We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, comfortable stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Promenade

View of beach and private garden from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of beach and private garden from balcony
living area living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View of beach and private garden from balcony
living area
living area
living area
view from balcony
kitchen
kitchen
Shower room
WC
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pevensey Bay, Pevensey, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janetc201...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thanks to Lilian and Alan for providing a really comfortable holiday home. The sea was yards away - fantastic view and really enjoyed the sounds of the waves. Great local amenities and within easy distance of Eastbourne, Bexhill etc. A great find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nearness to the sea
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It gives us great pleasure to know that our guests have a Happy Holiday Break at The Promenade.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen g
Strood
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delightful studio, right on the beach.”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lilian, the owner met us on arrival. Very friendly lady, explaining everything about the studio and also what the surrounding area had to offer.
The studio is right on the beach, opening the french doors and letting the sound of the sea come in the bedroom in the morning is a treat. The decor is delightful, fresh and clean with a homely touch. Must say the bed is soooo comfy...
The kitchen does not have an oven and grill but it does have a hob, microwave with a grill and a george foreman grill and the cupboards are well stocked with pots and pans etc. if you did want to cook. But as there is a lovely bakery round the corner that does breakfasts,teas and dinners you don't really need to.
There is a small patio at the back with a table and also the garden by the sea has a table and chairs etc.(weather permitting).Otherwise you eat at the table upstairs.
Close to several good pubs serving good food and that have entertainment. Walkable distance to Pevensey and a short drive to Eastbourne So all in all an idea place to stay for a peaceful weekend away. Hope to return in the future. Thoroughly recommend this lovely studio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to the sea
Liked least: No oven or grill( but that is a personal thing no way detracts from the studio)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are pleased to hear you had a good time staying at The Promenade and hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECH25
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a place.”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A perfect place to stay. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, suggesting places to visit and eat. The Promenade was beautifully decorated and very well equipped. It was a lovely and peaceful place to wake up, open up the curtains and see the sea. Bliss. And our dogs enjoyed being so close to the beach. We enjoyed it so much we are going back in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Right on the beach, fantastic view.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Promenade.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyn9757
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“basic”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

compared to other places I have stayed in the area in the last 5years for less money...although very clean and warm ..just lacked basic things...condiments ...soap and shower gel ... no extra toilet roll and the Wi Fi was a bit hit and miss.. great location..but maybe not in November every where was very wet under foot... watched a great fireworks display on Sunday night on the beach from the Juliet balcony ..hats off to ever put that on

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as we take great care in trying to provide a relaxing holiday home with all comforts and a great view.
The cost was agreed by you at the time of booking. Condiments were in the kitchen cupboard and Tea/Coffee/Milk were there for your arrival. The Studio is self catering so soap and shampoo are not included. However on your arrival I did say that anything you requested would be supplied. We have had no other visitors complain about the WiFi. We are sorry if rain spoiled your November weekend and wish you happy holidays in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jancallen...
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A really relaxing few days away with great sea views and just a hop & a skip to shops, pubs and restaurants. A great stay for 2 people plus a huge welcome for our dogs.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
Thank you for your much appreciated review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the Studio an ideal place to enjoy a holiday with your dogs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie O
2 reviews
“lovely apartment”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent apartment, very clean and comfortable. We and or dog were made most welcome by the owners. Lovely location right on the beach front.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: can not think of anything to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
So pleased that you both, with your doggie, enjoyed your time at The Promenade. Thank you for your nice comments. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
Hayle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Upon arrival I & Juan (my dog) were given a warm welcome by Lillian who then showed me around and let me know where everything is.
A welcome pint of milk along with tea and coffee were a welcome sight after the long drive up from Cornwall.
A cup of Coffee made it was time to soak up the view of the beach and sea from the balcony.
Juan was anxious to explore his doggy friends on the beach so of we went and stopped in for some food at one of the many local pubs. The evening came and Juan and I settled down for the night. the balcony doors open listening to the sounds of the beach and sea.
The bed was so comfortable and a good night rest was had. I found everything I needed to make my "Busman's Holiday" perfect.
I Run my own 3 star self catering holiday accommodation and appreciate the work that goes on behind the scenes.
I found the accommodation very clean and thoroughly enjoyed my peaceful getaway it is ideal for anyone planning a relaxing break with a dog as most of the pubs are doggy friendly and there is a recreation ground by the Castle not far away with large meadows for your dog to run free and make friends.
All in all Thank you Lillian and Alan 10 out of 10 *****

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;