We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”
Review of Fairstowe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crowborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairstowe
Ranked #3 of 9 Crowborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and late teenage son stayed for two nights in two rooms last week. The property is an early 1900's Arts and Crafts house in a private road with a wonderful garden. The interior is gorgeous, lots of wood set off with modernised bathrooms and White Company linens. We had a spacious room with large en suite, whilst our sons room was smaller but still spacious with a more modest en suite. The beds and pillows were fantastic and combined with the quiet location ensured a great nights sleep.
We thoroughly enjoyed a proper cooked breakfast with home made bread and preserves and generous servings of decent coffee. The web site doesn't do justice to the property, and also indicates continental breakfast only during the week.....this could put some people off, but Jim, the proprietor, explained this is now inaccurate and will be updated soon. He really cooks a great breakfast, and is a lovely chap to have a good conversation with on a wide variety of subjects.

We really enjoyed our stay and will return. Highly recommended for sleep quality, spacious accommodation, cooked breakfast and friendly hosts.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jerseyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Fairstowe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a find! My wife and I stayed two nights here in June.

A large, beautiful home, in a quiet setting, with a massive and stunning English garden, complete with large pool. When you see Fairstowe, you can understand why the area is called the 'Stockbroker Belt' - all the wealthy folks who work in London are very happy to commute to/from here each day, just for the privilege of living in a place like this!

Our room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, with a brand-new, fully fitted en-suite bathroom. The bed, complete with crisp linens, was a delight.

Breakfast was a true "Full English", perfectly cooked and presented. When the weather is favorable, it can be served outdoors, on the patio, overlooking the beautiful garden.

Having said all that, possibly the best part of the experience is the hosts - Jim and Bridget. What a delightful couple! They absolutely "make" the stay, from the gracious, but very friendly first greetings through to the delightful send-off. They make you feel like part of the family and, indeed, invited us to join a large family gathering they were having on the patio one of the evenings. True class all round!

Even if you're not planning to be exactly in this area, it's worth taking a bit of a detour from your itinerary, just to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menifeemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A beautiful and charming venue for a weekend away! Bridget and Jim were welcoming, accommodating and catered to our every need! Breakfast was lovely and covered a variety of different tastes. After a lovely nights sleep on beds as soft as clouds, we spent one afternoon sitting in the garden and enjoying the peaceful surroundings. Next time we plan on bringing a swimsuit to enjoy the amazing old style swimming pool!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed only one night as we were going to a wedding. The room was excellent! It was very comfortable with a high quality finish throughout. Bridget and Jim were lovely hosts who very kindly allowed myself and friends to enjoy their beautiful garden. The pillows were extremely comfortable meaning I had a great nights sleep. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed here whilst my husband was in the Horder Centre having a hip replacement and I was delighted with the accommodation and also with the consideration and kindness shown to me by my perfect hosts Bridget and Jim. Every detail was taken care of in the room, with good quality toiletries provided and good quality soft towels. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.
Thank you very much Bridget and Jim.
Best wishes,
Eileen C.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as location is good and private.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay in Bridget and Jim's beautiful home, in its wonderful position.Quiet and secluded but close to excellent facilities if needed. The guest room was spacious and tastefully decorated, with excellent quality linen and towels and lots of little extras: special teas, chocolates and good toiletries. We had superb breakfasts, both cooked and continental and our hosts were very accomodating re a later departure. We recommend this friendly gem to anybody wishing to enjoy a really relaxing break in this area!!!! We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chucles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here in Bridget & Jim's home for two nights in the autumn, with a gorgeous view over their garden and onwards to the Ashdown Forest to meet up with family.

The spacious guest room has a large and very comfortable bed; my partner particularly enjoyed the small extra touches that our hosts thoughtfully provided to give our stay the extra touch of luxury for a weekend break. The ensuite bathroom was similarly spacious, and although not of the latest style of decor was still very pleasant to use.

Breakfast in the hosts dining room with its matching view to the garden and terrace was both exceptional and delicious (and the company engaging).

When we arrived and checked in we were also offered the choice of rooms, the second room to the front of the house is smaller but immaculately and smartly appointed with its own recently refurbished compact en-suite bathroom, discretely fitted in the room with a surprising economy of space.

The quiet and peacefully set house while located in the large "dormitory town" of Crowborough, is on the attractive and upscale edge directly adjacent to the Ashdown Forest accessed from a long drive down a rural road, but easily found with the instructions provided.

If when we return to Crowborough (as we do on a regular basis) we are looking for a luxurious place to stay in attractive surroundings; we'll certainly look to come back here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowborough
4.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
5.3 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
548 reviews
4.8 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
7.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
701 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairstowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairstowe

Address: Fairstowe Warren Road, Crowborough TN6 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Crowborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crowborough
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting Arts and Crafts Edwardian country house on the edge of the Ashdown Forest situated in a semi rural position in three acres of Edwardian gardens. We provide luxurious accommodation for bed and breakfast and also rent out the whole house for family holidays or short breaks at selected times of the year. Obviously the two functions are at different times. Our emphasis is providing a very comfortable, relaxed environment in a tranquil setting. To this end the beds are all king size or super-king size with sumptuous Egyptian cotton sheets. There are 3 new en suite bath or shower rooms with power showers, underfloor heating and heated towel warmers. Both the lounge and dining room have stunning views over the York stone paved, south-facing terrace and pool lawn with it's herbaceous borders. The dining table can seat 14 people.B and B guests may have breakfast on the terrace in fine weather. We provide outdoor entertainment with an outside swimming pool, heated in high summer, a 14 foot trampoline, croquet, an outdoor table tennis table and badminton net. The 3 acre garden, set out in the Edwardian era, has a variety of different areas. A herb garden outside the back door, productive greenhouse with grape vine, vegetable and soft fruit beds, Japanese garden with ponds, lawns and Scots pine walk. Although guests are tempted not to leave the premises there are plenty of attractions locally. Fairstowe is 7 miles south of the spa town of Royal Tunbridge Wells with it's wide choice of shops and restaurants. We have a wealth of gardens and National Trust properties within easy driving distance. Other activities closeby include a dry ski slope, climbing wall, off-road cycling and golf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairstowe Crowborough, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing