We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food okay but very pricey and a bit mean”
Review of Jade's Palace

Jade's Palace
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Crowborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Middlesex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food okay but very pricey and a bit mean”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Disappointing for the price. Food wasn't bad, but very small portions. Service very friendly if slow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Red_to_the_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    21
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
E sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“70th birthday meal”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Took my birthday brother here for his 70th,who lives in Croydon ,having told him it was worth the trip! We were 4,all requesting small changes in our set meals(not to be difficult) Ken immediately agreed to our request .the food was excellent ,Ken is a happy jokey character &is very much part of the experience ,the staff are also attentive . Would recommend .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gone of the boil”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I have been customers of Jade Palace almost since the day it opened in Crowborough. The food and service was good and Ken the owner always the genial host. The last time we visited, a short while ago, our experience was very different. We had to wait a long time for the meal, the quality of the food was not so good and when asked if everything was to our liking and we said it wasn't, the response was, in so many words, better luck next time. Having spoken to friends who used to regularly go to the restaurant, their experience has most recently been very much the same. As the other Chinese in the town seems to have finally got its act together, it will take a lot for us to go back to the Jade. Such a shame.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chinese food at its best”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Small friendly restaurant. Excellent food. The host and staff make everyone feel welcome. Would recommend for a special occasion as well as just an evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silvertraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have become regular customers of Jades Palace and the food is always excellent. The owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Small but cosy and always made very welcome. We even have friends who come from Tunbridge Wells to eat here or to pick up take always as so good. Highly recommend....you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade's Palace also viewed

Crowborough, East Sussex
Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Crowborough, East Sussex
 

Been to Jade's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing