We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miserable Tenants”

The Boar's Head Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 38 Restaurants in Crowborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The most traditional English pub for many many miles serving Harveys real ale (& others) Log burning inglenook fireplaces add to the truly authentic atmosphere. Beautiful views over the Sussex/Kent border & the local 9 hole golf course. The perfect place for a quiet drink, game of darts, cribbage or shove Ha'penny amongst other games.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Miserable Tenants”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The beer here is pretty good, the decor is fairly nice, the food is quite reasonable, but boy, I have to say that I have never been greeted or served by such a miserable couple as these two!

Situated on the outskirts of Crowborough, you will need to turn off the main road just past the petrol station if you wish to visit this pub. My advice, only call in if you are thirsty, hungry or deaf.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Nice Pub and not too expensive. Went for Saturday lunch to meet up with friends. Only people in dining room. Meal was good. Bar staff not very friendly

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good pub meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Been past this pub a few times since moving to the area, and finally gave it a try tonight. All four of us had steak, which was very good indeed. Deserts didn't let us down either. The place was very quiet, mostly because there was a local carnival on. I hope it's busier next time, because it deserves to be.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumblingDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice pub but not so friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely location and pub but not such a friendly welcome. We arrived about 6.45 only to be told when we went to look at the food board "we don't serve until 7pm!" I was disappointed at how curtly this was said, we only wanted to look at the specials board! The service by the waitress waitress was okay but she seemed unsure of what hse needed to do and was a bit forgetful. The food was nice but nothing beyond the standard pub fayre. Shame as you got the feeling that this pub is frequented by locals who enjoy the atmosphere and service gut not welcoming to those who are not regulars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice food shame about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Friends of ours rave about this pub which is on our doorstep so we decided one Friday evening to give it a go. We walked into a typical dark English pub where all the locals stare at you as if you have two heads, not a great start. They don't serve food until 7pm but when we ventured into the restaurant the waitress didn't even tell us to sit down we had to ask. We asked about the specials, she didn't have a clue. There were no menus as such just two blackboards for you to choose from. The food was lovely & cooked fresh but the feel of the place on a Friday evening was eery. We shall not be returning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boar's Head Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Crowborough, East Sussex
 
Eridge, East Sussex
Crowborough, East Sussex
 

Been to The Boar's Head Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing