We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Ranked #1 of 3 Broseley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have stayed in a few b and b,s and have to stay this is the best !.
Nothing was too much trouble ,spotless rooms,very tasteful decor,fabulous breakfast , ticked all the boxes and more.
The owner David well, all we can say is both of us wish there were more like him around,the world would really be a nicer place.
If you are visiting the museums,this is a great base. Not too far to walk into ironbridge,f not there is a large car park just before the bridge. so much to see in and around here,we had a great time exploring.Spent two nights here wish it could have been more.
We looked around at the other choices and were so glad to have picked this gem.

Room Tip: all the rooms are a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
the review is so good that no one would believe it.... thank you for a very special endorsement of the Old Rectory. it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us.
I looked in the mirror , but i could not see Mr. perfect there ,( just a tired old git ). i really do not deserve your remarkably kind words...BUT I AM SHAMELESSLY GRATEFUL.
Shropshire is a beautiful relaxing places , but with lots to do and see.. we would like to be able to thank you in person , if you are ever back in the area do come and see us.
best regards from everyone at the old rectory
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    34
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
31
386
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newtown, powys
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is my 3rd visit to the old rectory and I am never disappointed, lovely room with an amazing bed with every little detail thought about. A first class breakfast served again, with plenty of choice and quality produce. The host David is always welcoming and his staff are always with a smile. They all take great pride in the service they provide and very attentive. Can not wait to return, one night is not enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maymae01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We are especially pleased that you chos to return to the old Rectory. just a little disappointed , that you keep going home again.
thank you for your very kind review
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Checked in on Sunday 21st July, just for one night.
Loved everything about this place.
Have to say from the minute we arrived we were welcomed by the owner who gave us a brief history of the place, and showed us to a truly stunning room.
This is without a doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Attention to detail is amazing.
Would highly recommend a stay here, think we have found our perfect little hide away from London , and will be back..
Lee and Sarah :-)
London

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeeeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Lee and Sarah, thank you, you are more than welcome to come and find a breathing space away from the the relentless pressures of life.it was a pleasure to me you both you are welcome here when ever you can make it back
best wishes from all tat the old rectory
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just had 3 nights at this lovely B & B, it certainly lives up to it's 5 star rating and more! Sumptuous rooms, with everything you could wish for. Fabulous breakfasts and a very warm welcome from David and his staff, Sylvia and Sue, for whom nothing was too much trouble.
We highly recommend it.
Margaret & Graham

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but some have windows on 2 aspects which is an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and cant wait for your return
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Booked this hotel for my birthday treat, and what a treat it was. We were met at the car and shown to our room ( The Ludlow ) which was spotless (who ever does the cleaning deserves a medal) Lovely bathroom with spa bath, The room in our opinion lacked for nothing and attention to detail was very good. As was knowledge of the area. Now for the breakfast epic portions and cooked beautifully we had the full English and didn't eat again till tea time, thanks David you saved us the price of lunch. Had a great weekend and felt totally spoilt. The hotel and its staff are excellent, only complaint is we had to leave and return to work!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
thank you. we do appreciate your very generous review. thank you for taking the time and trouble to warn everyone else....hardly anyone had an old rectory breakfast this week...mumbling something about "pants are too tight"..our butcher is being driven towards bankruptcy, the chefs gone grey. the village will probably close... all because of a few careless words.....i did`nt need to eat for several days.
that sort of talk , makes them ,well ,"anxious".. so mums the word !
best regards from all at the Old Rectory
I know you meant well
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This small hotel really is a the most special find, we picked it for our mini-moon and it could not have made a better start to our married life. The attention to detail is amazing, we really could not find fault, and we did try! We stayed for 3 nights and only wish it had been longer, it is the perfect base to explore the local area.
As for the breakfasts, well not only was the quality amazing but lets just say we didn't eat again until the evening!
David is a fantastic host, who makes you feel so welcome.
Thank you David.

Room Tip: Pick any, they were all stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you so much for coming to the Old Rectory. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.
life is such a wonderful gift , it is wonderful to meet a couple who are enjoying it so much. i was great to have you here...just make sure you come back to us on your anniversaries.
Best wishes from the old rectory
regards
Davids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I booked two nights to stay with my husband for his birthday, but we booked in a third night quite early on because it was so lovely, and we really appreciated the luxury of our room, as well as the fantastic countryside all around.

The room was spotless, wanted for nothing, and attention to detail was present everywhere. We were in room 6, which had a double jacuzzi bath, complete with a four poster effect and soft lighting - has to be seen to be believed! You could even lie back in the bubbles and watch TV - complete bliss!

David and his team do go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable; too many small touches to mention, but huge selection of first class food in the morning, local knowledge to help you get around, a bar of chocolate in our room on our final evening, some chilled water to take with us on our journey home, triple ply toilet paper - I know, I know, but it's these things that do make you feel special, and look forward to returning again.

We will definately be back some time soon, and hopefully it won't be too long.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you so much , your review impressed me so much i have booked a room for myself.!!
I have got to be so carefully joking with some guests , that it is such a relief to find a genuine couple who do not take themselves over seriously. It was utterly delightful to have you stay with us.
It makes life more relaxing for us , so we would like you to stay here permanently.!
A great pleasure to met you both, we will be delighted if you could visit again.
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
1.4 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
921 reviews
1.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
4.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,169 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
23.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Property: The Old Rectory at Broseley
Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory at Broseley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Telford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing