We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts with the Most!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crowborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill Cottage Crowborough
Ranked #1 of 9 Crowborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our first morning home my husband and I looked at each other and wondered where Maggie was to make us our delicious breakfast!! Ted and Maggie are fantastic hosts and make you feel spoiled and well taken care of.
We stayed 7 nights at Hill Cottage and the service was first rate all the way – very clean rooms, clean towels (and big bath towels – not those puny things some places use!!), comfy and good quality bed linens, self-serve coffee and tea in the rooms with proper cups and saucers, bottled water, shampoos and soaps, great shower, hairdryer provided (very useful to those with different electrics), magnifying mirror - all in all very nicely appointed rooms, thoughtfully done and exceptionally well maintained. And having worked in the hospitality business for 15 years, from the design and procurement end, I realize the thought and decisions that go into so many little details regarding items and quality to create a comfortable place for guests.
In a couple of reviews the location of the pub next door was mentioned along with noise. Since those reviews Ted and Maggie have had double glazed windows installed and during our stay they were well put to the test! Someone called “Chan” was advertised to be playing one night at the pub and we watched as cars and taxis kept arriving – the place was PACKED to overflowing. There were probably as many people outside the pub as inside it – it was a great night for the pub! And for us too! Our room was the front room closest to the pub and my husband is very noise sensitive – but we were not disturbed one bit. The new windows really do the trick, plus they look like they belong – an important thing in a century cottage.
And as for feeling a lack of privacy upstairs – that never occurred to us – and anyway, isn’t that one of the fun things about staying at a B&B as opposed to a hotel? You get to meet new people from other places!
There is really nothing we can say that many others haven’t already said about Hill Cottage and Maggie and Ted. They are gracious hosts, they warmly greet you into their home, they are knowledgeable of the area and full of advice – even for chiropractic care which my husband needed! And Maggie, thank you for all of the entertaining discussions. We loved talking with you!
Ted and Maggie know their business and carry it out in a professional but friendly manner, nothing seems to ruffle them, they will go out of their way to help you – and always with a smile on their face. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.
Thank you Ted and Maggie for making our stay so pleasant, we hope to see you again, or if you ever come to Canada – come visit us!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

We know you and your husband had a great time and we are really grateful for your fabulous review - you specially mentioned the new double glazing, and we really just want to say that one of our local tradesmen (who we knew well from our pub days next door!) did an absolutely brilliant job making them an almost perfect match to the extremely old original windows, so you could almost believe they'd always been there - completely unobtrusive and totally effective!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just stayed here the one night on a business trip and arrived quite late, but room clean, comfortable and quiet. The three things that are important to me when I'm working the next day.
Breakfast was excellent and I would have no hesitation in recommending Ted & Maggie's B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

a very pleasant stay, rooms comfortable and spacious and an excellent breakfast, have already booked another night !!

Maggie and Ted are a very hospitable couple and full of advice and local knowledge,

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulthebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A very comfortable B&B and one we would have no hesitation in recommending to people or returning to. Ted and Maggie are very friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome in staying in their place. The breakfast was quick, wonderful and our twin room was very clean, comfy and cosy. The pillows are tremendously soft and we had a very good night's sleep (which is unusual for me anyway). Many thanks both.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thanks for your very nice review, we're pleased you had such an enjoyable weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is a great B&B. Maggie and Ted are very friendly and cook a great breakfast. The bedrooms are extremely comfy and cosy. The quality bed linen definitely makes a difference. I would however recommend a stand up shower in the private bathroom or adding a shower curtain to the bath so can use the current one stood up without soaking the floor. Other than that I would say it's a perfect place to stay. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thanks very much for your very kind review, we do take your point about the shower over the bath and we are looking at ways of improving this, but it is a large corner bath and the shape makes things a bit awkward, so we just have to warn guests about the power of the water as we have high pressure here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My wife and I stayed just one night, but now we have to find an excuse to stay longer (even though we live only 40 minutes down the road!)

Ted & Maggie were the perfect hosts. The rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfortable. During the night it was so quiet that we both slept like babies. The shower in the morning was a very refreshing Aqualisa power shower and breakfast was perfect.

At 6'7" I'm a little tall for 17th century cottages, but that didn't detract from the overall pleasantness of our stay. The bed was plenty big enough for me and I remembered to duck at the correct time most of the time!

I can honestly say that we have never stayed at a better B&B than this one. It was simply delightful and extremely good value for money. Thank you and we hope to see you again very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firmpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

What delightful guests you were, and we did wonder how you would cope being so tall but clearly you managed fine. Glad you enjoyed yourselves here and at your party and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Maggie and Ted began our wonderful stay when they greeted us at the door and could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and incredably clean, as was the rest of the b n b. Maggie and Ted were able to recommend local things to do and recommended a lovely restuarant to eat in. We stayed for 2 nights and each morning enjoyed a fantastic breakfast which saved us eating any lunch! Our bed was extremely comfy and we had a private bathroom which was lovely and again spotlessly clean. The b n b is situated next to a very friendly pub which was nice to visit. Both of us could not recommend Maggie and Ted and Hill Cottage more highly and would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

The best B&B you've stayed in is a great compliment, thank you, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hill Cottage Crowborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Cottage Crowborough

Address: Hill Cottage Mount Pleasant, Crowborough TN6 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Crowborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crowborough
Price Range: £40 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Cottage dates back to around 1600 and is a quaint,cosy, heavily beamed stone built country cottage, set in a quiet wooded spot on the edge of town next to a traditional English country pub, yet within short walking distance of Crowborough's two main business parks, local bus services, and the mainline station with trains to London which is just an hour away. Whether your stay is for business, pleasure, or a mixture of the two, we make sure your day gets off to a great start with a wonderful breakfast, and a light packed lunch too if required. There is plenty of car parking, free WiFi, flat screen TV and a hairdryer in your room, comfortable beds with quality linen, fresh fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. We look forward to meeting you and making your stay in Crowborough most enjoyable....... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hill Cottage Crowborough East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing