We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superlocal place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Country Tea Rooms - CLOSED

Country Tea Rooms
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superlocal place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a great cuppa plus milkshake at this lovely local venue. Friendly atmosphere and good value. Helpful service
Nice to be able to pop next door for local fruit and veg. Ordered a takeaway sandwich on a second occasion and again service was faultless

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SHall14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy food at great prices - good for gluten free products too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were directed to the Country Tea Rooms by another cafe in town that was having staffing problems! So glad we found this little cafe, which connects with the Cross Country Stores. The cafe is clean, bright and welcoming. We had a BLT sandwich and a Caesar salad which were both delicious and very reasonably priced. When there was a delay of 20 mins in serving, we were offered a free cold drink from their very appealing selection of fresh Kent fruit juices, which was a nice touch (and we hadn't complained about the wait first!)

Around the cafe there is a wide selection of cakes, biscuits, teas etc. for sale, including a good choice of gluten free products. We tried the fresh coffee and walnut cake which was absolutely gorgeous and different from the norm. We were told that they do also have fresh gluten free cakes on sale, but they had run out on this occasion.

Next door, the Cross Country Stores,is just like a farm shop with excellent fresh local fruit and vegetables, meat, cheeses, gluten free pasta and all sorts of other goodies on sale. Looking forward to trying the fresh, locally producted gluten free pork sausages! Again reasonable prices - their message is that local doesn't mean expensive.

We will definitely go out of our way to visit this little gem again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food and fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went in for lunch whilst visiting a friend - mozzarella, tomato and pesto Panini - yummy food served by helpful and smiley staff. Sadly I live too far away to be a regular visitor but will definitely be back next time I visit my friend.I was being good but can confirm that the cakes looked very tasty too

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoegirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Little Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

New to Crowborough and just over the traffic lights! Two parts to this set up. Coffee one side and local fruit and veg the other. Very pretty décor and good coffee and very friendly service. Selection of cakes, scones and foodstuffs to buy. They also do light lunches.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anirock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Tea Rooms also viewed

Crowborough, East Sussex
 
Crowborough, East Sussex
Crowborough, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing