We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rest stop on our cycling holiday in Sardinia.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luci Del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Luci Del Faro
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Calasetta
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful rest stop on our cycling holiday in Sardinia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We booked with Freewheels to have a 11 day cycling holiday in Sardinia. Freewheels worked with Dolcevita who provided the bikes, tranfers and support. The holiday was superb. The Sardinian scenery, food and wine and the people were wonderful. We booked 4 nights at Hotel Luci Del faro to give us a two day rest in the middle of our cycling tour. The hotel was a gem. The room was comfortable and provided us with everything we needed. The staff were amazing and very friendly and helpful. On top of that the food and wine was second to none. The hotel was about 5 kms outside Calasetta and was a gentle bike ride into town. The hotel had a lovely swimming pool which was welcome during the hot sunny days. Hotel Luci Del Faro is situated on the North West coast of the island Isola di S.Antioco. It is accessed by a bridge from the mainland and a ferry from the island Isola del Pietro which is sometimes called Carloforte. Tickets for the ferry are reasonable and both islands were lovely to cycle around to see the beautiful scenery. Our stay at the hotel set us up for the next part of our journey to Pula.

Room Tip: All rooms were good but upstairs had a better view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saracens_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    79
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
128
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel exceded our expectations. We only spent 3 nights, but they were the most relaxing and luxurious of our trip. The hotel and grounds are lovely. Our superior room was very spacious with an extra large bed and two covered terraces. The bathroom was modern and well lit. The pool area was clean, attractive and quiet with plenty of sunny and shaded areas to lounge. All meals were taken in a covered outside area protected from wind. Breakfast was exceptionally generous and of good quality. We had three meals at the restaurant, all very good and reasonably priced. Reception and restaurant staff were professional and friendly, housecleaning attentive. There's a very nice beach nearby, so if you visit this somewhat remote island, it's the perfect place for some serious R & R. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms give onto the pool, but the superior rooms have terraces with views and are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franco-americaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very nice hotel. We have stayed here for one night and were impressed by room and facilities. There is a pool, tennis courts, table tennis available. Breakfast table is rich with food choise. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minduxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

A lovely hotel in a very beautiful setting. Hotel had a nice feel, tasteful and appealing decor, laid-back yet very good service. Rooms spacious and attractive and all the public areas were very welcoming and comfortable. Pool looked nice though didn't get the chance to try it. We appreciated the remoteness of the location though might not be for everybody. Breakfast was fine, and we had a good dinner with a bottle of excellent Sardinian wine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morganmaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Hotel Luci Del Faro

A great place in a secluded location with a rocky shoreline

My wife and some friends stayed here for one night in October 2010. The location is very good, out among the coastal farms reached by a dirt track. The place provides a pool, tennis court, small play area and table tennis. Our stay was during low season and I got the impression we did suffer a little for this. We were not told on arrival what facilities were present (we new nothing about the tennis court until I wandered around the grounds on the morning we left) and we had to ask about dining times and location. The outside area and pool were kitted with lights and some water features but none of these were in operation during our stay. Our room did not seem to have proper air con but just a unit, which acted as a heater or a blower. Our room which fronted onto the pool was very spacious and had its own small garden, large shower room, mini-bar (but not stocked), safe, iron, etc.

The dining hall was pleasant enough and food OK. Breakfast was the usual continental spread. I was very disappointed that coffee was provided from an automatic machine and was not good. The bar did have a proper Gagia machine and I asked the staff to make me a coffee with it which they did. The staff were pleasant apart from one waitress who seemed to be in a bad mood with everybody. She would scowl, thump and crash the serving plates and kick our chair legs every time she came to the table. Things got so bad that one of our party went to ask the manager if we had offended her in some way, he replied that there was no problem, but she continued to behave unprofessionally. During our breakfast there were several short power cuts which left us eating in the gloom.

I’ve given the negative points, but on the plus side the location was great, the complex was large and spacious with a good deep pool and the walks from the site to the coast were easy and well worth the effort. There are some abandoned gun emplacements and a watch tower on the coast but no good areas for swimming. Be warned if you go for a walk, the scrub land around the coast seems to support a lot of biting insects, if you are prone to insects take care

The place is a good place to be if you are happy to just relax by the pool and enjoy the sun. I think our stay suffered because we went off season and so the staff may have been casual temps.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

The first thing to say about the Luci Del Faro is that it really is off the beaten track - literally! As is mentioned in the directions, the tarmac road finishes long before one can see the hotel, and the approach is along a dusty dirt track for several hundred yards, across a beach car park, then some more track, and then one is greeted with a sign saying “No Way Out”. Shades of Hotel California! But then one is at the hotel, and a little bit of heaven.

What the Luci Del Faro does is peace and tranquillity. There is no traffic noise, no aircraft noise, no disco noise - nothing. Occasionally one hears a dog bark in the distance, and at dinner they play music in the restaurant, but that is about all.

We had a lovely room on the first floor - I’m told that in Sardinia there is a law prohibiting the building of anything more than two stories high within three kms of the coast - and although we could not see the sea from our room itself, we could sit on our huge shady balcony and watch the sun go down over the Isola San Pietro across the strait. The room itself was large - big enough for a table and two chairs between the bed and the doors leading onto the balcony without feeling cramped. It was not luxurious - this is only a three star hotel - but very effectively furnished with plenty of storage space and a good safe big enough to take a laptop. The bed seemed a little on the hard side of comfy but good firm pillows were provided and we slept reasonably well. There was no bath - I suspect that water is in short supply in such a remote place - and the shower lacked pressure, but sufficed.

The hotel is built around the swimming pool, which is superb. It is big and deep. I never did get to the bottom diving in at the deep end - no silly signs banning diving here - and even the shallow end was up to my shoulders. Not ideal for children, perhaps, but it was a very good place to have a relaxing swim and then read a book on one of the many loungers on the grass beneath the trees surrounding it.

Meals are taken on a covered terrace overlooking the sea. Breakfast was reasonable, though with pretty indifferent coffee from a machine unless you ask for a proper cappuchino. The table d’hote evening meal gave a couple of options for each course and was very acceptable both in terms of price and quality.


The Luci Del Faro is not, I would think, a place for a family holiday, though they do have a small play area, a good tennis court and a ping pong table. Having a car is highly desirable, although the hotel runs a shuttle to Calesetta and the beach if required. The nearest beach - the Grand Spiagga - is a longish walk or a short drive back up the track, and is excellent. Calesetta itself is a ten minute drive away and is virtually untouched by tourism, which is refreshing, but there are few attractions there. Do take the ferry across to Carloforte on San Pietro. Steps, narrow streets and winding alleyways abound, reminding me of Bellagio on Lake Como, and it has a number of very good restaurants.

We just loved our stay at the Luci Del Faro. The staff were charming and helpful, though speaking little English or any other language for that matter, and for us, a couple of a certain age, the whole experience was wonderfully relaxing - just as a good holiday should be. The only criticism I would have is that the garden seemed to lack the attention it deserved. The lawns around the pool were dying for lack of water, as, more seriously, were the geraniums in the pots around the restaurant. The chef should have spotted that detail and sorted it out!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

wouldn't normally stay in a 3 star hotel but this surpassed all expectations. Quite remote but well worth the effort of finding as has very nice pool and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The best part of this hotel however, is the restaurant which has a terrace with outstanding views of the coast line whilst the food was the best we had in Sardinia throughout our trip. The staff are exceptionally helpful and overall this was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestaralways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calasetta
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sabbie
Hotel Le Sabbie
#1 of 6 in Calasetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercury Boutique Hotel
Mercury Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in Sant'Antioco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Seta
Hotel Cala Di Seta
#3 of 6 in Calasetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tupei Resort
Tupei Resort
#4 of 6 in Calasetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#1 of 10 in Carloforte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luci Del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luci Del Faro

Property: Hotel Luci Del Faro
Address: Localita Mangiabarche, 09011 Calasetta, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Isola di Sant Antioco > Calasetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Calasetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luci Del Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Luci Del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luci Del Faro Sardinia/Calasetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing