We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch ”
Review of The Lion Hotel

The Lion Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Broseley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broseley
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent Sunday lunch , lots of choice of meat and veg , very impressed with the 3 course for 11.95 ..would highly recommend ,bar staff very friendly would go that extra mile for u , lovely local pub well done Margaret and Barry will be returning very soon xxxxx

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angiechilds05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Recently stayed at the Lion hotel in Broseley. What a lovely hotel with fantastic staff.
Barry and Margaret are brilliant and make your stay extra special.
On our last trip to Broseley we stayed at The Old Rectory which is supposed to be a 5 star B&B how wrong that is.

The Lion is far better and Barry and Margaret go the extra mile to make your stay memorable, unlike the owner of the Old Rectory B&B who is a rude, arrogant, horrid, money grabbing man. The staff are also rude there and are more interested in flirting with the builders onsite rather than doing their jobs and looking after paying guests.
We will never return to this B&B and would now always book to stay at the Lion hotel instead.

The Lion provides a large hearty breakfast and reasonably priced home cooked evening meals. the rooms are large and spacious and provide all the amenities you would expect in a top hotel. the locals are friendly and the bar has a lovely atmosphere.

Well done Barry, Margaret and Family keep up the good work....you can really show that other so called B&B how a professional hotel should be run.

LION HOTEL ALL THE WAY

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonkitty72
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here as we were up in the area from South Wales to attend a christening on Sat 29th June. Room was lovely, Barry (Bazza!) was a charming host, had a few drinks here late evening and it seemed very busy with a nice atmosphere. Had a lovely night's sleep and a massive breakfast on Sunday morning made with great quality produce! Will definitely return when in the area next and all that for £60 was amazing. Stunning surroundings, Broseley is lovely and just before returning home after the Christening we spent an hour and a half at the Ironbridge. Beautiful area!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonkitty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Whenever people ask us where they might stay in Broseley ... we point them towards the Lion.

The rooms are very nice indeed and Barry and his wife Margaret realy go out of their way to make people feel welcome and comfortable.

They can also cater for partys and functions such as (for my wifes 40th) murder mystery evenings and are happy to lay on a fantastic and very reasonably priced spread.

The Lion is ideally situated for people visiting the Ironbridge Gorge as all museums and attractions are within 15 min drive.

Far FAR nicer than staying in a mainstream hotel chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I ate with family at the Lion over the Jubilee weekend. The staff were very friendly and chatty. The food was good, didn't wait too long, decent portion sizes and all was hot. Excellent value, £9.95 for 2 courses. The vegetables were to die for, the best carrots and peas I've had for ages.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank danbaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, frendly staf, superb value for money. Defiantly would go back and have the pork rost dinner agien :-D

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

i stayed at the Lion as it was convenient for the various attractions and museums at Ironbridge. I really enjoyed the two days I spent here. The bedroom was fine - clean and comfortable with a fourposter bed, good television and comfortabole chair. The en-suite was of a similar excellent quality with a really good shower. The breakfast was superb - cereals, fruit, yoghurt and a well cooked full english breakfast. Best of all although the restaurant was closed on both nights the hotel provided me with a fully cooked meal on each evening. I heartily recommend this hotel to anhyone wishing to explore the area around Ironbridge. I also recommended the landlord to put his prices up!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
5.3 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
6.3 mi away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#9 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
1.0 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: High Street, Broseley, Telford TF12 5EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broseley
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Broseley, Telford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing