We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Momochit
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar

Great staff with amazing view

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Such a great hotel with amazing, helpful staff. The hotel compound was peaceful and quiet. The restaurant area had a pleasant foggy ambiance. The breakfast was great. We rented a car from the hotel for sightseeing, and the driver was very patient. One of my friends was bitten by a monkey at Popa Mountain, and the staff offered us a free ride to the hospital to get an injection as soon as they found out. It was at night, near curfew, but they still helped us. Thanks to the whole team. We will definitely stay there again.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    2.0 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    26.9 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    27.8 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    25.9 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    28.2 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    26.8 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    28.1 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    Free Wifi
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    27.1 miles from Popa Mountain Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Popa
    Reviews (480)
    Filter reviews
    480 results
    Traveller rating
    187
    194
    57
    24
    18
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    187
    194
    57
    24
    18
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 480 reviews
    Reviewed 18 May 2023 via mobile

    We spent one night on May 13th at Popa Mountain Resort. The trip was a business trip, but we felt enjoyed and satisfied. Upon entering the resort, We received a warm welcome from GM Mr. Kyaw and the staffs. On the way from the reception to the room, the views I had seen, were #Wow for me. Resort created with beautiful nature. The food that they serve is also lovely. Especially their Burmese food is very delicious. It was a peaceful trip during the cold weather. Thank you to the GM and all the staff. Will come back again.

    Room tip: Food is great. View from the room is lovely with nature. Staffs are helpful.
    Date of stay: May 2023
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank Kaung M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 December 2021 via mobile

    We had a wonderful time during our 2 night stay here. There are family friendly activities like horse riding, feeding deer and hikes. You could watch the sunset at the restaurant area and there is also a bar with cocktails. The service was exceptional - I have never had such attentive, kind hospitality at any place I have stayed at. They also have an organic garden.

    Room tip: There are not many places to eat around the area so you would be dining in mostly.
    Date of stay: November 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank sohh638
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 September 2020

    My partner and I visited Popa Mountain Resort a few months before Covid-19. We stayed a total of 2 nights there. First of all, the food was normal. I believe there should be a hotel standard. We saw stains on the blanket and pillow too which surprises us. The windows were dirty too so I recommend the hotel to take time cleaning. The staffs were friendly. The hotel allows outsiders to come and swim for charges. When we were swimming, there was a huge local crowd which was very noisy and crowded. I wish the hotel only have pool area for the hotel guests only because we pay much more amount than the outsider who paid 5000 mmk.

    Date of stay: January 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank alicee1289
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 August 2020 via mobile

    We stayed at Popa Mountain Resort for a long weekend away from Yangon. It's a stunning location with a beautiful view of the nearby pagoda. We particularly enjoyed watching the sunset and having dinner in the outdoor seating area. Note that the very scenic pool is currently closed due to COVID-19.

    As with many hotels in Myanmar, there is a bit of a higher price for foreigners but it is well worth it in my view. Unlike many hotels here, paying the higher foreigner price actually gets you some special amenities. I would definitely recommend coming for a day or two to enjoy this very lovely and relaxing resort.

    Date of stay: July 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Ben H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 July 2020 via mobile

    At first we booked for 2 days to relax. In the beginning, we saw some stains on the blanket and pillow.

    Hot water didn’t work, we called to come and check, they came but didn’t work at all. The weather in there is very windy and cold, hot water is important and seem like they don’t care about it.

    The reason why we choose this hotel is “swimming pool”, but there are many people who come and take pictures around the pool. So, for people who really wanna swim is not OK at all in that small space. And, the water is not clear and they clean only once a day(early morning), because of the wind, it’s full of leaves. The border of the pool is also dirty. The worst is they don’t even provide the soft sheet to sit on.

    The breakfast is very low standard for this price of hotel. We even needed to ask for the fruit juice. The menu is “ you can choose between toast with butter and jam or fried rice or fried noodle. And coffee.. Seasonal fruits are very cheap in Myanmar, they don’t even served this. Hotels which are much cheaper than this serve better then their breakfast.

    So, we decided to stay only one night and leave. When we talked to reception, they said they don’t have enough staff to run and Yangon office doesn’t provide enough. They even said you can write something to let the head office know!

    So, if you want to go to Popa, I highly recommend to avoid this hotel and find another place. In addition, this hotel is so far from everything and road is very bad to this.

    The only and one good thing in this hotel is the view. But, if you want the view, you can go to the Popa View Point Forest Restaurant.

    Date of stay: July 2020
    1  Thank scarlett-kkk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews