We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but has its draw backs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baglio Basile
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petrosino
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at the baglio basile in June and found the hotel to be clean and well maintained, except for the air conditioning which would reset itself in the middle of the night and start blasting away. The room was cleaned every day and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The food is average but the service is good. The seating situation is strange but you soon adjust and it gives you a chance to meet people. You really do need a car as you are isolated out in the vineyards. We felt restricted as to walking around the hotel due to wedding parties everynight, the pool area and the courtyard were in constant use.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank $$loopielou$$
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

Among all unpredictable things that can go wrong in organising a wedding I never expected I wouldnt have had a signle problem from the venue! They've been exceptionally helpful, professional, prepared, adaptable and generous!
I couldnt have wished of a better place to have my wedding! All my guests had a great experience too. Their high level of professionalism was mixed with a warming human touch and anything we asked for was silently arranged for immediately, going out of their way just to make sure we were happy! The food was to DIE FOR!!!! Amazing and soooo abbundant!! Best expericence! Yes the hotel is isolated from town and beach, but you cant go to that part of Sicily and NOT rent a car anyway! There's so much to see all around!! but if you're really tight and cannot even spend that £35 for a panda just to get around, there's enough to chill out in the sun, in the spa and eat at the hotel. Definitely reccommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doroty_Mangano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We spent two nights 2nd/3rd June at the mid-week promotional rate of 59 euros for B&B per night per couple - an entirely adequate room, but awful breakfast (stale bread, stewed coffee, etc.), but for 59 euros a night, what do you expect?
The hotel is in a remote area and a hire car is essential for going out to supper and for visiting Trapani, Erice and as a launch point for Favignana (Isole Egadi) (providing you can find somewhere to park in the port areas of Trapani or Marsala). The hotel itself is an interesting, traditional style building, its main business appearing to be weddings and functions. Despite the fact that there is an à la carte restaurant in the complex, the only one available to us in early June was a canteen style building, which provided mediocre buffet style meals. So, after lunch on the first day (expensive at 20 euros each, including wine), we went out for meals.

The outside pool area was unexciting and there were no pads for the plastic sunbeds. There were ropes around the pool., but it was pleasant enough. The public rooms were acceptable, non-English speaking staff friendly enough and car parking adequate.

Overall, not great, but far from a disaster.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannespuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My husband and I stayed for a week at the Baglio Basile (June 2010), being very impressed with the photographs and information on the hotel's website. We did book at a slightly lower rate via hotelsbooked.com. The hotel is in a very remote area and a hire car is essential as we found the local public transport very unreliable. The area generally seems neglected, with copious amounts of rubbish strewn along the road.

The hotel itself is a beautiful, traditional style building. The hotel staff, with the exception of one lady who spoke reasonable English, were unhelpful to the point of indifference and rudeness. They did not speak English and were apparently unable to supply even the most basic of information about local transport and amenities, except for a bus timetable which we found to be inaccurate. We were promised a shuttle service to the Delphino Beach by hotelsbooked.com, but when we enquired about this service the staff did not know anything about it. When we insisted on finding out more they said there was no point in us going anyway as there were no sunbeds, umbrellas or any facilities there - hardly appealing!

The main business of the hotel appears to be weddings, functions and coach parties. These arrived daily during our stay. The staff appeared totally uninterested in their long term guests and although they have several restaurants, the only one available to us was a dated canteen style building, which provided very mediocre and repetitive buffet style meals of a poor standard, long queues and absolutely no atmosphere. The worst aspect of this was being forced to sit where we were told at dinner time by a rude waitress. We found the description of the hotel as Four Star unbelievable.

There were no snack facilities available at the hotel when we stayed there (first week of June) and lunch (which was exactly the same as dinner) cost 20 Euros per person. Dinner in the evening did not start until 8pm so if you have no car and do not want to pay 20 Euros each there was a transport style cafe on the main road opposite the hotel which we and many of our fellow guests had to resort to using.

The outside pool area was extremely poor, the water was freezing, no pads for the plastic sunbeds (many of which were broken) and only one umbrella available. Ropes around the pool and a hose left lying in it. The indoor pool costs 30 Euros per couple for 2 hours - needless to say we passed on this! If you like ridiculously expensive beauty treatments (50 Euros for a massage), this might be the hotel for you!

The lasting impression for us was of a hotel which was stunning architecturally, but which did not fulfil it's potential. There were no facilites other than the pool and expensive indoor spa as mentioned previously and nowhere to walk to along a hideously busy road outside.

We used the hotel bar once and found the service poor, having to wait while the member of staff drank their coffee first! Our room was ok, basic, with no balcony even though we had paid for an upgrade - if this was an upgrade we dread to think what the alternatives were. We also had ants in our room - not many but unwelcome nevertheless. The sheets were not changed daily and the bathroom cleaning was inadequate.

Important points to note also - the cost of taxis seemed to vary from one day to the next - with the same company! We visited the Florio Winery in Marsala and found the guided tour very disappointing - we wouldn't have bothered if we had known. If we had had good information from the hotel on places to visit we would have liked to have visited the local islands and Erice which are apparently very attractive but no information was forthcoming and we found out about them rather too late to go.

We would not like anyone to be as disappointed as we were by this hotel and indeed this part of Sicily, so would strongly advise against it. To the management we would say could you not produce a small brochure in English with details of the local area and how to access it - surely this should be standard in a hotel describing itself as Four Star?

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MidlandsThetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

It is isolated, a car is essential and it's the 'wrong end' of the Island for the main attraction of the Etna area.
The hotel's main business is conferences/weddings and coach parties -not British travellers.
Food provided in a 'snouts in trough' ambience, large tables, sitting with strangers (no choice on this), big rush to get to the buffet whilst available. Meantime big wedding being catered for, plus coach party already seated and 'troughing'.
Room pleasant and clean, plenty of hot water and sheets changed daily, very hard beds.

TV had Italian, French and German channels. One receptionist was VERY helpful, charming with american/italian accent, others very inconsistent with pricing/charges etc and little English comprehension.
Whatever you paid it's not worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lilycat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The hotel is a very large, impressive looking complex - unfortunately, I think the size and large numbers of guests makes it difficult for the staff to cope. The breakfast and evening meal (with the exception of one night - I'll explain later) is a buffet, and although the food was mostly good (breakfast on two days was not good) jostling for position with wedding parties, school parties and just arrived coach trippers is NOT my idea of four star dining. On two evenings, we arrived in the usual "canteen", only to find it empty - we then proceeded to wander around the complex in search of the correct venue. On both occasions it was only after a chance encounter with a staff member we found the location (different on both occasions!). The first time this happened, we were located in a traditional, quaint room and had real waitress service, great food and excellent company. The best evening by far and what I would have expected all week. The second time, we were put in a VERY large hall with perhaps two hundred other diners and a buffet. This was the worst evening and in my view unacceptable. It was only the fact that we got the holiday at a very good rate that stopped me from demanding compensation. If we had paid the full price, I would have been livid!
The hotel is VERY remote and I STRONGLY RECOMMEND YOU HIRE A CAR if your stay is for more than a couple of days.
In the hotels favour - the room was a good size, clean and with a nice balcony and most of the staff were pleasant and helpful - but I think the management were asking too much of them.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Me and my husbond went in to this hotel, met a smily reseptionist, she was finished for the day, and this curly hair with no smile was left. We asked the price for a doubleroom, she said 60 euro per room. Then she said 80 euro, and with half board it was 100 euro. We went out and then we called her and said we want the room with half board. Now she said 100 euro per person!! My husband said "you just told us 100 per room!" OK, I can make it 100 per room, she said. We drove back, went in, now she said 130 euro per room!!! She didn`t want us there, we said we was going to stay 4 nights, but that was probably too much work for her, Such a wrong person in that job!!! I hope her manager see how she treate hotelguest who is not in a fixed group. Beautiful hotel, but she maked us promise: Never again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Castelbuonolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petrosino
2.8 mi away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#3 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
672 reviews
3.7 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#8 of 18 in Marsala
379 reviews
4.8 mi away
Delfino Beach Hotel
Delfino Beach Hotel
#11 of 18 in Marsala
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sammartano Hotels
Sammartano Hotels
#14 of 18 in Marsala
72 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
620 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Nonna Mariuccia
Residence Nonna Mariuccia
#5 of 17 in Mazara del Vallo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baglio Basile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baglio Basile

Address: SS 115 Km 43.200, 91020 Petrosino, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala > Petrosino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petrosino
Price Range: £54 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baglio Basile 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Baglio Basile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baglio Basile Hotel
Baglio Basile Petrosino
Hotel Baglio Basile Sicily/Petrosino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing