We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical”
Review of Baglio Spano'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baglio Spano'
Ranked #1 of 3 Petrosino B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

An absolutely wonderful paradise in the middle of remote vineyards. Large beautiful rooms full of traditional atmosphere and history, fabulous homemade fresh food, lovely hosts.Our room had sea view which gave us the most spectacular views in the warm sicilian nights: the full moon illuminating the sea and the quiet lazy sound of the waves far away. Magical.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    30
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We travelled across to Baglio Spano near Marsala on the west of the island after spending a few days in the east. Initially we were taken aback by the approach along a dusty, bumpy dry track through vineyards towards what looked like something from 'The Alamo'. However, when we finally reached the baglio (historically a sort of gated and walled courtyard lined with accommodation used to house a farmer, his family, his workers and their animals) it was a little oasis contrasting with the surroundings.

The property is rustic and our host, Frederico seemed a little reserved at first. However, we reminded ourselves that we were in the far west of Sicily, very different from the eastern coast. We quickly acclimatised and enjoyed using Baglio Spano as a base to drive out to various beaches and historic monuments, some of which were quite breathtaking.

The room was large and the air conditioning was good. Each morning there was a varied breakfast of yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, bread and Frederico's home-made marmalade which is incredibly good. There was also coffee and fruit juice including almond juice (milk) which was both delicious and refreshing.

In the evening dinner was optional and during our seven nights stay we ate there four times. Frederico serves an excellent meal, typically Sicilian but it's pot luck as he chooses what he will cook for dinner each night. Most nights it was fish (second patti), occasionally meat. He is quite happy to provide a vegetarian option though if asked. Meals were taken on the patio among the lovely lemon trees or in the capacious old winery if a little too windy to eat outside.

Baglio has a sea view but the beaches were not within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A unique environment - mix of thoughtful modernisation and traditional beauty. Excellent food and wine and Frederico the host is a character who has a long-term commitment to this special place, and takes genuine pride in providing a quality experience for his guests .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We (two couples) found the baglio a perfect base camp for exploring the area around Marsala. As others shared, it was with some trepidation that we followed the rutted track into the middle of seeming nowhere. We were delighted with what we found. The setting is one of lovely decay in the midst of the vineyards. The sea is in sight but apparently not accessible from the baglio. The sleeping rooms and common areas, inside and out, are nicely appointed and cared for. Beds are comfortable. The meals were a highlight: fresh croissants and local strawberries in the morning (yes; the marmalade is special); and a dinner of the owner's choosing in the evening. We enjoyed pasta with sardines; grilled fish and couscous, all with terrific accompaniments. It was a real plus to be out exploring all day and look forward to wine and a home cooked meal without going out again. Federico did not disappoint as a host: he was pleasant, helpful and accommodating and clearly made our comfort a priority. We rather enjoyed him. All in all, a lovely slice of historic and present day Sicily.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank psSilverheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

You drive ever further down a track into the vineyards and in the midst of acres of vines you come to this charming country house. The inner courtyard has been lovingly restored as has the wine cellar which forms the main reception area. It was lovely to sit outside in the citrus grove with a bottle of the estate wine and then be served excellent food by someone who really cares.

The host also gave really helpful advice on places to go and things to see. The salt marshes with their old windmills on the way to Marsala are stunning, the nearby beach was never crowded and was a real delight at the end of a hot day exploring.

This was a lovely stay with all the recommended ingredients - a welcoming host, peace and quiet, excellent food, plenty of wine, sunshine and the sea all in a lovely country setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I agree with all the other reviews that this is a charming and very restful place to come back to after along day. Breakfast and dinner in the beautiful citrus garden is delightful in itself but the food was just delicious. The best I had in my 4 weeks in Scilia. So don't miss dinner there! Federico the owner is very laid back but there make sure you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. We decided to take a day off and revamp and the peaceful courtyard with tables and shade was ideal for a great picnic. Spano is a little piece of heaven in the middle a vineyard.
.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Baglio, located in the midst of a sea of vineyards, is a delightful place, with nice views towards the sea. Bird lovers might enjoy the resident hoopoes, four of which sat on the wall opposite our room one late afternoon. The breakfast were delicious and filling, and very pleasant to eat in the cool of the orchard, while evening meals were outstanding. It was my birthday on one of the nights and the cook made a special meal, designed in collaboration with me, which was even better than the normal ones. Worth noting too that the evening meals were excellent value. The owner, Federico, has a quiet nature but was consistently pleasant and helpful and we greatly enjoyed our stay. There was no sign of the aggressive dog mentioned in other reviews, but watching the cats playing in the garden during breakfast was a consistent pleasure. We would very happily return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolktraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petrosino
2.3 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
3.1 mi away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
5.7 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#7 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#3 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
11.6 mi away
Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines
4.9 mi away
Suitebeach Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglio Spano'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglio Spano'

Property: Baglio Spano'
Address: C Da Triglia Scaletta, 91020 Petrosino, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala > Petrosino
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Petrosino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sicily aristocratic farm: the ancient and unchanged beauty of Sicily is reflected in the architecture of Baglio Spano'. Dating back to XVIII century, it was used as a summer residence by the noble family Montalto-Spano'. It is situated amidst 300.000 square meters of wine yards only 2 km from the seaside. A courtyard separates the farmhouse with its guest rooms from the warehouses which were once used to store the grapes and produce wine. Here you will taste and enjoy typical Sicilian dishes prepared by our cook. The building is entirely surrounded by citrus trees which release their delicate perfumes in the peaceful spring evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baglio Spano' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baglio Spano' Sicily/Petrosino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing