pressure in the shower was very low. Otherwise, the accommodations were terrific. Owner Shelly was very helpful in planning excursions, and all the staff went beyond duty in meeting our needs over our 10-day stay. The restaurant was great, so convenient and reasonable that we only ventured out to other places late in our stay. I'd encourage trying some of the others, like Soda Brasilito, practically next door, which was terrific, Don Brasilito's, Nony's. We paid about $60/night, which is reasonable but not cheap, and, given that it did not include breakfast, was the highest rate we paid in Costa Rica. I loved the Playa Brasilito, a nice calm swimming beach. We did venture down the 10-15 minute walk to Playa Conchal, which has shade trees, lots of local visitors, food and snorkel equipment vendors, and an entrance from the All-Inclusive resort. The snorkeling that day was not very good--very cloudy water conditions, so I didn't return. Maybe I should have given it another try, because it is reputed to have good snorkeling, and the beach is very popular locally. However, I was pretty happy sitting on our balcony overlooking Playa Brasilito with cold drink in hand between dips in the sea!

Room Tip: Rooms A & B are on the 2nd floor and share a balcony above the restaurant patio. They look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleSueSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    90
    62
    23
    15
See reviews for
49
133
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been to a lot of places in Costa Rica and Playa Brasilito is our very favourite place. And Hotel Brasilito is a great place to stay. Our room was basic but clean. Had lots of hot water and a fan for a very affordable price. There are chairs and tables in front of the rooms so we could sit near our place with a beer and glass of wine and enjoy the days or evenings. Hotel Brasilito has an open air restaurant where we had most of our breakfasts and some other meals. It has wifi and it's across the road from the beach Playa Brasilito. But the best beach is just 10 min down to Playa Conchal where you can swim in the clear waters. If we come back to Costa Rica we would head straight to Playa Brasilito and Hotel Brasilito!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicademusVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our second stay for a night at the Hotel Brasilito in Costa Rica. We were out for a drive one day and came upon this little gem. It has so much local flavor ,charm and provides an excellent dining experience. Both times we have stayed in one of the 2 rooms facing the beach These 2 rooms are located ,upstairs above the patio restaurant and have a wide balcony from which to watch the little road, beautiful beach and breath-taking sunsets. Horses, ATV's ,people walking by all pass in front of the hotel and the beach directly across is great ,providing a place for long walks and swimming.The sunsets there are especially beautiful. If you go to the western end of the beach,up onto the little road and continue on a bit you will find yourself on the beautiful Playa Conchal, There is an all-inclusive hotel on that beach, snorkling,lots of shells, a long stretch of lovely white sand and great swimming. Back at the Hotel Brasilito,our room was a good size,very plain but clean with a large shower and hot water in the shower but cold water in the sink. We chose not to have air conditioning,using just the large overhead fan but another time we would go with the former. It was a bit noisy with the window open and too warm. . There is a hammock and a couple of chairs outside on the verandah . The dinner and breakfast we had there were both excellent. Besides the outdoor patio restaurant there is a larger space for dining and a bar under the roof and there are other rooms in which to stay around a pretty little courtyard. behind the restaurant. There are a couple of shops in the village,car rental,bank,other places to eat ,a lovely little church and they were building a grandstand for a rodeo being held later on. Brasilito is small but interesting and the hotel charges a very reasonable price and is in a great location. . Our room was $59 a night plus tax. The hotel seems to be well run and I was impressed that when I e-mailed from another hotel in Costa Rica, I heard back immediately. It is a popular spot for people to gather for drinks and meals. Playa Flamingo is a very short drive away.

Room Tip: Try for rooms A or B above patio restaurant and facing the beach . A great spot for watching the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154976Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I took the last room available, and the simplest (no AC, fan worked fine) but a great price. The area is getting ridiculously expensive...well not really, it's beautiful out there and worth every penny. Stayed two nights. Restaurant staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous. I should have left a larger tip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel only 1 out of the 4 nights we have booked. ALL room categories - though very different in pricing- are similar to each other. The rooms we have been showed have all been cleaned for the last time long time ago.
Apart from the dirt and miserable hotel equipment, I woke up with a BUG ATTACHED TO MY TOE! It obviously waited in the sheets for his next victim to suck blood. Also there is a very noisy Bar next door, which plays Reggeaton until 5 a.m. Stuff was friendly but ignorant and not caring.

Room Tip: None, book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldcitizen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Brasilito for 8 nights, and its simple charm left me more relaxed than I've been in many years. If being a blink away from the surf, in a super comfy room, for an exceptional price is what you are looking for, this is your place. Run with great efficiency by Shelley and her friendly staff-just email with any questions & she will answer promptly. The restaurant serves good food (try the chicken soup) and drinks all day too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmilita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This isn't The Ritz, but it's a great place to stay if you want to experience the real Costa Rica.. Clean, comfortable and fun.. Shelly will give you hints about activities in the area.. The beach is right at the reception area, the dining area is the place to watch the beach and the locals interact.. The food and service is good and there are several other places to eat for variety.. If you get bored here, it's because you wanted to..

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gayle3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brasilito
0.2 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nany Playa Brasilito
Hotel Nany Playa Brasilito
#3 of 3 in Brasilito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#2 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brasilito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brasilito

Property: Hotel Brasilito
Address: Frente la Mar | 50 metros oest de la plaza, Brasilito 5001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Brasilito
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brasilito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brasilito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brasilito Beach and an easy walk to Playa Conchal, our affordable clean hotel rooms have hot water and air conditioning is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brasilito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing