We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kingston Estate
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Durant Arms(Ashprington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
72
7
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
7
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbass cottagewedding venuewonderful weddingwould highly recommend this venuegames roomfriends stayingself cateringidyllic settingplay areahot tubswimming poolcomfortable bedsa great staysouth hamstotnesjackdaws
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed in Walnut Cottage and had friends staying next door in the Coach House. We had a brilliant week with grown-ups, kids and dogs having a great time. The owners were really lovely and Claude the dog was quite a sight! The paddocks were great for exercising the dogs (and kids) every day (even though we had enclosed gardens), and the small pool and hot-tub were a welcome sight at the end of each days local adventures. Nothing was too much trouble - we had beautiful sunny weather and mentioned that we'd have liked some garden furniture to sit out and enjoy it - within an hour it was in our gardens. The cottages are extremely well equipped with everything from washing powder and dishwasher tablets to foil and food mixers - the doggy packs were great too. Beautifully secluded - a real place to escape to.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeborahHelliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed in The Coach House 23-30 December and on arrival the cottage was warm and cosy and spotlessly clean. We were 'forunate' enough to arrive whilst the snow was still down and although icy in places - the setting looked just magical - like christmases of long ago - all white all around and blue skies and sunshine - couldn't have asked for better! All the rooms looked great. The four poster was very comfortable. There was a lovely Hamper with home made mince pies which were absolutely lovely. There was also bread, milk, eggs, cereals etc which was lovely. Ate in a few lovely pubs there - the Pig & Whistle for Christmas Day - biggest dinner we have ever seen, The Sea Trout on Christmas Eve - really lovely Pub with an extensive menu and The Monks Retreat in Broadhempston - The best Steak i have had in a very long time!! Superb.
There was internet access (not wifi) and wood supplied for the log burner - ooh so cosy!
Michael & Elizabeth invited us in for Mulled Wine and mince pies on Christmas Eve which was lovely and we heard about their labour of love in restoring the estate - what a good job they have done. Absolutely beautiful setting - very quiet and peaceful - nothing was too much trouble. Claude the Great Dane was the biggest dog we have ever seen and quite a character! we would certainly recommend Kingston to anyone and will be back again - hopefully for Christmas again next year and possible taking friends as well -
An ideal location to either stay in and chill out and relax - or explore all the lovely towns and villages in the surrounding area. We really did have a lovely time - thoroughly enjoyed the Coach House (do you want to sell it??) and the time went all too quickly. Wished we stayed longer for New Year as well for the 'Black Tie' event which also sounded lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed in the Coach House and found this cottage to be very comfortable. It was very well equipped and the cleanliness was to a high standard. Having taken our dog the closed in garden was very useful although the estate itself is very secluded. Mrs Corfield was very friendly, as were all of the staff, and Claude (the Great Dane) is adorable! The moveable feasts are a must - these meals are delivered ready to be reheated and the quality is excellent and the prices very reasonable. The small leisure centre is excellent and very well presented. All in all Kingston Estate is of a high standard and a real find, and I would have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We statyed for a week in "owl" cottage. It was as described, quite small but fine for 2 adults and 2 children. It was very much "country style", with some of the fittings being quite old but this went with the character of the cottage and in no way disappointed us. There were modern touches such as free wi-fi (I really resent having to pay ludicrous sums in other places). There were some nice extras, such as good quality toiletries and a great welcome hamper with home-made cakes, a barbecue to borrow inc charcoal, etc etc. The Corfields and their staff were very charming and always helpful, for example when the kettle stopped working they delivered another in less than 10 minutes!

The location is fantastic - very quiet and deep in the Deven countryside but not too far by car from places to visit and eat. The leisure facilities were very good - the pool is small, but has a current pump so you can still swim.

In summary - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We were the only ones in the main house over a bank holiday weekend, although the self-catering cottages were full. In hindsight, that may have been a sign of something.

We stayed in the Red Suite and found it drafty (the bathroom window is falling apart) and dusty (scallops of dust could be seen on the balloon-style roman shades when they were let down for the night, and on the red fabric behind the bed). The bathroom floor is carpeted right up to the toilet, which seems unsanitary. The bed linens and pillows felt like polyester. These factors led to a less-than-luxurious experience.

However, the welcome was warm, the host and hostess were lovely, the breakfasts were bountiful (but not served before 8:45 am) and the one dinner we had there was tasty and well-prepared. We also enjoyed meeting the dogs and were impressed by the Corfields' commitment to dog rescue.

WIth more attention to housekeeping details and selective upgrades to finishes the Kingston Estate could be fabulous. For those interested in staying in a circa 1735 home of considerable character and historical interest, it may still be worth a visit.

Stayed: May 2010
6  Thank frogprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews